Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Regular Contributor
ghosty
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Norton 360 won't install

Hi,

 

I'm trying to install Norton 360 but I keep getting a message saying 'Norton Autorun  is not responding'.  My lappy has been very slow for nearly a week now, but I didn't think it would affect this.

 

Please, does anyone have any advice or suggestions for me?

Spyware Scolder
BullSpit
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎02-23-2012

Re: Norton 360 won't install


ghosty wrote:

Hi,

 

I'm trying to install Norton 360 but I keep getting a message saying 'Norton Autorun  is not responding'.  My lappy has been very slow for nearly a week now, but I didn't think it would affect this.

 

Please, does anyone have any advice or suggestions for me?


Do you have any other anti virus or security software installed?

If so, it would be best to remove them prior to installing N360.

 

I would also suggest downloading CCleaner and installing it. Before you run it, create a new text file, paste the following in it:

 

[Options]
Language=1033
WINDOW_LEFT=538
WINDOW_TOP=258
Include2=PATH|C:\Users\Your User Name\AppData\Local\Temp\|*.*|RECURSE
(App)Custom Folders=True
BackupPrompt=0
MSG_CONFIRMCLEAN=False
WINDOW_WIDTH=832
WINDOW_HEIGHT=495
WINDOW_MAX=0
UpdateKey=05/30/2012 04:29:41 AM
Include3=PATH|C:\Users\Your User Name\AppData\Roaming\Macromedia\Flash Player\#SharedObjects\|*.*|RECURSE
SkipUAC=1
Include4=PATH|C:\Windows\Temp\|*.*|RECURSE

 

Be sure and insert your name where the bold text is.

 

Save it as CCleaner.ini. Put it in your CCleaner directory.

 

Run it and let it clean house for you. I would also run the registry cleaner it has.

 

Reboot and see if N360 will install for you.

Super Spam Squasher
cgoldman
Posts: 2,929
Registered: ‎06-25-2008

Re: Norton 360 won't install


ghosty wrote:

Hi,

 

I'm trying to install Norton 360 but I keep getting a message saying 'Norton Autorun  is not responding'.  My lappy has been very slow for nearly a week now, but I didn't think it would affect this.

 

Please, does anyone have any advice or suggestions for me?


Where are you installing from? What is the source from which you are installing.

If you lap top has been slow and you have not installed Norton 360 it is possible you are already infected. Try to download malwarebytes, install, update and run.

 

 

Regular Contributor
ghosty
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Re: Norton 360 won't install

Hi, Bullspit.

 

No, I don't have any other AV or security software installed.  Have tried CC cleaner.. still no go I'm afraid.  Thanks for your reply and help.

Regular Contributor
ghosty
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Re: Norton 360 won't install

Hi, Cgoldman.  I am trying to install from disk.  Have since discovered that if I go to file iexplore and run as administrator everything runs just fine.. problem being, I have to do this manually everytime I log on.. how can I configure this so it does it automatically? 

 

Also, I have some errors from source: Service Control Manager (User) but when I click on 'run as administrator' it brings up a list and I'm not sure what to look for.. as I'm thinking (clutching at straws) that something in this is preventing me from installing Norton.

 

 

Regular Contributor
ghosty
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Re: Norton 360 won't install

Sorry, Bullspit.  I should've mentioned I'm currently using NIS 2012 19.8.0.14.  Am reluctant to uninstall it first so I can 'try' and install 360, I think then I would be left with no AV!

Regular Contributor
ghosty
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Re: Norton 360 won't install

I'm at a loss.  Tried following Harry P's instructions in a similar post.. no joy. £40 wasted. :(((

Spyware Scolder
BullSpit
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎02-23-2012

Re: Norton 360 won't install

First, you should remove NIS 2012 with this: https://www-secure.symantec.com/norton-support/jsp/help-solutions.jsp?ct=us&lg=en&product=home&pvid=...

 

Then, I would do a system file scan, since it sounds like other things are being strange with your OS.

 

Go to start, and find the "Run" command. (I customize my start menu so I forget exactly where it is.) Type in: sfc /scannow . Hit enter and let it run. It might prompt you to reboot.

I would also run a full scan with Malwarebytes antimalware, as suggested earlier.

 

Then try to your 360 install.

 

Regular Contributor
ghosty
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Re: Norton 360 won't install

The sfc /scannow found some corrupt files but said it could not repair all.  Have scanned with MBAM and Norton.. nothing detected.  Am really reluctant to uninstall my current Norton product as I have a feeling that that won't make any difference and then I'll just be left with poopy Windows protection.  Sigh I just don't know.

 

Have tried chkdsk and disk cleanup and other things.. have tried running Norton Start Autorun as administrator, nothing has worked.  Thanks for your help, though.

Super Spam Squasher
cgoldman
Posts: 2,929
Registered: ‎06-25-2008

Re: Norton 360 won't install


ghosty wrote:

Have tried chkdsk .


 

You dont say what files could not be repaired with sfc? Personally I would not have suggested sfc but as you have run it, I would run it a second time and see what results you get. As to chkdsk please advise exactly how you ran this and the selection of options are all important. I would not run disk optimizer.