Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
calta
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-20-2013

Norton 360 does not open?

Hello -

 

I have a problem similar to what some others are seeing. I have Norton 360 running on a Windows 7 machine. A few
days ago I noticed a problem. When I clicked on the icon in the system tray, Norton 360 did not seem to start running.
However, the Norton icon did appear on my taskbar and Windows Task Manager listed Norton 360 as a running
application. When I clicked on the icon on the taskbar, instead of the application window opening and closing, it just
looked like the top bar of a window was moving up and down. When I right clicked on the icon, it looked okay -- I
got a list,of tasks available (open Norton 360, Run QuickScan, Run LiveUpdate, etc.). If I then moved the Task Manager
window around my screen, a white box (the size of the Norton 360 window) would be formed. To me, it looked like
Norton 360 was running, but I just could not see it.

 

This morning, I tried to uninstall and reinstall, but had no success. After the installation, I still could not see the
Norton 360 window. To make things worse, there seems to have been an "Activation" window which I could not
also see. So I really don't know if the reinstall completed. I tried rebooting, but the same problem exists.

 

According to the information from the Contol Panel, I have Norton 360, version 20.4.0.40, installed 07/20/13. Sorry,
but I don't know what version I removed this morning (but I did click on "Check for New Version", and since it opens
a browser window, I could see that it thought I was running the current version).

 

I have a very basic machine (branded as a Compaq) and no other antivirus software running.  Here is some information.

 

OS Name                         Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
Version                             6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
OS Manufacturer             Microsoft Corporation
System Manufacturer     Hewlett-Packard
System Model                  Presario CQ57 Notebook PC
System Type                    x64-based PC
Processor                        AMD E-300 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, 1300 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date          Hewlett-Packard F.34, 7/27/2011
SMBIOS Version              2.7

 

Since the screen on this laptop is broken, I have been using a HP S2031 monitor. The graphic adapter is
a AMD Radeon HD 6310. Here is some information about the graphic software:

 

Driver Packaging Version    8.861.1.2-110705a-122001C-HP
Provider                                   ATI Technologies Inc.
2D Driver Version                  8.01.01.1162
Direct3D Version                   7.14.10.0841
OpenGL Version                    6.14.10.10834
AMD VISION Engine Control Center Version   2011.0705.1115.18310

 

I hope this makes some sense.

 

Thank you for your time and help!

 

 

yank
Posts: 9,834
Kudos: 2,145
Solutions: 501
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Norton 360 does not open?

Hi calta,

 

Thanks for the very informative writeup concerning your situation.  IMHO, so good I Kudoed it!

 

My only question is when you did the uninstall/reinstall this AM, did you use the Norton Removal Tool after removing it via the Control Panel?  Am I correct in understanding that you it the Check for Ne wVersion after you had already removed/reinstalled?

 

I am curious about the "remote monitor" in regards to everything being graphically compatibe between the laptop and the remote monitor.  I am not an expert or have ay experience in that area - hopefully someone can assist in this area if necessary.

Visitor
calta
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-20-2013

Re: Norton 360 does not open?

 

Yank -

 

Thanks for the reply.

 

I did not use the Control Panel to remove the program.  I just used the Norton Removal Tool. 

Should I try again and use the Control Panel to remove it first?

 

As far as the Check for New Version, I did this both before and after the uninstall/reinstall.

 

I have been using the monitor for over a year and have not had any real problems with it.   I could

see and use Norton 360 a couple of weeks ago.

 

 

yank
Posts: 9,834
Kudos: 2,145
Solutions: 501
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Norton 360 does not open?

calta,

 

The normal routine we recommend is to Export your ID Safe data if you use it.  This is so that it can be Imprted if your ID Safe data gets lost in the shuffle.  Then uninstall via Control Panel, reboot, run the Norton Removal Tool, reboot and then reinstall.  I usually suggest going to www.nortonaccont.com, loggin in and selecting the yellow download button associated with your current license.  This will download, install and acitvatea fresh installof  Norton.  You willhave to run LiveUpdate (rebooting when requested) until LiveUpdate responds with the specific words "no updates found".  You will have a current installation at that time.  Once totally updated, reboot one more time, if the UI appears and if you use ID Safe, see if you can open your vault.

