• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

Kudos0

Cursor moving on it's own

Hi,

My computer was left ON overnight…  with permanent connection to Internet.

First thing I see in the morning that the screen saver has been deactivated and the mouse cursor is moving around on its own.

Immediately disconnect from my DSL  Internet  connection.

NIS running and up to date. All scans show NO problems. Run system scan = Nothing found.

Cntrl+Alt+Del == No obvious, suspicious services running, at first glance.

Does anybody think, my PC was being hacked, or anything alike??

Can someone connect, inspect or remote control my PC, bypassing NIS ??

It’s dazzling me and very worrying as I have bank and other sensitive data in a file inside my system.

Many thanks, for any help or comments.

Tony

Replies

Kudos0

Re: Cursor moving on it's own

I'm no computer expert, however, it sounds as though your computer may have been compromised.  For future reference, don't leave your computer on each night.  If you do, or even when turning off, make sure you set your Norton Firewall to block all network access until system restart. 

Kudos0

There are several programs that allow remote access to a computer, even Windows itself. But with all these programs, the system's admin must approve it. So if you didn't approve anything like that, it's time to start looking through things. If someone installed a viewer program, they'd have had to allow itto bypass Norton, too.

First, I'd change all your passwords. It's always fun to do that...

Also, check to see if there are any programs installed that you don't recognize.

You might want to password protect that file you're talking about, too.

It could be something as simple as a glitch with the mouse. But to be on the safe side, I'd start with the options above.

Kudos0

Chris101 wrote: