Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
DaveN
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-25-2011

Identity safe won't auto fill logins

Hi

I am looking for some help getting Norton 360 to auto fill logins in Identity safe. I have installed 360 on a new computer. It has been upgraded to the latest version..I believe it's 5.0.  I have 1 website that it will auto fill, the rest will not. Here is the status of my installation.

  1 I am currently logged in to Identity safe.

  2 In Identity safe / Settings / options..Securely collect and store my logins etc. (This box is checked)

  3 In Identity safe / Settings /  Passwords and security...ask for my password etc. (This box is checked)

  4 In Identity safe / Settings /  Manage Logins...Auto fill when I visit this page (This box is checked)  Also this window is populated with the names of sites whose logins are stored by Identity safe. When I click on an address it will take me to the site but will not auto fill the login.

  5. There are no auto fill exclusions identified.

 

In trying to solve this problem I have uninstalled 360 using the Norton tool for this. I restarted the computer and reinstalled 360. But I am still having the same problem.

 

Thank You in advance for any help that you can offer.

 

Dave

Symantec Employee
viveksu
Posts: 560
Registered: ‎02-01-2011

Re: Identity safe won't auto fill logins

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

1) Can you please check whether the Norton ToolBar is enabled in the browser on which you are facing this issue.

 

For IE:- Open "Tools"->"Manage Add-Ons" and check whether Norton ToolBar is enabled.

For FF:- Open "Tools"->"Add-ons"->"Extensions" and check whether Norton ToolBar is enabled.

 

If you disabled or not-compatible status, then please run Liveupdate repeatedly until you get all the latest updates.

 

2) Are you facing this issue only when you click on the "Address" link from "Manage Logins" UI or even while manually browsing to that webpage. (Open the browser, enter the URL and browse to login and check whether the credentials are auto-filled)

 

Please let us know the Browser on which you seeing this issue along its version.

Please let us know the Norton 360 version you had installed. (Check the version number under "Support"->"About").

Visitor
DaveN
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-25-2011

Re: Identity safe won't auto fill logins

Thanks for the quick reply!

The Norton toolbar is enabled and working..I am running IE 9.0. (Windows 7)

I have run live update many times so it is definately current.

This issue occurs when browsing not just from "Manage Logins" in 360.

Thanks again!

Visitor
DaveN
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-25-2011

Re: Identity safe won't auto fill logins

The Norton 360 is version 5.1.0.29

Symantec Employee
viveksu
Posts: 560
Registered: ‎02-01-2011

Re: Identity safe won't auto fill logins

Hi,

 

Since you had mentioned its site specific, can you please try this.

 

a) Browse to site where you see this issue.

b) Try login with invalid credentials.

c) "Save" pop-up will be shown by Identity Safe, Save the invalid login.

d) Open "Manage Logins" and click on the "Address" link for the invalid login that you had saved and check the behavior.

 

1) Are you seeing this issue only on a specific site or all the logins in "Manage Logins" UI behave the same way?

2) If possible please mention URL of the site where you see this issue.

 

 

Visitor
DaveN
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-25-2011

Re: Identity safe won't auto fill logins

Hi

I have logged in using invalid ID and password. Identity Safe "Save" window pops up...so I saved the invalids. When I go to Managed ID's and click on that "invalid" link, the site opens but identity safe will not populate the fields with any info at all...good or invalid. In fact identity safe does nothing at all, the web page appears on the screen as though identity safe does not exist.

 

Here is a new twist to the problem. This morning I tried adding a new site to Identity safe, one that I have not previously tried. That site works perfectly. No problems what so ever!

 

Could my problem here be a conflict with whatever windows uses for auto complete? I seem to remember that on my old computer there was one site that would not populate in Identity Safe, and on that site I told Windows Auto complete to save login info. From that point forward I could not get it to work with Identity Safe. It was a site that I rarely used so I didn't worry about it.

 

To answer your question #1...right now this seems to only be happening on 1 site. And there are no exclusions listed in identity safe for this site or any other.

 

Is there any way to clear the info in identity safe and start over?

How about window auto complete...is there any way to shut that off. I would much rather use identity safe.

 

Thanks again for your help!! Anything you can offer would be greatly appreciated!!

Dave

 

 

NPH
Contributor
NPH
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎12-19-2009

Re: Identity safe won't auto fill logins


DaveN wrote:

To answer your question #1...right now this seems to only be happening on 1 site. And there are no exclusions listed in identity safe for this site or any other.

 


In that case it may be that the problem is not in Identity Safe. Some websites have poorly designed log-in boxes that IS have difficulties recognizing as such.

 

Niels Peter Hansen

Visitor
DaveN
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-25-2011

Re: Identity safe won't auto fill logins

Hi

Theses are sites that work on my other computer. For some reason they are excluded on the new machine even though they are not listed as exclusions. I am going to try to remove these sites from Identity safe and re-enter them. Maybe that will solve the problem. It is partially working so hopefully starting over will help.

Thanks for the help!!

Dave

LSS
Newbie
LSS
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2011

Re: Identity safe won't auto fill logins

I have the same problem, specifically on sigining on to the WSJ online, a login popup appears & I can't identify the address, even in looking at HTML source code.  In the second instance, my local library system has a popup with similar characteristics and t hat login is not automatically filled in either. 

 

I suspect that they are some sort of protected popups.  The WSJ login did work with identity safe at one time.

 

I have WIndows Vista Ultimate, Norton 360 V5, and use Firefox 7.

 

Symantec Employee
viveksu
Posts: 560
Registered: ‎02-01-2011

Re: Identity safe won't auto fill logins

Hi DaveN,

 

To turn off Browser Password Manager please follow the steps mentioned below.

 

For IE, Open "Tools" -> "Internet Options" -> "Content" -> Click "Settings" near "AutoComplete stores previous entries on webpages and suggests matches for you" -> Uncheck "Username and Passwords on forms".

 

For FF, Open "Tools" -> "Options" -> "Security" -> Uncheck "Remember Password for Sites" check box.