Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
grhearnes
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-21-2012

How do I configure scan exclusions for Norton 360 ver 6.2.1.5

Hi

I have recently bought Drafix Landscape Pro and they advise that I configure Norton ant-virus products to exclude scanning the Landscape Planner component of this software. I have looked up how to do this on Norton Help but the instructions don't appear to match my software. Norton Help suggests clicking on Setting/Antivirus/Scans and Risks/Items to Exlude, etc, however when I reach the Scans and Risks page there is no 'Items to Exclude' option, so I am stumped. Does anyone know how to do this ?

Contributor
MarkJohnson
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎06-21-2012

Re: How do I configure scan exclusions for Norton 360 ver 6.2.1.5

Maybe it's me, but if a program is asking you to tell a anti-virus program to let it run anyway would make me highly suspicious.

 

How sure are you of this program?

 

It is very easy for them to tell norton's to allow their program.  Maybe norton rejected them because os suspicious activity already.

 

-=Mark=-

SendOfJive
Posts: 10,757
Kudos: 4,796
Solutions: 777
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: How do I configure scan exclusions for Norton 360 ver 6.2.1.5

Hi grhearnes,

 

Are you having issues with Norton preventing the program from running properly?  If not, you should leave things alone.  Excluding a program from scans should only be done if there is an actual need to do so.  If Drafix is running normally, there is no need to make exceptions for it.

Symantec Employee
HarryP
Posts: 785
Registered: ‎07-23-2010

Re: How do I configure scan exclusions for Norton 360 ver 6.2.1.5

Hi Grhearnes,

 

Welcome to Norton Community!!

 

Until or unless you are sure that the file won't cause any vulnerability isues, we won't recommend you to add the file to the scan exclusion list. If the drafix program runs without any problem, then you need not have to add the file to scan exclusion list. Otherwise, you can always find the option in Scans and Risks tab. You just need to scroll down to find it.

 

scanexclusion.png

 

Thanks,

HarryP

Visitor
grhearnes
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-21-2012

Re: How do I configure scan exclusions for Norton 360 ver 6.2.1.5

I will repeat my request for help re configuring scan exclusions because none of the replies that I have recieved actually grasped the actual problem that I have. The problem is this;

_ I have recently bought Drafix Landscape Pro and Drafix in its user info warns all new uses to configure Norton ant-virus products to exclude scanning the Landscape Planner component of this software.

_ I have looked up how to do this on Norton Help but the instructions don't appear to match my software. Norton Help suggests clicking on Setting/Antivirus/Scans and Risks/Items to Exlude, etc, however when I reach the Scans and Risks page there is no 'Items to Exclude' option. Below is an image of what I see when I look at this page in Norton 360. Clearly I need to change my settings so that I have the option of configuring an exclusion, but the question is how ? Can anybody help?

 

Norton Scans & Risks.png

 

 

 

peterweb
Posts: 8,795
Kudos: 1,375
Solutions: 344
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: How do I configure scan exclusions for Norton 360 ver 6.2.1.5

You have also been asked if the program is having any issues.Have you tried it?

 

You have been advised not to exclude anything if it is not necessary. This lowers your level of protection that you are paying for.


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.
Symantec Employee
HarryP
Posts: 785
Registered: ‎07-23-2010

Re: How do I configure scan exclusions for Norton 360 ver 6.2.1.5

Hi grhearnes,

 

I have already mentioned that you need to scroll down using the scroll bar shown on the right side on the Settings window. You can find the settings of scan exclusion only if you scroll down.

 

original.png

 

Thanks,

HarryP