• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Kudos0

altfarm.mediaplex.com

I am new to this. I don't know where to turn for answers.  I hope someone can explain to me what to do.

When I go to my Yahoo email, Safari drops down a box that says "Safari can't verify the identity of the website "altfarm.mediaplex.com". I have no idea what altfarm.mediaplex.com is, and, since I didn't navigate there, I assume it is not a good thing to get this message. I hit cancel, but it still makes me nervous something bad is on my computer. 

I don't click on ads, although I have been vexed lately by the ones that get larger and cover what I'm trying to see on the screen. These seem to do that if the mouse even happens to cross over the ad, or even go too close to it.

I get constant notices of "vulnerability blocked" from Norton popping up. (I wish I knew how to stop those. Seeing them every 2 minutes just makes me feel more vulnerable.)

I keep my Norton anti-virus up to date, and I run it at least once a week. It always says there are no viruses, but I no longer believe that. I can't figure out where on the Symantec website to go to get an email to, and an answer from, them.

I have an eMac (powerpc), running OS X10.4.11, with Safari 4.1.3 as my main browser, and Firefox 3.6.18.

My Norton products are antivirus 11.1.2, firewall 4.1.1, confidential 1.3.4, and live update 5.1.2.

My computer knowledge is fair to middling, self taught. In other words, while I will greatly appreciate help, I will not understand it if you get too technical on me!

Thank you!

Replies

Kudos0

Re: altfarm.mediaplex.com

"altfarm.mediaplex.com"

Appears to be an outfit Yahoo uses to gather stats. I recommend using Firefox as your main browser and install  the NoScript and AdBlocker extensions to block/manage nuisance sites like the above. To find FF add-ons go to:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/.