Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
Sandy_Stone
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-25-2011

Inoperable Hardware Device

I ran a diagnostic scan with Norton and it tells me that:

Problem:  Norton 360 has detected inoperable hardware devices.

Recommendation:  You may want to configure these hardware devices. Run Device Manager to properly configure hardware devices.

 

This section lists any hardware devices that are not working.

Data TypeDevice Problem and Description
Device TypeRADEON X600 256MB HyperMemory Secondary
Device StatusDevice cannot start. (Code 10)
Plug and Play IDPCI\VEN_1002&DEV_5B72&SUBSYS_06031002&REV_00\4&1A646D2D&0&0108

 

 

I also get pop up telling me that IE greedy with the memory usage. I not that tech savy If anyone could help me that would be great.

 

FeatureDetails
Page File Size1,600MB
Page File Free92%
Physical Memory Size1,022MB
Physical Memory Free58%
Disk TypeFixed Disk
Disk IDC
Total Disk Space230GB
Free Disk Space123GB

 

This section lists and characterizes the key hardware devices and components on this system.

FeatureDetails
PC ManufacturerDell Inc.
ModelDell DXP051
Motherboard ManufacturerDell Inc.
Product0YC523
CPUIntel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz
Versionx86 Family 15 Model 4 Stepping 4
Data Width32bits
Approximate Current Clock Speed2,992Mhz
Approximate Maximum Clock Speed2,992Mhz
BIOSPhoenix ROM BIOS PLUS Version 1.10 A02
Date10/27/2005
VersionDELL - 7
Memory slots available on motherboard4
Memory ChipDIMM_1
RAM512MB
Speed533ns
Memory ChipDIMM_2
RAM512MB
Speed533ns
Motherboard DeviceIntel PRO/100 VE Network Connections
StatusOn
Motherboard DeviceHigh Definition Audio Controller
StatusOn
System SlotPEG
StatusIn Use
System SlotSLOT1
StatusAvailable
System SlotSLOT3
StatusAvailable
System SlotSLOT4
StatusAvailable
System SlotSLOT5
StatusAvailable
System SlotSLOT6
StatusIn Use
CD DriveSONY DVD-ROM DDU1615
Media TypeCD-ROM
CD DriveHL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GWA4164B
Media TypeCD-ROM
Video ManufacturerATI Technologies Inc.
Video CardRADEON X600 256MB HyperMemory
RAM256MB
Mode1280 x 1024 x 4294967296 colors
Driverati2dvag.dll
Date2/9/2006
Version6.14.10.6601
Hard Disk ModelMaxtor 7L250S0
InterfaceIDE
Network AdapterIntel(R) PRO/1000 PL Network Connection
Service Namee1express
Sound ManufacturerSigmaTel
ModelSigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC
Sound ManufacturerMicrosoft
ModelUnimodem Half-Duplex Audio Device
PrinterMicrosoft XPS Document Writer
PrinterMicrosoft Office Document Image Writer Driver
PrinterDell Photo AIO Printer 962
PrinterCAPTURE FAX BVRP
PrinterCAPTURE FAX
Number of Logical CPUs Active2

 

dickevans
Posts: 12,361
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Inoperable Hardware Device

Sandy_Stone

Welcome

 

My first observation is that there appear to be a number of out of date components listed. Have you visited the Dell site lately and downloaded/installed the latest drivers for all of your hardware? Including your BIOS. After everything is up to date try again adn report back. Be sure to reboot between each of the download/install sessions.

Hope this helps

 

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21
Visitor
Sandy_Stone
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-25-2011

Re: Inoperable Hardware Device

I managed to fix the problem with some Dell updates so all is well for now.

dickevans
Posts: 12,361
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Inoperable Hardware Device

Sandy_Stone

 

Got to love when a plan works out for the best

Keep visiting and stay safe

 

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21
Visitor
Sandy_Stone
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-25-2011

Re: Inoperable Hardware Device

Hello and good afternoon Norton Support. Here is my issue: host file hijack? I keep getting Norton pop ups telling me that I have high memory usage by IEEE.  I had a virus removed on May 8th that was causing a Google redirect. Some of it must be still kicking around. I scanned with Norton and Malwarebytes which came up with nothing. I scanned with Security Task Manager and it tells me there is a problem and do I want to re-write the host file? I have no idea how to re-write a host file, so I left it alone. I noticed that IEEE is not my default, which it should be, so I reset that. I have gotten a couple of pop ups telling me that a hijack of IEEE was attempted. My only symptoms are the described and a couple memory dumps and slow functioning at times. Is Security Task Manager a legit program? Do I just need to rewrite the host file?

SendOfJive
Posts: 10,757
Kudos: 4,797
Solutions: 778
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: Inoperable Hardware Device

 

Hi Sandy_Stone,

 

By IEEE, do you mean Internet Explorer?  If so, occasional high resource usage reported by Norton's Performance Monitoring is probably normal and nothing to worry about.  Your Hosts file may have been changed by any number of things - it could be the work of malware or it could be the work of a security program like Spybot - Search and Destroy which updates the Hosts file with each weekly update release.  The hosts file can be used by malware to prevent you from visiting security-related websites, but it can also be used by good programs to prevent you from accidentally going to known malicious sites.  An easy way of resetting the Hosts file to its default is to use the Microsoft Fix-it Tool:

 

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/972034

Visitor
Sandy_Stone
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-25-2011

Re: Inoperable Hardware Device

Yes I meant Internet Explorer. The Spell checker was my downfall there. Anyway, thanks for the tip, and I am working on the problem.