Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Newbie
us51608991
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-26-2013

Norton 360 and not button for Temporary Disable

[ Edited ]

I am trying to install a program on my new computer and the instructions say to temporarily disable the Norton 360 but there are no instructions on how to do this.  When I click on the Norton 360 tile, there is no button to push for a Temporary Disable.  So what do I do?  My new computer is an HP ENVY dv7 Notebook

 

 

 

[edit: Clarify subject.]

huwyngr
Posts: 21,048
Topics: 1,003
Kudos: 2,734
Solutions: 368
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Norton 360 \ Windows 8


us51608991 wrote:

I am trying to install a program on my new computer and the instructions say to temporarily disable the Norton 360 but there are no instructions on how to do this.  When I click on the Norton 360 tile, there is no button to push for a Temporary Disable.  So what do I do?  My new computer is an HP ENVY dv7 Notebook


Right mouse clic k on the icon for N360 that should show on the Windows 8 Desktop and select Disable Autoprotect while installing. It will ask you to set a period of time and usually 15 minutes should be enough.

I think you will find that many programs (and even Windows itself for updates) used to ask to that to be done but it usually is not necessary unless the program you are trying to install changes something in a way that Norton thinks is malware.

 

If you do disable make absolutlely certain that what you are installing is clean and free from mallware -- check it carefully with Norton and look around on the internet for warnings.



Hugh
Newbie
us51608991
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-26-2013

Re: Norton 360 \ Windows 8

Thank you for your quick response, however there is no "Disable Autoprotect" button on the Norton 360 tab when I Right click my mounse on the Norton 360 tab.  Any other suggestions, please?

Newbie
us51608991
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-26-2013

Re: Norton 360 \ Windows 8

I am trying to install THE ADOBE PHOTOSHOP ELEMENTS 11  program on my new computer and the instructions say to temporarily disable the Norton 360 but there are no instructions on how to do this.  When I click on the Norton 360 tile, there is no button to push for a Temporary Disable.  So what do I do?  My new computer is the HP ENVY dv7 Notebook.

 

When I right-clicked the Norton 360 icon on my desktop, there was a long list of items, but nothing saying "Temporarily Disable" and anything even remotely related to temporary disable.

 

When I right-clicked the startup TILE, there was no temporary disable, however there was a Delete option.

 

So how do I temporarily disable this Norton 360 program so I can download my Adobe Photoshop Elements 11 program from a DVD disc?

huwyngr
Posts: 21,048
Topics: 1,003
Kudos: 2,734
Solutions: 368
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Norton 360 \ Windows 8


us51608991 wrote:

Thank you for your quick response, however there is no "Disable Autoprotect" button on the Norton 360 tab when I Right click my mounse on the Norton 360 tab.  Any other suggestions, please?


I suspect you are not looking in the right place.

 

I don't have N360 on my Windows 8 but here is a detail of the bottom right corner of the DESKTOP not the STARTSCREEN showing the icon I mean that you should right mouse click on:

 

capture_001_26012013_172101-A.jpg

 

 

and here's a shot of the desktop on my WIndows 8 showing how the menu pops up and you can select Disable AutoProtecte.

 

capture_003_26012013_172603.jpg

 

 

I have asked you not to keep on posting the same problem in new messages -- it wastes everybody's time and does not get you a better or quicker answer.



Hugh