• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

Kudos0

Heart Bleed Bug

Is Norton Identity Safe affected by Heart Bleed bug?  Has there been any statement from Symantec?

Replies

Kudos1

Re: Heart Bleed Bug

Kudos0

hello again Yank - but are the Symantec main site and this community forum Open-SSL sites? Do we need to change our passwords?

Laptop: Win7 / IE11
Kudos0

I had a chat session with Symantec.  It was repeatedly said to me is that only Web sites are affected by Heart Bleed bug but that the login information/password I use to access the servers housing my  Identity Safe information was/is not affected.

I am no expert in this area but was not reassured by the chat discussion.  Does the point about affecting only Web sites make sense to those of you who understand Open SSL and the capabilities of the Heart Bleed bug?

Thanks.

PS:  I hope the forum administrator will respond or, better yet, Symantec will issue a clear statement for us non-experts, about whether there is/was a potential leakage of the password used to access the Identity Safe servers through the login box for Idenity Safe. Yes or no!  

Symantec/Norton removed the option to store my Identity safe passwords on my personal computer and has now left me wondering whether my information is safe in its cloud servers.   

Kudos0

@Tony_Weiss  @Tim_Lopez  @Mohan_G  

Any comment in simple, easy to understand terminology for us less tech savy users would certainly be appreciated.

To change all, some or none of our passwords? 
How safe is ID safe Data - etc everyone (including me) seems confused and wondering.

Kudos0

LastPass has actively assesed the user sites for their registered passwords listing in a spreadsheet form the name of the site, the age of the password, whether the site certificate has been updated and the recommended action for the Heartbleed issue.

Why doesn't Norton Identity Safe do the same for its users?