Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Newbie
cshmoldas
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-06-2008

Computer Freezes after Norton 360 install

I installed Norton 360 on my PC over the weekend and since installing, it locks up randomly anytime I try to run a scan or if it sits idle for just a few minutes.  There is no error message, there is no "blue screen"...all that I can see is my desktop but no input from the mouse or keyboard is recognized.  I tried uninstalling and everything works fine and then reinstalled Norton 360 and the problem came back.  My PC is relatively new and more than adequate to run the software.

 

I need to resolve this or I will just have to uninstall (basically burning the money I have spent on this software) and find another solution that works.

 

Any thoughts would be appreciated.l

 

CS

Regular Contributor
Tech0utsider
Posts: 1,452
Registered: ‎07-29-2008

Re: Computer Freezes after Norton 360 install

Have you contacted chat support yet? It sounds like an corrupted installation. They can remotely assist you in removing all corrupt registry and files and reinstall N360 for you.
=\
Tony_Weiss
Posts: 8,200
Topics: 582
Kudos: 2,086
Solutions: 336
Registered: ‎04-07-2008

Re: Computer Freezes after Norton 360 install

And you can contact our Customer Support team through the Norton 360 Help & Support link. Or you can visit the below site to contact our free Customer Support:

http://www.symantec.com/norton/support/selectproduct_ts.jsp

If you have already done this and they could not resolve your issue, please let us know. If this is the case, please provide as many details as possible. Thanks!
Tony Weiss
Norton Forums Global Community Manager
Symantec Corporation
Newbie
cshmoldas
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-06-2008

Re: Computer Freezes after Norton 360 install

Well, after sitting through an online chat and giving control of my PC to the technician to try to fix the problem, I am back where I started.  I honestly don't think the technician understood my problem.  He deleted a few files and checked a few settings, but nothing drastic.  Each time he would try to run a scan to see if anything worked (we went through this several times) my PC would lock up after 5000-6000 files checked, requiring a hard shut down of my computer and reboot. 

 

My computer is a Dell XPS, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4Ghz, 2GB...I am running Vista Home, and I believe that Service Pack 1 was installed as well. 

 

I am really looking for a solution to this, so if there is any other information which may be useful in coming up with a solution, please let me know.

 

CS

Newbie
billgates
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-07-2008

Re: Computer Freezes after Norton 360 install

I just bought a new Sony Vaio 2 months ago and ever since i tried running the free 60 day trial of 360, the computer got horribly slow.  My friend at Geek squad said that 360 jams up both XP and Vista, but Vista much worse.  They tell me to get rid of it as quickly as possible.  I tried to uninstall it and now IE locks the computer up every time even after going safe mode and running the 360 removal utility at symantec.  DON'T use NORTON 360.  Microsoft sucks also but definitely don't use Norton.  I downloaded Mozilla Firefox in safe mode, and I'm now running it in regular mode and all is fine.  I will probably have to repair or reinstall IE, Thanks Microsoft.  Don't use Vista if you can use XP.  Hey, don't take my word, check the forums on the internet.
Newbie
cshmoldas
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-06-2008

Re: Computer Freezes after Norton 360 install

Well, I booted my PC with all of my startup items turned off except those services related to norton 360 hoping to identify where the a potential conflict could be coming from but upon running a scan, the same lock up continues to happen during the virus scan portion of a comprehensive scan.

 

This is fairly frustrating as I have used Norton 360 on another PC in the past with great success.

 

Any thoughts?

Regular Contributor
Tech0utsider
Posts: 1,452
Registered: ‎07-29-2008

Re: Computer Freezes after Norton 360 install

I put N360 on my 1 yr. old Toshiba Laptop with Vista and a Core Duo t2500, and had no performance issues whatsoever.

 

I would suggest that you contact a Norton rep. and have them remove all N360 related files/registary entries. Corruption maybe the cultprit. 

 

norton.com/support

 

=\