Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
bpsevans
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-22-2012

Error: 3048, 3

I have received this error 5 times now today. Nothing has changed on the PC, no new programs, updates or anything.. All of a sudden, POW, this pops up. I have restarted, verified I have current deffinitions, downloaded and installed power eraser, nothing has worked. What the he!! is the message and how do I make it stop?

 

Norton 360
6.3.0.14
Error: 3048, 3
Windows 7 Professional
7601.17803.x86fre.win7sp1_gdr.120330-1504
Norton Autofix Results: 0 item(s)

yank
Posts: 10,032
Kudos: 2,240
Solutions: 511
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Error: 3048, 3

Hi bpsevans,

 

You got part of the corrective action suggested in the Knowledge Based article for this error from here (Running the NPE)

 

https://www-secure.symantec.com/norton-support/jsp/help-solutions.jsp?docid=v68226310_EndUserProfile...

 

but it appears you missed the small print at the bottom in red:

 

What if this didn't work?    Which will take you to this link: 

 

https://www-secure.symantec.com/norton-support/jsp/help-solutions.jsp?ct=us&lg=en&product=home&pvid=...

 

 

Then if still no joy you should run the Norton Removal Tool as explained at the bottom of the above link.  Please note, even if the RnRT runs to completeion, if it does not fix your situation continue with the instuctins for the NRT. 

 

What if the Norton Remove & Reinstall tool fails

 

Please let us know what happens.

Visitor
bpsevans
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-22-2012

Re: Error: 3048, 3

Thank You for this information. Unfortunatley I have already completed these tasks as I found your instructions in another forum concerning this. Once this proccess was complete, the message still returned.

 

Contributor
vsnmx
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎11-07-2011

Re: Error: 3048, 3


bpsevans wrote:

Thank You for this information. Unfortunatley I have already completed these tasks as I found your instructions in another forum concerning this. Once this proccess was complete, the message still returned.

 


Same problem here!

peterweb
Posts: 9,141
Kudos: 1,456
Solutions: 364
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Error: 3048, 3

bpsevans and vsnmx

 

Just to confirm, you did a complete uninstall using the Norton Removal Tool, then downloaded and installed a fresh copy of 360?

 

Download the Norton Removal Tool from here   www.norton.com/nrt
If you use Identity Safe, backup/export your data.
Run the Norton Removal Tool.
Reboot.
Log into your Norton Account from here   www.account.norton.com
Click on the Download button beside your current product subscription. This will download and install a preactivated copy of your product.
Run LiveUpdate manually a few times, rebooting as necessary, until no updates are available.
Import your Identity Safe data.

 

 


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.
Contributor
kiwi-et
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-23-2012

Re: Error: 3048, 3

I am afraid that this problem has been going on for a week now on my laptop. Full erasure, install, reinstall, ... Forgotten everything we have tried. Initially Norton 360 would work for a couple of days after reinstall and then get the error again. Now, it seems to be only hours.

 

Chat support hasn't helped resolve the problem either. The problem is that login safe along with Firefox locks up Firefox and I am forced to reboot to continue using the machine. I really want a fix.

Contributor
kiwi-et
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-23-2012

Re: Error: 3048, 3

Now, I seem to be consistently getting 11006, 2. One site says run update and reboot. The other says reinstall. Reinstall coming up.

Contributor
kiwi-et
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-23-2012

Re: Error: 3048, 3

[ Edited ]

After using the removal tool and reinstalling, I went through a sequence of liveupdates and reboots until there were no more updates.

 

Just when it looked like things were settling down, I received "8504,5". In the community discussion related to this error, a couple of participants talk of it possibly be caused by Firefox and Google updates. When I went to start Firefox, it wouldn't start so I am entering this through Internet Explorer.

 

I have for a while now disliked the way every Windows application installs its little startup program for updates or fast loading or whatever. If Firefox or Google are the cause of this then I also partly lay the blame with Microsoft and its poor OS architecture that helps cause crappy programming.

 

The instructions from Norton are to go through the reinstall process. Back to square one. Since this is the xth install this week and I am not making much progress, it looks like another call to Norton support is coming up.

 

At least through here, I have documented the sequence of errors and actions.

Contributor
kiwi-et
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-23-2012

Re: Error: 3048, 3

[ Edited ]

I decided to reboot without reinstalling and then do liveupdates. Three reboots and live updaes later, there were no more updates so I began to use the system.

 

Everything seemed to be working fine until I sarted Firefox. It asked me to setup the login vault which I declined and then got a "System Restart Needed" if I click either the "Vault Closed" or "Login Assistant". The as if triggered by Firefox, Norton popped up "Error: 11006, 2".

 

Norton 360
20.1.1.2
Error: 11006, 2
Windows 7 Home Premium
7601.17835.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.120503-2030
Norton Autofix Results: 0 item(s)

Now, I have been here before but I am thinking that Firefox and the Norton Toolbar are no longer working together. So what version of Firefox works? The version of Firefox on this machine is 15.0.1. The version of Norton 360 is 20.1.1.2. I am not sure why but I had problems with Norton earlier on this machine that needed a reinstall and updated the version of Norton.

 

Our other machine hasn't had problems so is running Firefox 15.0.1 but is still on Norton 360 6.3.0.14. I will not be updating the version of Norton on this machine until this problem is resolved.

 

I am going to work through a process of disabling the web features of Norton in Firefox (particularly the login safe and see what happens).

Contributor
kiwi-et
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-23-2012

Re: Error: 3048, 3

I think that I am convinced that my problems stem from the use of the identity safe in Norton in Firefox. somewhere in Norton's versions, it no longer works with Firefox.

 

I will update if the faults reoccur.