05-18-2010 07:24 AM
Hi
New to the forums. I have been using Norton 360 v3 for the last year without any problems hence have had no reason to register here before. I like the product very much and am due for renewal/upgrade shortly as my subscription nears its end. Googling, i found the site www.360-download.com where it offers a download only version of Norton 360 v4 ( 2 year 1 user/3pc license). In these recession hit times, I must admit I am sorely tempted to go the download route instead of purchasing the physical cd...but do not know whether this site is legit or not. Can someone from Symantec confirm this please? The deal looks too good to be true which in my experience invariably means it usually is , and the words "scam" and "dont touch with a bargepole" have crossed my mind but thought i would check from the horse's mouth. If people are being conned by this site, I am sure you would have been flooded with complaints, no?! Anyway, any input appreciated.
Cheers
Solved! Go to Solution.
05-18-2010 08:58 AM
HI gates
According to Norton Safeweb the web site is untested and is based in The Netherlands. I have no further knowledge of the site's credentials.
We look forward to the time when the Power of Love will replace the Love of Power. Then will our world know the blessings of peace. ~William Ewart Gladstone
05-18-2010 09:19 AM
Hello gates
Welcome to the Norton Users Discussion Forum
You can purchase N360 version 4 or version 3 any where you find a good price as long as it's a respectable and legit site or store. I would try to stick to the well knows stores and sites and check for sales.If you find a cheaper version 3, you can purchase that and then use the key from that product and just download the latest version from our links. You don't have to install the CD version. A new key from either version will be good for version 4 also, just make sure you get the version you want.
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.
05-19-2010 12:25 AM
thanks for the replies, i took a chance on the above site, paid with my credit card to cover myself in case the site was bogus. The site FAQ's promised the download link and activation key to be emailed within a hour and true to their word, this arrived inside half an hour. The download link for the software was actually a link direct from Symantec and the activation key was genuine. On activation, Norton 360 redirected me to the nortonaccount.com site where i was able to retrieve my forgotten password for my old account (opened it 1 year ago when i installed v3 and havent visited it since), log-in and view my new product key and serial number. As well as get confirmation that I now have a 1 user, 3 pc license for Norton 360 v4 that expires 18th May 2012 . I'm off to install the software on my 2 kids pc's now!! Oh the price stated on the website does not include a handling fee(?!?) of £4.99..not sure how they justify that amount for handling/processing, but total price comes in at £34.98 which for 2 years coverage for 3 pc's i guess still blows out the water any price i've seen for the same software online or in store (most of which only have a 1 year subscription).
Anyway just thought i'd update.
05-19-2010 12:32 AM
gates wrote:thanks for the replies, i took a chance on the above site, paid with my credit card to cover myself in case the site was bogus. The site FAQ's promised the download link and activation key to be emailed within a hour and true to their word, this arrived inside half an hour. The download link for the software was actually a link direct from Symantec and the activation key was genuine. On activation, Norton 360 redirected me to the nortonaccount.com site where i was able to retrieve my forgotten password for my old account (opened it 1 year ago when i installed v3 and havent visited it since), log-in and view my new product key and serial number. As well as get confirmation that I now have a 1 user, 3 pc license for Norton 360 v4 that expires 18th May 2012 . I'm off to install the software on my 2 kids pc's now!! Oh the price stated on the website does not include a handling fee(?!?) of £4.99..not sure how they justify that amount for handling/processing, but total price comes in at £34.98 which for 2 years coverage for 3 pc's i guess still blows out the water any price i've seen for the same software online or in store (most of which only have a 1 year subscription).
Anyway just thought i'd update.
Hi gates
Good deal![]()
Thanks for coming back to share that with the forum. Enjoy the software.
We look forward to the time when the Power of Love will replace the Love of Power. Then will our world know the blessings of peace. ~William Ewart Gladstone
05-19-2010 09:22 AM
Hello gates
I just checked Norton Safe Web and it's still untested, but one person made a comment that it sold illegal software. I know that is only one person's opinion.I would still give customer support a call and check out the key that you received to double check the validity. You can chat with them for free. It doesn't look like you are from US or Canada, so I believe you can find your local customer service from this site.
Find your Local Customer Support here. Please click on your country.
http://www.symantec.com/norton/support/globalmaps/
Please double check with Symantec customer support to make sure it really is legit. Some illegal sites can really make it look real.
Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.
05-20-2010 06:21 AM
hi floplot
I rang Symantec customer service 2 days ago when i was making the decision about who to purchase from to upgrade/renew my subscription. They said they were not affiliated with that site and that i should buy from symantec direct?!? Yes, i would do if i could afford this but as i pointed out to the customer service agent we cant afford to pay top whack and if i could get a deal then i would be prepared to go elsewhere, as long as it was genuine software and not cracked/keygenned/torrented/pirated or otherwise.
The site comes up under a google search ( using the words "Norton 360 v4 buy") in the first top 3 results and is a sponsored link together with the 2 symantec entries. The way i figured it if Symantec in anyway thought this site was selling bogus software and passing it off as genuine Symantec software, surely they would issue a cease and desist in a heartbeat, and get that site shut down especially as they are in the first 3 google returned results with such high visibility; its not like you have to trawl endless pages to find the site; its there up top on the 1st page in the top 3 links.
Also if the software was in anyway non-genuine, surely the activation key would not activate the product and route me through to nortonaccount.com to verify. Most keygenners/crackers circumvent a call to the manufacturers and if the key was non-genuine I am pretty sure Symantec would have either prevented activation at the time of the install or revoked it during its regular update checks.
I am more than happy to call customer support with my serial number and product key if you want me to go that extra mile but im at work at the moment so will do it later this afternoon/evening when i clock off.
And for the record I have no affiliation whatsoever with that site...just took a chance and it came good...
Symantec is selling the same 2 year license for £109.99 ( http://antivirus.norton.com/content/en/us/home_hom
Will report back when I’ve had chance to call customer support…
05-20-2010 06:31 AM - edited 05-20-2010 06:33 AM
Once, I bought a game at target, and went home to install and the key was already being used... legitly as far as they knew. They might not know a key is not legit until someone happens to buy that same one in the store. Except... if we're talking downloads only, I guess it just depends on whether or not they keep the information in a way that they know which have been sold and are able to correspond them correctly. Then I guess it's possible that a company or person could buy a bunch of them legitly and just try to sell them over and over again.
05-20-2010 02:01 PM
okay i'll post the transcript from my chat with Symantec support and leave it at that.
05-20-2010 02:05 PM
not sure why the image is so small but if you right click on the image and choose view image (works in FF anyway) you can see the transcript a bit more clearly
