Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
peterweb
Posts: 9,184
Kudos: 1,462
Solutions: 365
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: N360.exe High CPU Usage

Glad to see you saw the small details of the instructions.

 

The actual cause can be some conflict with some program or driver on your system, or combination of same. This illustrates the challenge program developers face to try to have a product be compatible with the MILLIONS of combinations of hardware and software in use around the world.

 

Hopefully your Norton product may have sent some data back to Norton through the Community Watch feature that could help diagnose and allow a fix to be created for your issue.

 

 

 


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.
Contributor
maxsverdlove
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Re: N360.exe High CPU Usage

Thanks for your post...

 

I wouldn't be horribly surprised if it is a driver conflict... due to my setup.  However, I've never had problems like this before on this machine for any software... It's literally like working on a high-end PC.

 

Just for reference.... I'm using Boot Camp on MacBook Pro 2.2 Ghz i7 - Win 7 Pro fully updated

 

I took off any software that I thought might conflict and that didn't fix it... So I doubt it was that...

 

Hoping a fix comes through someday.... I don't want to get stuck on 360 v.20

peterweb
Posts: 9,184
Kudos: 1,462
Solutions: 365
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: N360.exe High CPU Usage


maxsverdlove wrote:

Thanks for your post...

 

I wouldn't be horribly surprised if it is a driver conflict... due to my setup.  However, I've never had problems like this before on this machine for any software... It's literally like working on a high-end PC.

 

Just for reference.... I'm using Boot Camp on MacBook Pro 2.2 Ghz i7 - Win 7 Pro fully updated

 

I took off any software that I thought might conflict and that didn't fix it... So I doubt it was that...

 

Hoping a fix comes through someday.... I don't want to get stuck on 360 v.20


Yet another variable in the equation. I have no experience with Macs, but it could be something related to that.

 

Try posting in the Tech Outpost  board of the forum to see if anyone there is able to make suggestions.  http://community.norton.com/t5/Tech-Outpost/bd-p/Tech_Outpost

 

 

 


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.
Contributor
maxsverdlove
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Re: N360.exe High CPU Usage

I just received this is as a private message from Tony Weiss:

 

We haven't received any other reports of this, through support or on the forums, though as you mention there was a similar issue. And as others have pointed out, correlation doesn't equal causation. We also don't really know anything about your setup - you're running Windows 7 and Norton 360 Premier. We only found out yesterday that you're running Win7 on Bootcamp on a MacBook Pro running ??? OS. We also don't know what else you had installed on your Win 7 image, or how you removed them. Did you create a whole new Win7 image on Bootcamp then installed Norton 360 v21?

 

This is a complicated issue for sure, and the lack of detail from you makes it increasingly difficult to troubleshoot. I recommend for your next post to include as much detail as possible about your system and setup. This not only saves a lot of back and forth, it also helps us get to the cause more quickly.

 

Thanks.

 

Here's my response:

 

Boot Camp is Apple's utility that creates a second partition on the Hard Drive allowing for an installation to run OUTSIDE of Mac OS X.  This is not a virtualized "image".  But just in case that matters.  The partition was created when I had OS X 6 installed.  I'm currently running OS X 8. But that should not affect anything on the Windows side at all...

 

You didn't address the Hosts file question that I asked to you... I use HostsMan to create a custom Hosts file.  Would this possibly affect v 21... It has NO effect whatsoever on v20's operation.

 

Since I can't upload my HOSTS file... https://www.dropbox.com/s/qhj9vcp968puusv/HOSTS

 

As to your other comments regarding lack of "details"...  I ran Belarc Advisor 8.3b on my Win7 partition the results are attached as a PDF.

 

Max

 

Contributor
cat2006house
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎09-21-2013

Re: N360.exe High CPU Usage


maxsverdlove wrote:

Wow, this new Norton 360 v. 21 is horrible.... so many bugs... is there anyway to go back????

 

Right now N360.exe is refusing the shutdown or calm down and has very very high CPU usage.  It's currently stuck at 12.xx in Process Explorer..

 

It's making my cursor very jumpy.

 

Rebooting DOES NOT FIX IT!

 

HELP!


Yeah jumpy cursor problem happens to me too. And sometimes Norton 360 is using too much CPU (espcially during scanning) that I have to terminate some of the processes/applications.

Contributor
maxsverdlove
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Re: N360.exe High CPU Usage

Do you have a custom HOSTS file?  That was the only thing I hadn't tried before going back to v20... I don't have time to go back to v21, otherwise I'd try it out.... Plus uninstalling, reinstalling, rebooting, is such a PIA...

Super Spyware Scolder
Scoop8
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎11-28-2012

Re: N360.exe High CPU Usage


cat2006house wrote:Yeah jumpy cursor problem happens to me too. And sometimes Norton 360 is using too much CPU (espcially during scanning) that I have to terminate some of the processes/applications.

It may help to run C: or Full System Scans overnight or during a time when when the PC is not in use.

 

I run my scheduled scans overnight so that I'm never at the PC when the scan are running.

Visitor
cel100
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-30-2011

Re: N360.exe High CPU Usage

[ Edited ]

360 v 21.0.1.3

 

I am getting high cpu alert  1 of my cpu's.  alerted on n360.exe.  What do I do now?  How do I find a resolution on my particular computer.

