Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
Pabouk
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

Norton 360 stopped working

Hello there,

a few days ago I updated my Noton to the newest version, v 21, and since then I have one big problem with it. When I start any scan for viruses, Norton stopped working with classic Windows message. I happens if about 8k files are already scanned and the curent scanned "file name" is everytime the same - it says "1 file remaining". Then, if I click "OK" (or somethin like that), Norton restarts, but it says, that some scan is already running, so I cannot try to scan computer again (only system restar helps).

So, any ideas how to solve this? It is strange, that I cannot scan my computer for viruses even I pay for a good antivirus...

Norton reinstall doesn't help btw, I have tried it yesterday (sorry for my english :P ).

 

Pabouk.

Regular Contributor
intesec
Posts: 1,381
Registered: ‎02-11-2013

Re: Norton 360 stopped working

Hi Pabouk

Can you check on the computer clock that the following are correct?

The time?

The day?

The month?

The Year?

The time zone?

Its written like this because in the past people check the time only and one of the others is incorrect and is causing problems for the Norton product.

To check the above click on the clock in the task bar, on the dialogue box that opens click on, change date and time settings.   

 

Check for Norton updates manually or right click the Norton icon in the task bar and click, run live updates, and then recheck until there are no more updates restarting the computer as requested.

 

Try running autofix by clicking the Norton icon, click support, click get support (or right click the Norton icon in the task bar and click Get support) let it run then restart the computer.  It should tell you if any items where fixed.  If you get an error message about MBAM then just click on skip on the error screen.

 

Try a Norton full scan in safe mode (see help and support from the start menu).  Disconnect the internet before booting into safe mode as Norton appears to be disabled in safe mode only allowing a full scan.  can you repost with the result?

 

Conflict in security software can be the cause of various issues even if the security software has been uninstalled the debris left on the system may not have caused problems until an update has been installed.

 

Have you or have you ever had any other security software including any trial security software on the computer including Norton?  If so what is it?  

Can you check in windows add/remove programmes, programme data and programme files for any security software that may have been bundled in a download?

 

What trial security software came with the computer?

 

What is the name of your Norton product and the version number, you can find this by clicking the Norton icon, click support, hover over, about, on the window that opens, the second line down is the version number.

 

What are your computer specifications you can find these by clicking the start menu, click help and support, enter System Summary, click search, click on Click to open System.  For security reasons do not provide what you have named your computer.

 

What is required is,

 

Version of windows (operating system)

Service pack

System type (32bit or 64 bit)

 

 

ATB

 

intesec

 

Contributor
Pabouk
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

Re: Norton 360 stopped working

Thanks for your reply, intesec!

First thing I didn't mentioned before - I have this same problem on two different computers (laptop and desktop).

So, I checked all about the time - it was correct. Downloaded all avaible updates - still doesn't work. Autofix didn't found any problem with my Norton.

Now, I'm running the full scan in safe mode on my desktop and it seems it works correctly - it's checking "user datas" now (previously it crashes even before "user datas" were checked).

I have never installed any other security software even "boost" or antispyware software. I have a quite clear Windows installation (reinstalled 5 months ago).

I'm running 21.0.2.1 version of Norton 360 product. I had no problems with older version (20.x.x.x) before, but now it seems something happend with this new version.

 

The last thing:

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium (Professional on my desktop)

        Service Pack 1

        64 bit

 

Thanks for any other advices how to correct my scanning (without using safe mode for sure :-) ).

 

Pabouk.

Regular Contributor
intesec
Posts: 1,381
Registered: ‎02-11-2013

Re: Norton 360 stopped working

Hi Pabouk

If the scan in safe mode completes successfully then try a full Norton scan in normal mode, can you then repost with the results.

 

 

ATB

 

intesec

 

Contributor
Pabouk
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

Re: Norton 360 stopped working

Ok, I thought the scan will be completed, but at the end some error appears: "Norton Internet Security Sanner Module stopped working...." - nothing but close program is possible to do.

I think all data were scanned, definitely most of them, if not all.

