Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Newbie
sayeghs
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-21-2009
Accepted Solution

Norton 360 crashing

Hi,

I keep getting a message saying that ccSvcHst.exe is trying to write to a non-valid memory address. Then 360 crashes. It comes back and then crashes again. In the meantime I am not protected.

I tried uninstalling 360 and installing a fresh copy. Same thing.

Any idea?

 

Does Norton offer support for their products? I have only seen a paying support link!!!!! I just bought the **bleep** thing! Do I have to pay to report a problem with their product??

 

Thanks

Volunteer
yogesh_mohan
Posts: 5,302
Registered: ‎07-29-2008

Re: Norton 360 crashing

Hi sayeghs,

 

Welcome to Norton Community!

 

Do you have any other Security programs or AntiSpyware programs installed?

 

Did you use Norton Removal Tool for uninstallation?

If not, try that first. Download Norton Removal Tool from this LINK. Run the removal tool multiple times(2-3 mins) to make sure that all components are uninstalled completely. Then download the latest version of Norton 360 from the following Support Article and install it:

http://www.symantec.com/norton/support/kb/web_view.jsp?wv_type=public_web&docurl=20090121104844EN

 

Let us know the results. If the problem persists, please get a screenshot of the error message and post it along with your Operating System details. You can use free Online Chat from the below link to contact the Technical Support:

http://www.symantec.com/norton/support/contact/contact.jsp?pvid=cs

 

Yogesh

Visitor
G8oR
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-21-2009

Re: Norton 360 crashing

[ Edited ]

Hello

 

I'm getting the same problem as the OP. As of yesterday, after XP sp3 loads to desktop, at random intervals a window will pop up saying...

 

 

 

 

PS0001.jpg

 

 

 

 

Once you click OK, my N360 icon goes away in my taskbar. The icon appears after awhile again, like it loaded itself back up, but the error window will appear a 2nd and 3rd time randomly. After the 3nd time, it doesn’t reload itself again until you reboot the computer.

 

I've been running Norton 360 flawlessly for 3 years. I noticed yesterday something was pushed through from Norton because my Firefox toolbar appeared again and there was a Norton360 icon on my desktop.

My Norton toolbar has been gone since I installed Firefox v3.5

My problem started yesterday after that rogue push through by Norton.

 

 

I keep a very clean machine, only 32 processes running.I don't run any other security program other then N360.

 

 

My Norton version is:

 Product Name: Norton 360

·  Version: 3.5.2.10

 

 

Any insight?

 

 

 

Here is a HijackThis Log for reference

 

Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 10:08:09 PM, on 8/21/2009
Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\LogMeIn\x86\LogMeInSystray.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\Program Files\LogMeIn\x86\LMIGuardian.exe
C:\Program Files\12noon Alarm++\Alarm.exe
C:\Program Files\AnalogX\Atomic TimeSync\ats.exe
C:\Program Files\LogMeIn\x86\RaMaint.exe
C:\Program Files\LogMeIn\x86\LogMeIn.exe
C:\Program Files\LogMeIn\x86\LMIGuardian.exe
C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\nTune\nTuneService.exe
C:\Program Files\Raxco\PerfectDisk\PDAgent.exe
C:\Program Files\Raxco\PerfectDisk\PDEngine.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe



 

Message Edited by G8oR on 08-21-2009 06:52 PM
Message Edited by G8oR on 08-21-2009 07:08 PM
MehulBhai
Posts: 271
Topics: 22
Kudos: 53
Blog Posts: 0
Ideas: 0
Solutions: 8
Registered: ‎08-21-2009

Re: Norton 360 crashing

Newbie
sayeghs
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-21-2009

Re: Norton 360 crashing

Hi,

 

I had used the removal tool and removed existing Norton products, but only once. Re-installing Norton 360 did not help.

Before trying to do multiple removes as was also suggested, I decided to try the hot fix MehulBhai pointed to.

It worked!!!

I have used it yesterday am, and so far no problems. 360 is running fine!

 

Thanks a lot for your help. If it does crash again I'll let you all know.

 

S.