Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
bmorton62
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-03-2012
Accepted Solution

FBI lockdown virus

Hi,  working on my husbands computer.  Yesterday, somehow, he picked up the FBI virus ( I think it was yesterday as it did not show up until then ).  Tried scanning with Norton while in safe mode and got nothing so figured it was still too new.  Restarted in safe mode and restored to previous version dated 9-28 or 29 can't remember which without looking it up again.  When computer restarted it seemed okay.  I opened the internet and left it there and nothing.  Then this morning when he got up it was back.  He did nothing but clear the screensaver and it was there.  It was NOT there when I went to bed about 12am because I checked his computer.

 

I could try restoring again... but if the same thing happens I will still be where I am now... so am asking for help removing this virus instead.  I did run Power Eraser... downloaded in safe mode and ran it... as it had to reboot I let it and let it boot up normally.  I had a long enough window to start the scan before the FBI window popped up.  I waited several minutes hoping the Eraser was running in the background.  Then I hit the on/off button to restart  the computer.  As the screen cleared I could see that the scan had finished but it flashed off to quick to see results.  I went back in - in safe mode and did it again choosing not to run the same scan, picking instead the one where it did not restart.  Ran it - results "CLEAN".

 

This pc is an Acer running XP Pro - has all the latest updates including service pack 3 from what I understand - it was in the shop about 3 months ago with a virus I could not clean and to replace the hard drive which was going out.  They reinstalled everything and updated and I reinstalled Norton when we got it home.

 

I saw QUADS note about not using the help in other threads instead posting and letting him help you directly so I am posting and hoping for a relatively quick response.

 

Using Norton 360 -

 

I came on in safe mode a few minutes ago and while reading posts here the computer restarted itself.  Not sure if it was the FBI virus or what.  So far I've been here a little longer and not been booted.

 

Anyway... any help would be greatly appreciated!  Thanks

Beth

Bot Obliterator
Quads
Posts: 16,530
Registered: ‎07-21-2008

Re: FBI lockdown virus

[ Edited ]

Safe Mode reboots itself

 

 

 

Quads

Contributor
bmorton62
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-03-2012

Re: FBI lockdown virus

Okay... that explains why it rebooted while I was reading posts here in safe mode.   Can I get help removing the virus from my husbands computer?

Bot Obliterator
Quads
Posts: 16,530
Registered: ‎07-21-2008

Re: FBI lockdown virus

Is it able to stay in Safe Mode with Networking, without crashing or rebooting since??

 

Quads

Contributor
bmorton62
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-03-2012

Re: FBI lockdown virus

Computer is still running in safe mode with networking.  Using it now to send this.  Except for that one reboot it hasn't done anything strange.  I know the virus needs removing and you said to wait on you so I have.  Except for those things listed in my original post I've done nothing and I did those before I found these posts. :/

 

So what's next?

Bot Obliterator
Quads
Posts: 16,530
Registered: ‎07-21-2008

Re: FBI lockdown virus

ANY other user other than the thread starter is not to use any instructions, scripts or proceedures,  The work though in cleaning a system is individual and only for that system due to a number of factors.

 

Unfortunately, with the amount of threads means the waiting time is longer, Norton continually Blocking files won't hurt your system but is is just annoying, Please wait and be patient.   I am  trying to keep up, spending hours here to script and clean machines on a first come/first served basis. If you or someone adds to your thread It will be pushed back in line due to the new update.  I use the boards in reverse to what is seen

 

Please do not run any tools unless instructed to do so. 

  • We ask you to run different tools in a specific order to ensure the malware is completely removed from your machine, and running any additional tools may detect false positives, interfere with our tools, or cause unforeseen damage or system instability. Do as the instructions ask nothing extra or run things twice
  • If I ask a Question just answer it, don't run anything unless it states.
  • Major steps used:

1. Find

2. Break

3. Destroy

4. Cleanup  (including system as a whole)

 

Please read every post completely before doing anything. 

  • Pay special attention to the NOTE: lines, these entries identify an individual issue or important step in the cleanup process.

 

  • Logs from malware removal programs (OTL is one of them) can take some time to analyze. I need you to be patient while I analyze any logs you post. Please remember, I am a volunteer, and I do have a life outside of these forum, (sometimes :smileylol:)

  • Attention to detail is important! Since I cannot see or directly interact with your computer I am dependent on you to "be my eyes" and provide as much information as you can regarding the current state of your computer.


Safe Mode with Networking

 

Download OTL http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/otl/   On to the Desktop

 

Start OTL,  (Right click and from the menu choose "Rin as Administrator")

Click the Scan All Users checkbox.

Change file age to 60 days

 

Press the 

 

 

An OTL.txt  and extras.txt will be created. To attach back in a post

 

Quads

Contributor
bmorton62
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-03-2012

Re: FBI lockdown virus

Okay :)  Got it downloaded and tried to run as Admin but says it can't run in safe mode.  Do I reboot and let it boot normally and try it... hoping to get it run before the lockdown?  Please advise

 

Thanks!!!!  so much for you help

Beth

Contributor
bmorton62
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-03-2012

Re: FBI lockdown virus

Nevermind I think... was trying to right click and run as Admin but I'm already logged in as Admin so tried to just run it and it opened up... running it now.

Contributor
bmorton62
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-03-2012

Re: FBI lockdown virus

Here is what I have.  Again... thanks!!! so much for all your help!!

 

 

Bot Obliterator
Quads
Posts: 16,530
Registered: ‎07-21-2008

Re: FBI lockdown virus

Just a Heads up a quick look at the log,   You have more than you can see to deal with, including what ever happend to Norton, It may be due to the product update.

It is not going to be a one program  on script fix for instance it looks like you have 2 variants of zeroaccess rootkit and usermode also.

 

Quads