• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

Kudos0

How do I remove Norton Online Backup installation reminders

I brought a new emachines netbook and it came with this already part installed. There's no option to decline the request, there's no option to extend the next reminder into the distant future and the start menu fold has no uninstall option. How to I get rid of this.

Replies

Kudos0

Re: How do I remove Norton Online Backup installation reminders

Hi,

what you could do is download the NRT (Norton Removal Tool) from here www.nortom.com/nrt and see if that will rip it out, but if you have any other Norton software installed that you want to keep make sure that you have the product key.

Once you initiate the tool it will take out all other Norton products with it, might be worth a try.

Deric.

Kudos0

Re: How do I remove Norton Online Backup installation reminders

Thanks mate I don't really need any womens clothes at the moment :) but I also tryed nortoN.com and found what you were suggesting. I will install it and give it a try, cheers.
Kudos0

Re: How do I remove Norton Online Backup installation reminders

I didn't notice that mistake it was worth a try though.

Deric

Kudos0

Re: How do I remove Norton Online Backup installation reminders

Hummm doesn't look like it's been purged :( I will have to look into deleting the folder and clawing it out of the registry.
Kudos0

Re: How do I remove Norton Online Backup installation reminders

Sometimes it takes a couple of runs to do it, what would happen if you stopped the service?

I can't comment on the registry because I don't touch that much but it is possible I suppose.

I would run a full backup before I did anymore experimenting just in case.

Deric

Kudos0

Re: How do I remove Norton Online Backup installation reminders

Good plan, thanks once again for the advice and quick response.
Kudos1

Re: How do I remove Norton Online Backup installation reminders

You're likely referring to the automatic reminder to sign-up for service. Generally after the third time it pops up you'll get the option to tell it not to remind you again. It would be in the lower left hand side of the screen once the option comes up. If you're talking about something else can you add a screenshot of it and I can give you better directions to either disable or remove it.

Replies are locked for this thread.