Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
Outlier
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-12-2009
Accepted Solution

How do I get my site tested with Norton Safeweb?

Hi, I am a webmaster and have taken a significantly long time to develop and prepare to launch my website.  I started Google Adwords today and noticed that my site appears as "untested" - it shows a grey icon with a question mark in it.  Further reading states that:  "Symantec recommends that you do not visit this page." 

 

How can I get my site tested?  I visited the url, http://www.safeweb.norton.com/ but that page does not seem to be working right now.  Is it down? 

 

Please help ASAP as this may affect business and waste my Google advertising dollars...

 

Symantec employees, you can private message me if you need specific info...

Super Spam Squasher
boneidle
Posts: 906
Registered: ‎05-09-2009

Re: How do I get my site tested with Norton Safeweb?

Try this , you may have to sign up

 

http://safeweb.norton.com/help/site_owners

 

 

Contributor
Outlier
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-12-2009

Re: How do I get my site tested with Norton Safeweb?

[ Edited ]

For some reason that page is not showing up for me.  Is it going through maintenance right now?  Is it working for anyone else?

 

 

By the way, my site doesn't have SSL but when customers check-out and pay, they are re-directed to PayPal, which does have SSL.  I hope this doesn't affect the "Transaction Protection" rating.

 

 

[edit: Removed domain name per user request.]

Message Edited by shannons on 12-10-2009 07:10 PM
Phil_D
Posts: 7,612
Topics: 205
Kudos: 2,525
Solutions: 384
Registered: ‎06-10-2008

Re: How do I get my site tested with Norton Safeweb?

Hello Outlier,

 

The Norton Safe Web site located here is working.

 

Tell us more about your computer: Security Program / Firewall / Browser.  Do you have any problems visiting other sites?

Norton Internet Security • Comcast NSS • Norton Zone | XP SP3 • Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64
• PLEASE, BACKUP or EXPORT your Identity Safe Data on a regular basis •
"Anyone who isn't confused really doesn't understand the situation."  Edward R. Murrow

Super Spam Squasher
boneidle
Posts: 906
Registered: ‎05-09-2009

Re: How do I get my site tested with Norton Safeweb?

I can also connect to Norton Safe Web, using all the links in the above messages, so it cannot be down.
huwyngr
Posts: 21,065
Topics: 1,003
Kudos: 2,738
Solutions: 368
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: How do I get my site tested with Norton Safeweb?

[ Edited ]

When you google your website and click on the (?) and then on the Full Report there is a click on:

 


 

Did you try that and see if it gives you instructions how to get your site tested?

 

[edit: Removed personal information per user request.]

Message Edited by shannons on 12-10-2009 07:12 PM


Hugh
Contributor
Outlier
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-12-2009

Re: How do I get my site tested with Norton Safeweb?

The link you directed me to is the exact same link I mentioned earlier, http://safeweb.norton.com/.  It's not working for me.  I've never had a problem visiting a site before.  I'm using Norton 360 on my computer.  I tried disabling the firewall and anti-virus but the page still didn't show up.  And when I click the question mark icon next to my name in the Google search result, it also goes to a dead link but I can see that it tried to go to safeweb.norton.com.

 

I've heard that there's something like a "ban list" in your computer somewhere where you can prohibit which sites your computer can go to.  Perhaps safeweb.norton.com is listed in that list somewhere.  I forget where it's located though.  Any other thoughts?  Thanks for all your input so far...

Contributor
Outlier
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-12-2009

Re: How do I get my site tested with Norton Safeweb?

The file I was mentioning earlier is called the "hosts" file and it's located somewhere in the Windows folder.  I just checked it and safeweb.norton.com was not there so that can't be the problem. 

 

Is there anything else I could try doing like disabling something in Norton 360 or anything else?  I'm using Internet Explorer 8 and it didn't work with Firefox either. 

huwyngr
Posts: 21,065
Topics: 1,003
Kudos: 2,738
Solutions: 368
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: How do I get my site tested with Norton Safeweb?


Outlier wrote:

The file I was mentioning earlier is called the "hosts" file and it's located somewhere in the Windows folder.  I just checked it and safeweb.norton.com was not there so that can't be the problem. 

 

Is there anything else I could try doing like disabling something in Norton 360 or anything else?  I'm using Internet Explorer 8 and it didn't work with Firefox either. 


 

This is the first you have said that you are using Norton 360 but you have posted in the Norton Internet Security/ NAV Forum.

 

Please confirm which you have so your messages can be moved to the N360 area if that is what you have.

 

This is critical since N360 does not exist as a 2010 version yet and since I don't use it I don't know how it works.

 

You should also say what version of Windows including Service Packs and whether 32 bit or 64 bit you are using to try and make this contact and give the version ID of your norton product which is in Help / About in the format nn.nn.nn.nnn



Hugh
Contributor
Outlier
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-12-2009

Re: How do I get my site tested with Norton Safeweb?

So is it possible that my installation of Norton 360 is preventing me from going to http://safeweb.norton.com   I don't have any problem going to any other site, even other sections of the Norton site.  It's only that site that I cannot connect to, even using another computer. 

 

I'm using Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit Service Pack 1.