Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
Bigzlittlee
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-17-2011
Accepted Solution

Norton 360 Removal Tool

When I download the Norton 360 Removal Tool and then try to run it, I get a message that the file is corrupt.  Why is that?

Symantec Employee
aalim
Posts: 132
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Norton 360 Removal Tool

Welcome to the Norton Community,

 

I assume that you are running the Norton removal tool here which will remove all Norton product from the computer .

 

I would like to know the reason you need to run the same.Do you have any problems with the current version in the computer ?

 

Also see if you are downloading the same from www.symantec.com/nrt and running . If not , please try that and let me know if that worked.

 

Cheers !

 

dickevans
Posts: 11,756
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Norton 360 Removal Tool


Bigzlittlee wrote:

When I download the Norton 360 Removal Tool and then try to run it, I get a message that the file is corrupt.  Why is that?


Welcome,

Why is that? Excellent question. I don't have an excellent answer but I am aware of several possible reasons for the problem. As good as things are none of our technology is perfect. Things [ use your own word] happen! The easiest solution is to try again your will find the program here: http://www.symantec.com/nrt/

Word of warning! This tool is very good and will remove EVERYTHING Norton from your computer. Also, before you start removing things you should save any identity safe data that you want to keep. Reboot and run the tool again, just to make sure it did get everything.

Keep us in the loop, the light's always on

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21
Visitor
Bigzlittlee
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-17-2011

Re: Norton 360 Removal Tool

I bought a new version of Norton 360 from Staples.  When I installed it, it hung up on the initialzing window.  Somewhere in the Symantec website, I read that the previous version had to be removed to install the new version.

Symantec Employee
aalim
Posts: 132
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Norton 360 Removal Tool

Alright . I assumed you were having some problems with the product and need the norton removal tool.

 

Well in this case , you have a problem with installation as well , try rebooting the computer in safe mode with networking and download the norton removal tool from the link given earlier and uninstall the old version.

 

You can install the product from safe mode itself and see if that worked.

 

Let me know if this worked.

 

Cheers !

Visitor
Bigzlittlee
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-17-2011

Re: Norton 360 Removal Tool

Thanks, I will give it a try.

Visitor
Bigzlittlee
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-17-2011

Re: Norton 360 Removal Tool

I downloaded the removal tool from the site : http://www.symantec.com/nrt/ and it worked!

 

Ran the removal tool and then installed the software in "safe mode" and it went fine.

 

Thanks again for all your help!!!

Symantec Employee
aalim
Posts: 132
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Norton 360 Removal Tool

Great news and music to the ears !!!

 

Do come back to us if you have any issues in the future .

 

Thanks.

dickevans
Posts: 11,756
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Norton 360 Removal Tool


Bigzlittlee wrote:

I downloaded the removal tool from the site : http://www.symantec.com/nrt/ and it worked!

 

Ran the removal tool and then installed the software in "safe mode" and it went fine.

 

Thanks again for all your help!!!


Glad that all is well.

Need a bit of housekeeping help. As the author ofthis thread you are the only one who can declare it solved. Please click on a message so that others will not be tempted to try and resolve the problem :smileywink:

Thanks

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21