Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
kennyc
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Accepted Solution

Norton Security Suite (from Comcast) has stopped working/starting

I only noticed this yesterday. It has been running fine for the last year or so. 

 

I am NOT on a lenovo system

 

This is a PowerSpec system from MicroCenter running win 7- 64

 

I installed Microsoft Security Essentials several months back and as far as I know they have been working fine together.

 

Suddenly Norton will not run automatically or if I manually try to bring up "Liveupdate"

 

Should I try reinstalling?

 

I also dug a bit deeper and found that the N360 process was not running. I started it manually from the Task Manager and was then able to bring up Norton Security Suite and am currrently running a full scan. The thing unknown at this point is if it will be the same (e.g. not running) when I restart my system.

 

Any help or direction would be appreciated.

peterweb
Posts: 9,186
Kudos: 1,462
Solutions: 366
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Norton Security Suite (from Comcast) has stopped working/starting

It is recommended to only have one security program with real time components running at the same time.

 

You should choose between Norton and Microsoft, and fully remove the other using the appropriate removal utility.

 

If you wish to remove Microsoft Security Essentials, see the following Microsoft information.    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2435760

 

If you wish to remove Norton, download and run the Norton Removal tool from   www.norton.com/nrt   Be sure to choose the version for an ISP install.

 

 

 


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.
Visitor
kennyc
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-07-2012

Re: Norton Security Suite (from Comcast) has stopped working/starting

Hmmm, okay, thanks. Appreciate you quick response.

peterweb
Posts: 9,186
Kudos: 1,462
Solutions: 366
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Norton Security Suite (from Comcast) has stopped working/starting


kennyc wrote:

Hmmm, okay, thanks. Appreciate you quick response.


 

When you have more than one security program installed, they can fight over which program will handle malware. This slows down your system as they fight for system resources. They can also detect each others actions as malicious, and try to disable the other. Then that one thinks it is being attacked, and will try to shut down the other one. etc, etc, etc,

 

If you stay with only one, you save this troubling situation.

 

We are here if you need us.

 

 

 


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.
Visitor
kennyc
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-07-2012

Re: Norton Security Suite (from Comcast) has stopped working/starting

I suppose it's possible I inadvertently 'enabled' real-time scans in the Microsoft Security Essentials. I've just disabled it, so hopefully that will address the problem.

 

Thanks Again.

 

peterweb
Posts: 9,186
Kudos: 1,462
Solutions: 366
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Norton Security Suite (from Comcast) has stopped working/starting


kennyc wrote:

I suppose it's possible I inadvertently 'enabled' real-time scans in the Microsoft Security Essentials. I've just disabled it, so hopefully that will address the problem.

 

Thanks Again.

 


Let us know how it goes.

 

 

 

 


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.