Hewlett Packard hp h8-1114

win7 home premium Service Pack 1 (Build 7601)

Intel Core i5-2400 CPU

8 GB memory

 

Delayed Start and Active Tasks

 

TouchControl
TOUCHCONTROL.EXE TouchControl
Version: 5.3.0.194 

 

Symantec Service Framework
ccsvchst.exe Symantec Service Framework
Version: 12.3.3.2 

 

BioMonitor
BIOMONITOR.EXE BioMonitor
Version: 5.3.0.194 

 

hpsysdrv
hpsysdrv.exe hpsysdrv
Version: 2.10.0000 

 

GoogleToolbarNotifier
GOOGLETOOLBARNOTIFIER.EXE GoogleToolbarNotifier
Version: 4, 1, 509, 

 

Java(TM) Update Scheduler
jusched.exe Java(TM) Update Scheduler
Version: 2.1.9.4

hpwuSchd Application
HPWUSCHD2.EXE hpwuSchd Application
Version: 80, 1, 1, 0 Copyright (C) Hewlett-Packard 2007

Logitech Webcam Software
LWS.exe Logitech Webcam Software
Version: 13.51.815.0 (c) 1996-2012 

 

Microsoft OneNote Quick Launcher
ONENOTEM.EXE Microsoft OneNote Quick Launcher
Version: 14.0.7015.1000 © 2010 

 

WinPatrol PLUS
WINPATROL.EXE WinPatrol System Monitor
Version: 28.6.2013.0 Copyright © 1997-2013 BillP Studios

WinPatrol PLUS
WINPATROLEX.EXE WinPatrol Explorer
Version: 28.6.2013.0 Copyright © 2004-2013 BillP Studios

• Scheduled Tasks 1.0 •
GoogleUpdateTaskUserS-1-5-21-887401880-2478436145-2469858605-1000UA.job
GoogleUpdate.exe Google Installer
Version: 1.3.21.103 Copyright 2007-2010 

 

GoogleUpdateTaskUserS-1-5-21-887401880-2478436145-2469858605-1000Core.job
GoogleUpdate.exe Google Installer
Version: 1.3.21.103 Copyright 2007-2010 Google Inc.

GoogleUpdateTaskMachineUA.job
GoogleUpdate.exe Google Installer
Version: 1.2.183.21 Copyright 2007-2009 Google Inc.

GoogleUpdateTaskMachineCore.job
GoogleUpdate.exe Google Installer
Version: 1.2.183.21 Copyright 2007-2009 Google Inc.

Adobe Flash Player Updater.job
FlashPlayerUpdateService.exe Adobe® Flash® Player Update Service 11.7 r700
Version: 11,7,700,224 Copyright © 1996 Adobe Systems Incorporated

HPCeeScheduleForHP$.job
HPCEE.exe HP Ceement
Version: 6.0.1.7 Copyright @ Hewlett-Packard Company

HPCeeScheduleForCeleste.job
HPCEE.exe HP Ceement
Version: 6.0.1.7 Copyright @ Hewlett-Packard Company

HPCeeScheduleForCel.job
HPCEE.exe HP Ceement
Version: 6.0.1.7 Copyright @ Hewlett-Packard Company

GoogleUpdateTaskUserS-1-5-21-887401880-2478436145-2469858605-1003UA.job
GoogleUpdate.exe Google Installer
Version: 1.3.21.103 Copyright 2007-2010 Google Inc.

GoogleUpdateTaskUserS-1-5-21-887401880-2478436145-2469858605-1003Core.job
GoogleUpdate.exe Google Installer
Version: 1.3.21.103 Copyright 2007-2010 Google Inc.

 

Contributor
maxsverdlove
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Re: N360.exe High CPU Usage

Decided to try v21 again...

 

I was right it was the HOSTS file.  If you customize it, N360.exe locks on and won't let go...

 

I used Unlocker http://www.emptyloop.com/unlocker/

 

And voila... problem solved... Well at least a workaround... Symantec... any chance you guys can issue a fix for this!

 

Btw, I also am using Batchrun http://www.outertech.com/en/batch-file

 

to run it as a command line (just placed a shortcut to my BRS file in the Windows directory and use the run command to quickly fix it upon boot).

 

It seems to fail when you first boot up or when you make any changes to the HOSTS file.  So, it's obviously when it firsts loads.  N360.exe just basically gets stuck in a loop.

 

If anybody has questions, please let me know...

Tony_Weiss
Posts: 8,285
Topics: 582
Kudos: 2,113
Solutions: 349
Registered: ‎04-07-2008

Re: N360.exe High CPU Usage

Hi maxsverdlove,

 

Thanks for testing this with v21. I've sent you a download for v21.1, if you could try that out for me.

 

If you're still seeing the issue with v21.1, it would help for me to get everything together in 1 post:

1) your system setup - I understand that you're running this via Bootcamp, correct? Please include all the details of your setup - OSs, versions, etc.

2) How you installed your Norton product, and the versions installed.

3) 3rd party software used, how it has modified your system, and any details of this setup

4) your customized HOSTS file (I've sent you a link to upload it)

 

We thrive on details and specifics so we can quickly reproduce this issue in our labs. More information and quicker reproduction of the issue leads to faster resolution. Thanks for your help.

 

Tony Weiss
Norton Forums Global Community Manager
Symantec Corporation