Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Visitor
irishone21

Can't install Norton 360

I recently bought a laptop, so I'm new to using it. Anyway, it came with a 30 day free trial of Norton, which I .activated.  Today, it ended so I purchased the 360 version3. I downloaded it with no problem.  However, after doing that, I received no further prompts.  There is a 'Norton 360 Installation' icon on my desktop now, but every time I click on it, first I get the message that there's an unknown program that wants access to my computer. Then when I click to allow it to run, I get the message: Another installer is currently running.  Help! I have no idea what to do next. I tried Norton live chat/help but there was an error trying to load that. Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks!
delphinium
Kudos: 2,965
Solutions: 293

Re: Can't install Norton 360

irishone21:

What was the Norton program running as a trial on your machine.  Was it also N360, or NIS, or NAV?  How was that activated?  If it was N360 v2 on your machine, you did not need to purchase the newer version.  You would have been able to upgrade for free.

It sounds as though you have one OEM version with another version over top.

Under certain circumstances profanity provides relief denied even to prayer.
Mark Twain
Volunteer
yogesh_mohan

Hi irishone21,

Welcome to Norton Community!

First restart your computer. Then download and run the Norton Removal Tool from this LINK to remove the free trial of Norton. You may have to run the tool multiple times to completely remove it. After that try to install Norton 360 using the 'Norton 360 Installation' icon on the desktop. Let us know how it goes.

Yogesh

Visitor
irishone21