Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Visitor
fierystorm123

Norton 360 Everywhere won't scan in Windows 8

Hey everyone, I could really use some help.

This is my first time posting and I think I've followed the rules properly. Here is what is going on...

I'm currently running the latest Norton 360 Everywhere on Windows 8. Three weeks ago after receiving Norton updates on Wednesday around the 7th (I think) my Quick Scan and Full Scan refused to run. Every other part of my Norton 360, even in my internet browser, worked just fine. I kept updating until it said there were no further updates. I restarted my computer, and checked again; no new updates. I resorted to Norton Support. A Support Rep connected with my comp, used Norton Removal Tool to remove the existing Norton and redownloaded it, reinstalled and it worked fine. It went great every single day when I was doing full and quick scans.

One week later there were new Norton updates on the following Wednesday. Exact same problem - everything worked EXCEPT Quick and Full Scan. So I connected again. This time the Support Rep went into my existing Norton, downloaded something and replaced a file after saying there was something missing. We restarted and it worked just fine. Everyday it was just fine.

One week later - Nov 28th,  new Norton Updates. It happened AGAIN. I connected once more to Norton Support (getting really tired of doing so). That time I got this lady, and boy let me tell you I was livid by the end of the conversation. I don't think I have EVER gotten someone in customer service from any company that has made me so mad. But hey, so be it. She used Norton Removal Tool, took THREE FLIPPIN' HOURS to do whatever she did. Finally it was completed. It worked. I had Quick and Full Scans late Wednesday and all of yesterday.

Until today. New updates from Norton. I cringe now whenever I see those updates. And guess what? It broke my Norton 360 AGAIN. Now I can't Quick or Full Scan.