Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
warsashderek
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-14-2012

Norton 360 and Windows 7

I have Norton 360 installed on my PC running Window XP. I tried to install it on a Laptop running Windows 7 and it comes up with message: Norton 360 not compatable with this version of Windows 7.  Any ideas of what I am doing wrong?

Symantec Employee
prasanna_a
Posts: 1,109
Registered: ‎05-09-2011

Re: Norton 360 and Windows 7

Hi,

 

What is the version of N360 you are trying to install?Is it 5.1.0.29 or anything else?

N360 6.0 is due for release and you can keep watching this forum to get the updates on the release of the latest version of Norton 360.

 

Regards,

Prasanna

Visitor
warsashderek
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-14-2012

Re: Norton 360 and Windows 7

Running 360 ver 5- no problem on my PC. Want to use it on a laptop but get message that it is not compatable with Windows ver 7 when I try and install it.  Question is why? Do I need different version for Windows 7?

DavidThomas88
Posts: 885
Topics: 133
Kudos: 51
Solutions: 20
Registered: ‎12-21-2010

Re: Norton 360 and Windows 7

Wareashderek  that not what he ment   he means is what norton 360 uesing  plzs go too about and tell us if you are uesing norton 360 5.2.13  all so norton 360 v5 dos work in window 7   when you in stall  it did you shut down  start did you do all live updates in tell there was no more? 

Symantec Employee
prasanna_a
Posts: 1,109
Registered: ‎05-09-2011

Re: Norton 360 and Windows 7

Hi,

 

When N360 5.0 was released, it did not carry the Win 7 support. It was later patched up mid way when Win 7 got released. If you are trying to install any older version of N360 which do not support N360, then it would rather say incompatible. The setup file which you try to install on Win 7 will have the version number in it. Can you just paste the full setup exe name here?

 

regards,

Prasanna

yank
Posts: 9,844
Kudos: 2,148
Solutions: 501
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Norton 360 and Windows 7

Sorry for jumping in here, but wouldn't  warsashderek be better off trying to download and insatll N 360 from here, rather than worrying about all the other information?  This version should enable them to install N 360 and if more problems - we could go from there?

 

 

 

SUBASH_PRABU
Posts: 2,076
Kudos: 257
Solutions: 90
Registered: ‎05-31-2011

Re: Norton 360 and Windows 7

[ Edited ]

Hi

   Adding to Yank's post it's now www.norton.com/n360s_6  thumbsup.gif   

Super Spyware Scolder
RoloX2
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎10-14-2011

Re: Norton 360 and Windows 7


yank wrote:

Sorry for jumping in here, but wouldn't  warsashderek be better off trying to download and insatll N 360 from here, rather than worrying about all the other information?  


Suuuuuuure!  Fiiiiiiine!  Take the easy way out! 

 

:smileylol:

\\ZAPHOD: Win7x64pro; 4.2GHz Sandy Bridge; 8GB DDR3-2133; Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4, 2xGTX580 SLI; Crucial m4 128GB SSD (64GB RST cache); WD 2002FAEX; Seagate 2TB LP, 500GB 7200.10; Enermax Galaxy Evo 1250W; APC RS1500; Antec 1200 | Beta box \\BEEBLEBROX: Win7x64ult; 3GHz Conroe; 4GB DDR2-900; Gigabyte P965-DQ6v3.3, GTX260; 5x250GB WD Blue 4xRAID0; Enermax Platimax 600w; APC RS1500; Antec 902
Visitor
jrfurg
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-09-2012

Re: Norton 360 and Windows 7

Since I installed Norton 360 version 5, Windows 7 is not working very well. It keeps having to restart

windows 7. Norton needs to get their stuff together or they will be losing customers.

dickevans
Posts: 12,330
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Norton 360 and Windows 7


jrfurg wrote:

Since I installed Norton 360 version 5, Windows 7 is not working very well. It keeps having to restart

windows 7. Norton needs to get their stuff together or they will be losing customers.


Hi,

V6 is the current version and available as a free upgrade. Just click on the word 'support' then 'check for new version' and follow the instructions.

Now, after you do that and have run live update until the program tells you that all updates have been downloaded and installed, tell us about your problems in as much detail as possible. Also, do you have any other security programs installed?

Looking forward to your response. Til then

Stay well and surf safe

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21