Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Stu Rootkit Eradicator
Rootkit Eradicator
Stu
Posts: 5,210
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Norton Security Suite for Comcast

All please have a look at the post from yogesh. there is really no one to blame for anything.

 

You will be protected as long as Comcast uses Symantec

"All that we are is the result of what we have thought"
Regular Visitor
evie210
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-28-2010

Re: Norton Security Suite for Comcast

[ Edited ]

We'll have to monitor the situation to find out what happens as the days remaining get down to 1 or 0.

 

FWIW, Before I installed Comcast offered Norton, I did NOT use McAfee. Instead I used a free firewall and antivirus, both of worked well and I was pleased with them.

 

I used Revo Uninstaller, advanced mode, to uninstall both of them. After I deleted the registry entries, folders, and files associated with those programs, I went through my system with a fine tooth comb looking for any leftovers. I found none.

To equate the issue with McAfee doesn't wash with me.

 

It's currently telling me that I have 35 days left on the subscription. IF it should run out, IF I am told I need to reinstall, Norton will be off my computer forever.

 

Here is a copy of the chat I had with Norton:

 

From online chat with Norton: (the chat indicates I have 31 days left. In the process of troubleshooting some other things, I uninstalled Norton for a brief period of time, then reinstalled. The 45 day count started over)

 

Norton (Sat Feb 13 06:44:24 CST 2010)>Please make sure that your product is activated. You can check if the product is activated by checking on the Norton Interface.

 

Me (Sat Feb 13 08:45:36 CST 2010)>It is activated, but I'll check again.

 

Norton (Sat Feb 13 06:45:37 CST 2010)>If you see an "Activate Now" on the bottom right corner of the Norton Security Suite main interface, it is not yet activated. Just click on Activate now to activate the product.

 

Me (Sat Feb 13 08:46:41 CST 2010)>it's activated. I don't see Activate Now 

 

Norton (Sat Feb 13 06:47:21 CST 2010)>Oh, I see.

 

Norton (Sat Feb 13 06:48:49 CST 2010)>I think it's just an installation bug. If the Norton Features are all checked or check mark on the Norton interface, the product is functioning well.

 

Me (Sat Feb 13 08:49:49 CST 2010)>I was also thinking it is a bug. I'll monitor it and see what happens in 31 days.

 

Norton

(Sat Feb 13 06:51:04 CST 2010)>I will escalate this also to the Product Development Team to let them aware of this bug.

Now for a question: was this bug actually escalated to the Product Development Team?

 

delphinium
Posts: 9,862
Kudos: 2,964
Solutions: 293
Registered: ‎11-21-2008

Re: Norton Security Suite for Comcast

[ Edited ]

This may seem like a dumb question, but you should know what troubleshooting software problems is like when you don't have access to either the machine or the software.  Did you download this version directly from Comcast or from the Symantec website?

 

The Comcast version should not have any subscription days on it, but the download from Symantec will because it is not the same version.  Please check under Help & Support>about and give us the version number.  As well, if you have accidentally got the trial version of N360, you will not be able to download it again.

 

Also, since we are a user to user help forum, we have no way to know what was escalated where.  The information may have been forwarded to Comcast Support.

 

Comcast Support

Under certain circumstances profanity provides relief denied even to prayer.
Mark Twain
Regular Visitor
evie210
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-28-2010

Re: Norton Security Suite for Comcast

[ Edited ]

I most certainly did NOT download from Symantec.

I DID download from the site COMCAST has set up to download the Comcast branded version.

I am well aware of the difference when it comes to WHERE to download from. So are the others who are curious about this issue. The download page for Norton has COMCAST all over it. That would be our first clue that we were indeed getting the version offered by Comcast.  The second clue would be when we open up Norton and it tells us

"PROVIDED BY COMCAST".

The only way we could "accidentally" download the trial version is if that was what Comcast is offering, and I doubt that is the case.

 

You are correct that the Comcast version should NOT have subscription days on it, but the fact remains that it DOES have it.

 

I should also mention that last week my husband got a brand new, custom built Not a Dell, dude system.  No previous firewall or antivirus on it. Therefore, nothing to remove before I installed Comcast offered Norton on it. And yes, he also sees subscription days remaining.

 

We are pointing out some kind of bug, and I feel that no one is taking this seriously. All we really want to know is WHAT HAPPENS WHEN IT SAYS DAYS REMAINING 0.

 

I suppose that since Norton cannot tell us what this is all about, we'll have to resort to that time honored method of finding out-let someone else tell us what happens when it reaches 0 days.

 

I realize that you cannot see what we are seeing. Please believe us when we say we do have the Comcast version and we are seeing this.

floplot
Posts: 10,576
Topics: 215
Kudos: 2,051
Solutions: 365
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: Norton Security Suite for Comcast

Hello evie210

 

I think this issue about the Comcast Security Suite having a count-down that is less than a year is going to have to wait till perhaps a Norton Employee (Names in Red) who has some knowledge about this Comcast product can give you an answer. This is a new product which has just started being available thru Comcast and we as users in this Forum really have no knowledge about the program unless the user is a Comcast customer.

