• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Kudos0

Norton Utilities and error 3039,65549

Hi, it's my first time to write on the forum, so sorry if I make some mistake.

I bought and installed Norton Internet Security 2011 and Norton Utilities to change with my old (but I never had any problem with it) Norton System Works 2005 because there are no longer updates available for this product.

I'm using Windows XP Pro SP2.

After installed NU I made the first defrag but, at the end, I had an incredible number of error messages from Windows, (my Windows language is French, so I try to translate) such "The differed writing had failed".

After that, I've received a new message from NIS 2011 that announced that error 3039,65549 had occurred.

So I was obliged to install again all products after a very difficult uninstall, because the Removal tool doesn't want to work and so I was obliged to remove everything by hand.

Symantec Support Service told me (by phone and after by chat) that the problem was from Windows or from some disk problem, but they said that it was normal I doesn't had problems with System Works as it was an old product (???)

What it means ?

Now I'm scare to execute again NU defragmenter but, up today, I didn't find any other help that could solve this issue.

Please somebody can help me ?

Thanks a lot.

Gourghy

Replies

Kudos0

Re: Norton Utilities and error 3039,65549

Hi,

first you should try to remove the programs with the Norton Removal Tool. It is a really common issue to have remaining files and registry settings from the old versions that can interfere with the new ones.

Here are the steps:
1. If you use the feature, please backup your Identity Safe data
2. Download latest Norton Internet Security installer: www.norton.com/nis11 (this is the English one, for other languages please go to the Norton Update Center: www.norton.com/nuc )
3. Download Norton Removal Tool: www.norton.com/nrt