Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
blt81
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-04-2011

Error: "5013,3" appears on Norton 360 Version 5.0

In step 2 "Enable the Base Filtering Engine service", I could not find Base Filtering Sevice in the list of names.

Contributor
113666
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-16-2011

Re: Error: "5013,3" appears on Norton 360 Version 5.0

Hi,

 

When you go to services.msc you will find Base Filtering Engine service as shown in the image below. You can accordingly find the service and do the needful. If the issue still persists then the you need to run NRT for uninstalling norton and then you need to reinstall the norton program.

 

 

post-1009-1269794715.gif

 

 

For uninstalling you can click Here and you will receive a security warning which you need to click on to get the NRT downloaded and then you can run it. After computer restartes you can click on Norton 360 5.0 Standard or Norton 360 5.0 Premier.

 

Thanks

Sometimes when you get disappointment... it makes you stronger...!!!
dbrisendine
Posts: 5,584
Kudos: 1,294
Solutions: 263
Registered: ‎10-06-2008

Re: Error: "5013,3" appears on Norton 360 Version 5.0

If you are still having trouble finding the service (on an XP SP2 or later system), please run a SFC scan.

 

Click on START and type in cmd in the Start search box at the bottom of the Start menu. Right click on the cmd.exe at the top of the find list (where all the program short cuts used to be listed) and select "Run as administrator" . In the User Account Control click "continue". In the new Command Prompt window

Type SFC /SCANNOW and press ENTER.

Follow the prompts (if any) and once this is finished, reboot your system.  Then try and find the service again.

Win7 x32 SP1
Symantec Employee
HarryP
Posts: 785
Registered: ‎07-23-2010

Re: Error: "5013,3" appears on Norton 360 Version 5.0

Please contact Norton Support through LiveChat:

http://www.norton.com/chat

 

The Support will be able to resolve this issue for you.

 

Thanks,

HarryP

Visitor
kcdoug
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-25-2011

Re: Error: "5013,3" appears on Norton 360 Version 5.0

are you going to fix it or not?Just fix it!My subscrition is running out and as of now I will never purchase your product if you do not fix this!

 

DistEd2
Posts: 1,965
Kudos: 412
Solutions: 81
Registered: ‎08-11-2011

Re: Error: "5013,3" appears on Norton 360 Version 5.0

[ Edited ]

Hi, kcdoug,

 

This issue is caused by a known problem in Windows, introduced by a recent Microsoft Update, which affects some configurations. The Norton folks are certainly trying to develop a workaround--and I would certainly understand, if they hadn't found one by some point, if you switched to a lesser product that was unaffected (since more robust protection that won't run on your machine still leaves you unprotected). But your anger seems misdirected, when it's another company that hosed things up.

 

Have you tried the workaround that Microsoft has offered, which has been documented in several other threads here? It's complicated and dificult to follow (as one might expect from them!) but several of the folks here have developed detailed instructions--illustrated with screenshots--to help people through it.

Regular Contributor
kuttus
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎12-29-2011

Re: Error: "5013,3" appears on Norton 360 Version 5.0

[ Edited ]

Error: “5013,3″ appears on my Norton 2011 product

 

This issue is started after a new updated released by Microsoft.

 

There is one more issue assosiated with this problem. In most of the cases there is one infection is detected in the computers.

 

1. Trojan.Zeroaccess

2. Win 7 Internet Security 2012

 

Enable the Base Filtering Engine service
  1. Click the Start button, and then click All Programs > Accessories > Run.
  2. In the Run dialog box, type the following text:

    services.msc

  3. Click OK.

    If you receive the User Account Control prompt, click Yes or Continue.

  4. In the Services window, under the Name column, locate and double-click Base Filtering Engine.
  5. To the right of Startup type, verify that Automatic appears.

    If Startup type is not Automatic, then in the drop-down list, click Automatic.

  6. To the right of Service Status, verify that Started appears.

    If the Service status is not Started, then click Start.

  7. Click OK.
  8. Exit the Services window.
  9. Restart the computer.

 

—————————————————————————————-

If the above one is not working try the following registry Fix.

Registry editing for Turn On the Base Filtering Engine.

Download the fix for 64 Bit OS

Download the fix for 32 Bit OS

Save the file on your desktop.  Rename the file as  BFE.reg

Open the Registry Run-->Type REGEDIT and press on Ok.

Now you will get a Registry Editor. Click on the File Menu in the Registry Editor and press on Import. Locate the file BEF.reg on the desktop. Press on Open. –> Yes -> Ok.

 

Now restart the computer. After that go to the registry once again and go to the location

HKLM\System\Current control set\services\BFE

Right Click  –> Permission  –>  Advance   –>  Add — > Everyone

Now restart the computer. The issue will be fixed now.