 

We welcome the Comcast users of the Comcast Security Suite here in the Forum, but we don't know all the answers. We don't know if Norton actually made the product for Comcast or if Comcast made the product using the technology from Norton. I saw on the Comcast website that it said powered by Symantec or Norton. I can't remember which now since I'm not looking at the site. I know with other products if it says it's powered by a company, that means it is using the technology of the other company, but the other company didn't make that product.  I don't know if that is the case here or not. What is evident though is if and when version 4 becomes available to Comcast users, that version will be on the Comcast site just as the download for the Security Suite is now.

 

Since Comcast used a different product previously, how did updates work with that company? I'm not saying it will work the same way as with the other company, but did Comcast provide updates to the other company's Security Suite?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




delphinium
Posts: 9,862
Kudos: 2,964
Solutions: 293
Registered: ‎11-21-2008

Re: Norton Security Suite for Comcast

Sorry evie210, I don't mean any insult or offense.  These are just standard troubleshooting questions as we try to familiarize ourselves with your product.  Most of us can't even download your version because we are not Comcast customers.  We are flying blind here, and any information you can provide will also help other Comcast customers.

Under certain circumstances profanity provides relief denied even to prayer.
Mark Twain
huwyngr
Posts: 21,598
Topics: 1,033
Kudos: 2,815
Solutions: 375
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Norton Security Suite for Comcast

[ Edited ]

Evie,

 

As delphinium and others have said we are flying blind here since we not only don't have the COMCAST version but we can't download it unless we subscribe to COMCAST but everyone is trying to help you and the other COMCAST users.

 

Although you absolutely right that COMCAST seem to be delivering a Norton product (I say seem for the above reasons, not because I doubt you in anyway) it has nevertheless been altered from the standard version that we know if only by having COMCATS's name on it but also I understand by not offering on-line storage and also by not being the current version.

 

Since this is a free version from COMCAST that they have ordered from Norton if there is something wrong with the essential part of a free version -- that it does not count down a non-existent subscription -- that really is a question that you have to put to COMCAST themselves even if they then have to talk with Norton about it and get something changed.

 

I don't see anywhere in the messages, and I've just reread them, any indication that you have asked COMCAST who I understand do have a user's forum accessible via their website (and again which we cannot check out since I, at least, don't subscribe to COMCAST for service). Could you please use any route they have for service questions and ask them why this is happening and, please, let us know what they say.

 

As a place where users help users we want to be able to help you and others but when it is something we have no experience of and no way of getting it with the best will in the world we can't do anything about this problem which does not relate to the use of Norton 360 as a security system. If it did we could say "Well with the version we know if you go here and do that then you should be able to alter its behavior" but when it is "Why does a clock count down when it is free for the duration of my COMCAST subscription" there is no way we can help you with a direct answer.



Hugh
yank
Posts: 9,840
Kudos: 2,147
Solutions: 501
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Norton Security Suite for Comcast


huwyngr wrote:

 

I don't see anywhere in the messages, and I've just reread them, any indication that you have asked COMCAST who I understand do have a user's forum accessible via their website (and again which we cannot check out since I, at least, don't subscribe to COMCAST for service). Could you please use any route they have for service questions and ask them why this is happening and, please, let us know what they say.

 


huwyngr,

DUH!!!  I have never considered you not having access to the COMCAST Help Forums.   How about a test?

 

Go to www.comcast.net, click on  Help, then under Resources on right hand side about 1/3 of the way down click on Help and Support Forums.  Of course I am logged in automatically, but hopefully you will be able to get to the COMCAST Help and Support Forums page and then look under the High Speed Internet Topic and select Security and Anti-Virus.  There you will find posts about the CNSS!

 

If you can not reach this forum that sheds more light on your problems trying to reply to our concerns!  If you can;t rach them, that's a shame.

delphinium
Posts: 9,862
Kudos: 2,964
Solutions: 293
Registered: ‎11-21-2008

Re: Norton Security Suite for Comcast

yank:

 

Your help and support forums require a sign in.  I think I posted that somewhere else, God only knows where now.  Those of us that don't use Comcast can't get there from here.

Under certain circumstances profanity provides relief denied even to prayer.
Mark Twain
yank
Posts: 9,840
Kudos: 2,147
Solutions: 501
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Norton Security Suite for Comcast


delphinium wrote:

yank:

 

Your help and support forums require a sign in.  I think I posted that somewhere else, God only knows where now.  Those of us that don't use Comcast can't get there from here.


 

It doesn't matter where you posted it,  but knowing that now, just makes it harder for you to help us out!   That may explain some perceived animosity from both sides. :smileywink: