Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
xfighter
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-13-2009
Accepted Solution

N360 and Homegroup on Windows 7

I cannot get my computers to see a homegroup.  I have tried creating the homegroup on each computer and the other one always says there is no homegroup on the network.  Both computers are running Norton 360 v3.5.2.11.  One computer is running Windows 7 Ultimate and the other is running Windows 7 RC.

 

Any help would be appreciated.

delphinium
Posts: 9,859
Kudos: 2,955
Solutions: 293
Registered: ‎11-21-2008

Re: N360 and Homegroup on Windows 7

Hi xfighter:

 

Just to clarify, did you build the home group in Windows, according to the instructions?  

 

When you open N360, is the name of your home group displayed in the box under network details?

 

Are there any devices showing in the network map?

 

Did you set "Computer discovery" to on?

Under certain circumstances profanity provides relief denied even to prayer.
Mark Twain
Contributor
xfighter
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-13-2009

Re: N360 and Homegroup on Windows 7

Network discovery is set to on.  When I open N360 I can see all the computers on the network in the network details screen, but I do not see any entry anywhere in there that says homegroup.  The homegroup itself was set up during Windows install using the default settings.
delphinium
Posts: 9,859
Kudos: 2,955
Solutions: 293
Registered: ‎11-21-2008

Re: N360 and Homegroup on Windows 7

I don't think there is anything that specifically says "Home Group" in Norton. There should be a box with a menu on the left hand side of the network map screen that has the actual name of the network connection, whatever you called it when you set it up, and "Trust control."   If you can see all off the machines in the network map, click on the network details>trust control>and set the level of trust for each machine.

 

I think you are confusing the home group with the network.  What you are viewing in Norton, is the home network, which should document all of the connections for the machines in the home group, as well as visitors who may be allowed to connect.  If you can see all of the machines in the network map, you have done it correctly.

 

Keep in mind that both machines require their own antivirus and firewall.

 

 

Under certain circumstances profanity provides relief denied even to prayer.
Mark Twain
Contributor
xfighter
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-13-2009

Re: N360 and Homegroup on Windows 7

I uninstalled N360 on both machines and the homegroup works fine.  I can see all my files from both computers so I know the Windows part of the homegroup is working.  Any suggestions?  I don't want to leave my computers unprotected.
Contributor
xfighter
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-13-2009

Re: N360 and Homegroup on Windows 7

I reinstalled N360 on the 2 computers and homegroups still work so I guess the solution is to uninstall n360 from all 6 computers on the network and get homegroups working then go back and reinstall n360 on all the computers.  If anyone has a better solution, please let me know before I go through all this. 
Contributor
xfighter
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-13-2009

Re: N360 and Homegroup on Windows 7

Ok.  Final post.  I tried joining the homegroup from another Win7 computer that I had NOT uninstalled N360 on and it worked fine.  So, it appears that the computer that is going to CREATE the homegroup must do so before N360 is installed for the installation to recognise it and configure itself correctly.  I am not sure if that is the way it is supposed to work or not.  I am just posting this for others who may have this problem in the future.
delphinium
Posts: 9,859
Kudos: 2,955
Solutions: 293
Registered: ‎11-21-2008

Re: N360 and Homegroup on Windows 7

Thanks for getting back with the results xfighter.  I'm sure it will be helpful to others.
Under certain circumstances profanity provides relief denied even to prayer.
Mark Twain
Newbie
col0320
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-17-2010

Re: N360 and Homegroup on Windows 7

I have this exact same problem but I do not get the same results following the advice above. Even more importantly once I remove Norton from one PC the other can see it in Homegroup so it is Norton that is blocking Homegroup access when it was installed. When I remove Norton on the second PC then all is fine and I can see and use Homegroup on both computers. I think the problem (based on the comments) Norton does not have a clue as to what Homegroup in Windows 7 is or does. (The comment from Super Worm Eliminator  Super Worm Eliminator  was about confusing Homegroup with Network.)

 

My solution? Bought McAfee and everything works fine :smileyhappy: so I am just considering the cost of both Norton 2010 and Norton 360 a very bad investment and I will steer clear from anything that Norton produces.

 

Incidentally I have had their technicians all over my two PC's and they do not seem to have a clue other than to blame another companies product!

delphinium
Posts: 9,859
Kudos: 2,955
Solutions: 293
Registered: ‎11-21-2008

Re: N360 and Homegroup on Windows 7

I also have a home group with two computers, NIS2010 on both.  I had a bit of trouble adding my son't computer to the home network, mainly because I bunged up the settings myself.  Once I built a new home group under a different name, properly,  all of the computers were visible and connected.  That was accomplished with NIS in place on both home machines and AVG on the laptop.

 

It can take a bit of fiddling sometimes because connections have to go through at least two firewalls on each machine to work reliably.

 

 

Under certain circumstances profanity provides relief denied even to prayer.
Mark Twain