Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
Kazhw3
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-04-2012

Norton online backup not activating.

I'm using Norton 360 and previously used online backup without any problems. Since updating to the most recent version I am unable to activate online storage backup. 

I can access my previously saved files by logging onto Norton online backup.

My account status says 'online backup not activated'. I've tried clicking onto -restore files-refresh option-then clicked onto activate online storage, but nothing happens. I've also uninstall and reinstall but still unable to activate online storage backup.

My Norton account page shows 2GB of online storage available while the online backup storage shows 23% of 4GB used.

Can someone please help?

Regular Contributor
Bob_Eyster
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎05-02-2011

Re: Norton online backup not activating.


Kazhw3 wrote:

I'm using Norton 360 and previously used online backup without any problems. Since updating to the most recent version I am unable to activate online storage backup. 

I can access my previously saved files by logging onto Norton online backup.

My account status says 'online backup not activated'. I've tried clicking onto -restore files-refresh option-then clicked onto activate online storage, but nothing happens. I've also uninstall and reinstall but still unable to activate online storage backup.

My Norton account page shows 2GB of online storage available while the online backup storage shows 23% of 4GB used.

Can someone please help?


Hi Kaztiw3,

I'm having the same problem, I'm running Win8 Pro. Which version of Windows are you using?

 

 

Thanks
Bob_Eyster
Windows 8.1 Pro 64Bit Full Version,N360 v21...
Contributor
drifter322
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎11-12-2012

Re: Norton online backup not activating.

After using online backup on a previous computer, I have not been able to activate it on this new P/C from the first day I installed it. All I get is "We are unable to proceed with online account at this time. Try again later". I've tried two different suggested fixes: logging out of Norton Account, and removing the license. Neither worked. So here I am, unable to use online backup at all, and no help in sight. In various posts to others, they want you to uninstall it and reinstall, but what difference would that make? For me, it would make none, as online backup won't activate from the very first day right after installing it the first time.

Regular Contributor
Bob_Eyster
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎05-02-2011

Re: Norton online backup not activating.


drifter322 wrote:

After using online backup on a previous computer, I have not been able to activate it on this new P/C from the first day I installed it. All I get is "We are unable to proceed with online account at this time. Try again later". I've tried two different suggested fixes: logging out of Norton Account, and removing the license. Neither worked. So here I am, unable to use online backup at all, and no help in sight. In various posts to others, they want you to uninstall it and reinstall, but what difference would that make? For me, it would make none, as online backup won't activate from the very first day right after installing it the first time.


You're right, it looks like there's no help in sight. I started a new thread on this subject and only got one reply and haven't heard from then since.

 

Thanks
Bob_Eyster
Windows 8.1 Pro 64Bit Full Version,N360 v21...
Contributor
drifter322
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎11-12-2012

Re: Norton online backup not activating.

I have either started or posted in 4 or 5 different threads without an answer that works. And from reading other threads, it seems the most common suggested solution is to uninstall and reinstall the product. That's no solution for me, as online backup has refused to activate from the first minute after I installed Norton 360 on this P/C. As well, I have to wonder about the viability of a product that has to be uninstalled and reinstalled over and over and over in order to keep it working. If one has to do that, then the software as written has serious bugs and needs a serious fix to overcome these problems that are so common to so many people.

 

Merely wanting to activate backup isn't a complicated thing, but has seemingly become impossible for me. 

Super Contributor
cohbraz
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎09-02-2011

Re: Norton online backup not activating.

Try this:

 

From the main Norton 360 interface, click on Manage, then click Log Out.

Now, click the backup module. It will ask you to log in. Enter your Norton password and it should activate your account.

Corey
Regular Contributor
Bob_Eyster
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎05-02-2011

Re: Norton online backup not activating.


drifter322 wrote:

I have either started or posted in 4 or 5 different threads without an answer that works. And from reading other threads, it seems the most common suggested solution is to uninstall and reinstall the product. That's no solution for me, as online backup has refused to activate from the first minute after I installed Norton 360 on this P/C. As well, I have to wonder about the viability of a product that has to be uninstalled and reinstalled over and over and over in order to keep it working. If one has to do that, then the software as written has serious bugs and needs a serious fix to overcome these problems that are so common to so many people.

 

Merely wanting to activate backup isn't a complicated thing, but has seemingly become impossible for me. 


Hey, Just found something interesting;

The Restore Online Files using browser does not work for me using IE10. Out of all the time I have accessed Online Backup using IE10, this time I received a message saying "Online Backup is not compatible with my browser. I'm using IE10. I wonder if this has anything to do with 360 not be able to access/Activate Online Backup?

 

Thanks
Bob_Eyster
Windows 8.1 Pro 64Bit Full Version,N360 v21...
Contributor
drifter322
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎11-12-2012

Re: Norton online backup not activating.


cohbraz wrote:

Try this:

 

From the main Norton 360 interface, click on Manage, then click Log Out.

Now, click the backup module. It will ask you to log in. Enter your Norton password and it should activate your account.


I already tried that, several times. Tried removing the license too. Didn't work.

Contributor
drifter322
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎11-12-2012

Re: Norton online backup not activating.


Bob_Eyster wrote:

drifter322 wrote:

I have either started or posted in 4 or 5 different threads without an answer that works. And from reading other threads, it seems the most common suggested solution is to uninstall and reinstall the product. That's no solution for me, as online backup has refused to activate from the first minute after I installed Norton 360 on this P/C. As well, I have to wonder about the viability of a product that has to be uninstalled and reinstalled over and over and over in order to keep it working. If one has to do that, then the software as written has serious bugs and needs a serious fix to overcome these problems that are so common to so many people.

 

Merely wanting to activate backup isn't a complicated thing, but has seemingly become impossible for me. 


Hey, Just found something interesting;

The Restore Online Files using browser does not work for me using IE10. Out of all the time I have accessed Online Backup using IE10, this time I received a message saying "Online Backup is not compatible with my browser. I'm using IE10. I wonder if this has anything to do with 360 not be able to access/Activate Online Backup?

 


I'm using IE9.

I noticed something else today that I didn't before. I have Win 7 Pro, and it came preloaded with two versions of IE9, a 32 bit version and a 64 bit version. I've been using the 32 all along. So I launched the 64, and it looked the same except that the Norton Toolbar is missing. I didn't bother digging deeper to figure out why. Right clicking on the toolbar area didn't show it as available.

 

Visitor
Kazhw3
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-04-2012

Re: Norton online backup not activating.

Hi Bob_Eyster. Thanks for your reply. I'm running winows XP.