Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
SyncroScales
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎12-23-2009

Cannot do a registery cleanup. Error: 126.

Hi.

 

I cannot do the registery cleanup. Norton 360 ver.4 says Unable to take required system restore Point, error: 126.

 

Anyone know what this means, and what I can do?

 

Thank you.

 

Brian V.

- Desktop specs: ASUS M3N78-VM, AMD Phenom II 965 3.4Ghz, 3.5Gb RAM (4Gb), XP Home Edition 32bit SP3/Vista Home Premium 32bit SP2, nVidia GeForce GT 430. 4 internal drives, a bunch of externals
- Laptop specs: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ 2Ghz, 3Gb RAM, Vista Home Premium 64-bit Service Pack 2, ATI 3100. ESATA to work off of.
huwyngr
Posts: 20,997
Topics: 1,001
Kudos: 2,717
Solutions: 368
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Cannot do a registery cleanup. Error: 126.

Do you have any particlular reason to do a registry cleanup? Some malfunction that you know it can fix?

 

If not in my opinion, and experience, it can cause more problems .......



Hugh
Volunteer
yogesh_mohan
Posts: 5,302
Registered: ‎07-29-2008

Re: Cannot do a registery cleanup. Error: 126.

Contributor
SyncroScales
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎12-23-2009

Re: Cannot do a registery cleanup. Error: 126.

I created a resore point. Norton did it again. error 126.

 

More than enough disk  space. 4 internal drives.

 

I think I have to re-install Norton. Security Center is not recognzing it or the firewall. This started three days ago when I installed Norton Ghost and other programs. Maybe it is the auto-update for both products at the same time.

 

No malware. Norton 360 scanned and Microsofts malicious tool on full scans.

 

This is going to be the second time I'v done this.:smileymad:

 

Any other suggestions?

- Desktop specs: ASUS M3N78-VM, AMD Phenom II 965 3.4Ghz, 3.5Gb RAM (4Gb), XP Home Edition 32bit SP3/Vista Home Premium 32bit SP2, nVidia GeForce GT 430. 4 internal drives, a bunch of externals
- Laptop specs: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ 2Ghz, 3Gb RAM, Vista Home Premium 64-bit Service Pack 2, ATI 3100. ESATA to work off of.
Contributor
SyncroScales
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎12-23-2009

Re: Cannot do a registery cleanup. Error: 126.

Have done registery clean-ups a lot for the past 4 years. It always finds something from installers (Adobe's for example), removed programs (when using add/remove programs), or failed installs.

- Desktop specs: ASUS M3N78-VM, AMD Phenom II 965 3.4Ghz, 3.5Gb RAM (4Gb), XP Home Edition 32bit SP3/Vista Home Premium 32bit SP2, nVidia GeForce GT 430. 4 internal drives, a bunch of externals
- Laptop specs: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ 2Ghz, 3Gb RAM, Vista Home Premium 64-bit Service Pack 2, ATI 3100. ESATA to work off of.
Contributor
SyncroScales
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎12-23-2009

Re: Cannot do a registery cleanup. Error: 126.

Re-install of Norton 360 not fix this issue.

- Desktop specs: ASUS M3N78-VM, AMD Phenom II 965 3.4Ghz, 3.5Gb RAM (4Gb), XP Home Edition 32bit SP3/Vista Home Premium 32bit SP2, nVidia GeForce GT 430. 4 internal drives, a bunch of externals
- Laptop specs: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ 2Ghz, 3Gb RAM, Vista Home Premium 64-bit Service Pack 2, ATI 3100. ESATA to work off of.
Volunteer
yogesh_mohan
Posts: 5,302
Registered: ‎07-29-2008

Re: Cannot do a registery cleanup. Error: 126.

This may also happen if your Windows Management Instrumentation Repository file is damaged. You can try the steps re-create the WMI Repository.

 

1. Click Start > Run.
2. Type the following and click OK.
services.msc
3. The Services window appears. In the right pane, right-click  Windows Management Instrumentation service, and select Stop.

4. Close the Services window.

5. Navigate to the following folder from My Computer:

C:\Windows\System32\wbem

6. Delete the "repository" folder.

7. Click Start > Run.
8. Type the following and click OK.
services.msc
9. The Services window appears. In the right pane, right-click  Windows Management Instrumentation service, and select Start.

10. Restart the computer.

 

Check registry cleanup again. Let us know the results.

 

Yogesh

Visitor
chazubell
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-10-2011

Re: Cannot do a registry cleanup. Error: 126.

I tried the solution, and it did not work.  

 

When the machine re-booted Norton did not start and issued two errors, e.g. 8504, & 104.  In that the C:\Windows\System32\wbem\repository was not permanently deleted , they were restored, and the machine is back to where it stated.

 

Any addition information would be appreciated. 

Volunteer
yogesh_mohan
Posts: 5,302
Registered: ‎07-29-2008

Re: Cannot do a registry cleanup. Error: 126.

Repository file will be recreated on reboot and it is normal. Did you try the solution for the "8504,104" error? If not, try that:

http://www.symantec.com/norton/support/kb/web_view.jsp?wv_type=public_web&docurl=20110217223020EN


Yogesh

Visitor
chazubell
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-10-2011

Re: Cannot do a registry cleanup. Error: 126.

To fill in further details, here is the product I am running:

 

Product Name: Norton 360
Version: 5.0.0.125
Serial Number: ...TYYY2
Media SKU: 21147701
Current SKU: 21147701
Family SKU: 21137994
Running on Win XP Pro Ver 2002  SP 3
Also I can not run Diagnostic report either.