 

 

Please let us know how things go.

 

As I said before, not sure of the monitor - and as Lincoln_Brown's situation was - it was after Windows Updates - whichi could have changed something also??? 

 

 

Visitor
calta
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-20-2013

Re: Norton 360 does not open?

 

I'll try to uninstall/resinstall later today or tomorrow.

 

I did have some Windows updates on 7/11/13 -- the timing is about right, but I don't know

exactly when the problem started.

 

Here is a list of the updates:

 

 updates.jpg

Visitor
calta
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-20-2013

Re: Norton 360 does not open?

 

I was finally able to try the recommended uninstall/reinstall method and I am still

having problems.  The uninstall and reinstall both seem to work fine.  After the

reinstall, the Norton 360 icon is on my desktop and system tray.  When I clicked

on the icon on the system tray, the Norton 360 is now on my toolbar as expected.

However, I still do not see the application window.  As I mention earlier, there seems

to be an "Activation" window that I can not see either.  This other window is smaller

than the N360 window and is roughly square shaped.  What is this window for?

 

I was able to determine that I first saw this problem on 07/12 or 07/13.  The Windows

updates were installed on 07/11.  Could there be a connection?

 

yank
Posts: 9,834
Kudos: 2,145
Solutions: 501
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Norton 360 does not open?

Hi calta,

 

Any chance of getting a screenshot of what you are (or what you are not) seeing?

 

Info to post a screenshot:

http://community.norton.com/t5/Forum-Feedback/Forum-Tip-How-to-post-screenshots-in-the-forum/td-p/25...

 

There are a ferw other posts floating around - those in regards to Norton Security Suite (which is a clone of N 360 for Comcast users) and I have asked Norton for some assistance with yours as well as their situations.  One of the NSS situations involved happening just after the Windows Update Tuesday.

 

Do I understand you correctly in that you now have the Norton Toolbar, whereas before you did not?

 

 

Visitor
calta
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-20-2013

Re: Norton 360 does not open?

 

I meant taskbar and not toolbar.  The Norton toolbar disappeared at some during this adventure --

I think when I uninstalled/reinstalled the first time.

 

I forgot to mention that I could not run LiveUpdate since I could not see the window.

 

Here are some screenshots.

 

After I clicked on the Norton 360 icon in the system tray, the N360 icon appears on my taskbar, but

I can not see anything else.  Norton 360 is listed in the Windows Task Manager.  If I move the

Task Manager window around the screen, a white rectangle the size of the N360 window is formed:

 

N360a.jpg

 

 

If I right click on the icon on the taskbar:

 

N360b.jpg

 

 

After I click on the desktop to remove that menu, the rectangle turns black and you can see

a small part of the N360 window.

 

N360c.jpg

 

 

 

I also can not see other windows.  Here I started LiveUpdate.  Since I can move the

rectangles around, you can see one for each.

 

N360d.jpg

 

 

 

I hope this helps!

 

 

yank
Posts: 9,834
Kudos: 2,145
Solutions: 501
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Norton 360 does not open?

Thanks for the screenshots - I must admit, I have never seen anything like that before.

 

I admit I am not very much into the .NET area and not sure if the updates for them could impact your graphics in any way.

 

Does it happen on any other programs - or just N 360? 

 

I am a bit at a lose as it seems your situation may be a bit different than the others on NSS.

 

I'm hoping someone who knows all bout NET and graphic drivers etc comes along.  You donl;t have anothermonitor you can try - just in case something did change nd affected the monitor's settings??

 

 

Visitor
calta
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-20-2013

Re: Norton 360 does not open?

 

Yank -

 

Unfortunately, I don't have a another monitor to test with.  I have not seen

this problem with other applications, but I don't have a lot on this machine. 

 

I do have some old versions of IE and Firefox that I don't really use.  I started

them up and they are not working quite right.  I don't know if it a related problem,

or if it is just because these are old versions.  However,  I am able to at least

see something with both of these.  BTW, Chrome seems to be working fine.

 

 

IE - can see the application window, but not much else:

 

ie.jpg

 

 

Firefox -  can see bits and pieces:

 

firefox.jpg

 

 

Thanks again for all your help.  I do appreciate it!