Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Regular Contributor
devnulllore
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎09-30-2011

Rename it "Norton 360 Reboot"

Another thing that is driving me crazy is how many times this thing wants me to reboot after an update. Since I reinstalled a week ago I have had to reboot 17 times after I run Live Update. What's up with that?

dev
-------
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something” Plato 424/423 BC – 348/347 BC
dickevans
Posts: 12,341
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Rename it "Norton 360 Reboot"


Developers wrote:

Another thing that is driving me crazy is how many times this thing wants me to reboot after an update. Since I reinstalled a week ago I have had to reboot 17 times after I run Live Update. What's up with that?


Hi,

It sounds like you reinstalled from a CD. Part of your thanks for so many reboots must be given to the FF folks as their new releases have required changes in your Norton program to accommodate their changes. The balance may all be Norton's continuous efforts to improve the program and make sure that it is providing the best possible protection.

Once the program is installed and running correctly it should not require a reboot all that often. The exception to that statement is based on no serious changes in the other programs you are running. If they change then it is possible that the update that accommodates that change will require you to reboot.

There are also reports that the sequence of updates has not arrived at the users computer in order. When this happens a reboot is sometimes necessary. There is also the fact that some updates can only be installed after one of those before it has been installed. Another time that reboot is required.

This may not help much but is the way things are.

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21
huwyngr
Posts: 21,615
Topics: 1,034
Kudos: 2,820
Solutions: 376
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Rename it "Norton 360 Reboot"


dickevans wrote:

Developers wrote:

Another thing that is driving me crazy is how many times this thing wants me to reboot after an update. Since I reinstalled a week ago I have had to reboot 17 times after I run Live Update. What's up with that?


Dick -- Do you have an auto spell checker? <g>

 

I see and quote:


devnulllore wrote:

Another thing that is driving me crazy is how many times this thing wants me to reboot after an update. Since I reinstalled a week ago I have had to reboot 17 times after I run Live Update. What's up with that?


 

 

 



Hugh
dickevans
Posts: 12,341
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Rename it "Norton 360 Reboot"

Hugh,

Yes, I have one but I guess I don't use if as often as I should :smileysad:

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21
Norton Fighter
Krusty13
Posts: 6,618
Registered: ‎05-31-2011

Re: Rename it "Norton 360 Reboot"

Hi all,

With the coming new year I wanted a clean install of windows etc  5 days ago,  and I also installed Norton 360 off a CD.  It took about 7 or 8 restarts,  certainly not 17.

Just my $0.02.

Cheers,  Dave.

W W W  =  Wild Wild West.    Be careful out there!

Regular Contributor
snipes1988
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎07-08-2009

Re: Rename it "Norton 360 Reboot"

When I re-installed it from a CD a couple of weeks ago, I had to restart about 5 times. It still wanted me to reboot, so this time I waited about an hour, shutdown my computer, and then turned it on. Then it stopped asking me to restart :)

Maybe you should not restart when it says to, but shutdown your computer when you go to sleep.

yank
Posts: 9,851
Kudos: 2,154
Solutions: 501
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Rename it "Norton 360 Reboot"


snipes1988 wrote:

When I re-installed it from a CD a couple of weeks ago, I had to restart about 5 times. It still wanted me to reboot, so this time I waited about an hour, shutdown my computer, and then turned it on. Then it stopped asking me to restart :)

Maybe you should not restart when it says to, but shutdown your computer when you go to sleep.


You actually did a reboot (just waited an hour to do it) and perhaps that was the last reboot required.  So you really did nothing different - just lucked out without another reboot required. 

 

Or perhaps you did not do another liveupdate and see that another reboot may have been required.

huwyngr
Posts: 21,615
Topics: 1,034
Kudos: 2,820
Solutions: 376
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Rename it "Norton 360 Reboot"

I was wondering how the Quote thing on the Forums changed the OP's name?



Hugh