But I'm back on the beginning... my antivirus isn't working properly :/

 

But one think I note: if I let Norton scan the computer in its inactivity, no error appears and it no longer shows orange/red exclamation mark on Norton tray icon.

 

I have a czech version of Norton 360 btw, if some problem could be here?

Regular Contributor
intesec
Posts: 1,381
Registered: ‎02-11-2013

Re: Norton 360 stopped working

Hi Pabouk

The czech version of Norton is the same as any other version as far as the security content of the programme is concerned, the language on the user interface’s is the only difference.

 

Currently there is a new version release see the link below and some people have been posting with different problems.  Check out Tony_Weiss’s post on the link below from the first few posts at the top of the Norton 360 forum page.

 

http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-360/Product-Update-21-1-of-Norton-360/td-p/1034149

 

The person who started the tread below was having a similar issue to yours, you might like to try yank’s suggestion post 22 on page 3.  or Try a Norton full scan in safe mode with networking (see help and support from the start menu) this time.  Disconnect the internet before booting into safe mode as Norton appears to be disabled in safe mode only allowing a full scan.  can you repost with the result?

 

http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-360/Norton-360-Scan-Error-3038-104/td-p/1032903

 

Are you clicking the scan button on the Norton user interface or are you setting the scan to start automatically from a schedule task?

 

What issues are you having with the antivirus?

 

 

ATB

 

intesec

Contributor
Pabouk
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

Re: Norton 360 stopped working

Well, I have tried the scan without scanning compressed files and nothing changed, still getting the "stopped working" window. In safe mode it's still the same too.

I always start the scan from user interface, but if I let my computer some time in inactivity, I think the scan runs properly with no errors (I think because of the fact that orange/red exclamation mark on tray icon dissapers and it no longer needs me to set the scan manualy - but I can't prove this, how do I find that the scan in inactivity was successful?).

 

So I think I will just wait for that new patch to come out (21.1.0.18) and hope that it will help with my problems (I can't get it via LiveUpdates right now). Hope it will come out in a few days.

 

Pabouk.

Regular Contributor
intesec
Posts: 1,381
Registered: ‎02-11-2013

Re: Norton 360 stopped working

Hi Pabouk

If you disable the screen saver then go to the power options and set

Turn off the display to never.

Put the computer to sleep to never.

In Norton turn off automatic updates and pulse updates.

Turn off ant other automatic updates you have.

Restart the computer.

Start the scan manually.

This will allow you to see the scan complete.

 

Did you try the scan in safe mode with networking?

 

Navigate to idle time and turn it off and try the scan again.

 

 

ATB

 

intesec

Contributor
Pabouk
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

Re: Norton 360 stopped working

Well, first thing - the new patch mentioned above was aviable for download via LiveUpdate today... so I try to scan with this patch - still getting the same error. Then I tried it with updates turned off - no change again. Scanning after an inactivity scan wasn't successful too. Safemode with or without networking gives me the same error result.

 

But I noticed one thing - when I set a quick scan - it crashes almost immediately (about 11k files checked) but a full scan scans the whole computer (about 580k on my desktop) and crashes at its very end.

I have attached screenshots of the errors (as a link to images uploaded on my dropbox) I'm talking about the whole time (firs one is for a quick scan, second for the full scan).

 

https://www.dropbox.com/s/lb26sfpaosbad6r/Norton.PNG

https://www.dropbox.com/s/fa2i7h3sbn5ftyo/norton2.png

 

So, any more ideas, if even the newest patch didn't help?

Regular Contributor
intesec
Posts: 1,381
Registered: ‎02-11-2013

Re: Norton 360 stopped working

Hi Pabouk

What is the version number of the Norton product as the upgrade comes in two patches, you can find this by clicking the Norton icon, click support, hover over, about, on the window that opens, the second line down is the version number.

 

Some scanning issues can be caused by bad sectors on the hard disc.

 

Try running check disc (see help and support from the start menu) for errors.  It’s requested in normal mode and starts on restarting the computer, it can take a long time so be sure mains power is connected.

 

 

ATB

 

intesec