Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Newbie
Stikey
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-26-2012

Restore to a new computer

I have backed up my old Windows Vista 32 bit machine with Norton 360, and plan to restore it onto my new Windows 7 64 bit machine.  Will this work OK, or are there things I need to watch out for?

peterweb
Posts: 9,068
Kudos: 1,441
Solutions: 359
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Restore to a new computer


Stikey wrote:

I have backed up my old Windows Vista 32 bit machine with Norton 360, and plan to restore it onto my new Windows 7 64 bit machine.  Will this work OK, or are there things I need to watch out for?


Welcome Stikey

 

If you have a new physical PC, you will have to release the old license, unless you have installations left on your subscription.

Either way, the easiest way to get the installation is to log into your Norton Account from the new PC and click on Download. This will download and install a pre activated copy of 360 for you. Be sure to run LiveUpdate a couple of times, rebooting as necessary, until no updates are available.

 

If you need the old installation released, you can contact Support by online chat here.


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.
huwyngr
Posts: 21,736
Topics: 1,038
Kudos: 2,842
Solutions: 378
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Restore to a new computer

Stikey,

 

Before you download / vinsteall onto your new computer -- did it come like most new computers with a trial installation of a security application? Many but not all come with something from Norton and unless it is identical with what you are planning to install you need to uninstall it AND clean up with a special tool that you can download from the associated website.

 

So let us know what was preinstalled on the new PC ... unless of course you built it yourself and know it is clean!



Hugh
Newbie
Stikey
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-26-2012

Re: Restore to a new computer

Thanks for the advice re installing N360 on my new computer. My real question though, is whether the restore on my new computer will work properly. I will be restoring my Identity safe passwords, firefox bookmarks and cookies, outlook .pst files, pictures, music, m'soft office files, the works. Are there any gochas' that I need to look out for?

peterweb
Posts: 9,068
Kudos: 1,441
Solutions: 359
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Restore to a new computer


Stikey wrote:

Thanks for the advice re installing N360 on my new computer. My real question though, is whether the restore on my new computer will work properly. I will be restoring my Identity safe passwords, firefox bookmarks and cookies, outlook .pst files, pictures, music, m'soft office files, the works. Are there any gochas' that I need to look out for?


There should be no problems doing what you list.

The only problem could be the available installs for 360.


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.
huwyngr
Posts: 21,736
Topics: 1,038
Kudos: 2,842
Solutions: 378
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Restore to a new computer

Stikey,

 

"Restore" has some special meetings in computing including using a facility built into many computers to "Restore to factory condition"  or using a program to make an Image of a drive so you can Restore it after a problem

 

I realize you are talking about a computer with a different version of Windows so yes you can Reinstall N 360 on the new computer and if it was a 3 PC version with 2 activations left you will have no problem except how much time there is left on your existing subscription.

 

Use the Download button on your MyNortonAccount and you will get the most uptodate download version but run LiveUpdate Manually several times with a restart inbetween until it tells you that you are fully uptodate.

 

If you are no longer using your old machine you can liberate your activation on it if you want to by locating it in MyNortonAccount and clicking on the Dustbin -- this is NEW! If you are discontinuing and that is your only computer with N360 on it do the dustbin before installing on the new computer and then you won't get confused between computers and cancel lthe wrong one!

 

Let us know if you are keeping several computers activated and we can tell you about Norton Management that allows you to give them user friendly names to identify them more easily.



Hugh
peterweb
Posts: 9,068
Kudos: 1,441
Solutions: 359
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Restore to a new computer


huwyngr wrote:

 

If you are no longer using your old machine you can liberate your activation on it if you want to by locating it in MyNortonAccount and clicking on the Dustbin -- this is NEW! If you are discontinuing and that is your only computer with N360 on it do the dustbin before installing on the new computer and then you won't get confused between computers and cancel lthe wrong one!

 

 



Hugh

I do not see the 'Dustbin' in MyNortonAccount. Is this not just in Norton Management?


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.
huwyngr
Posts: 21,736
Topics: 1,038
Kudos: 2,842
Solutions: 378
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Restore to a new computer

[ Edited ]

peterweb wrote:

 

I do not see the 'Dustbin' in MyNortonAccount. Is this not just in Norton Management?

 


I may be wrong about the dustbin icon itself but there should be some way to remove or cancel when you log onto MyAccount but there seems to be a problem in getting there at the moment so I can't check


I'll have to come back to you on this since I do have Norton Management installed but the information I gave came from a Norton Staffer.

 

You do have a 2012 product installed? This is a new feature but whether it is dependent on the generation of product I don't know but I doubt it. Norton Management is but not the change in MyNortonAccount as I understand it.



Hugh
peterweb
Posts: 9,068
Kudos: 1,441
Solutions: 359
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Restore to a new computer

[ Edited ]

huwyngr wrote:

peterweb wrote:

 

I do not see the 'Dustbin' in MyNortonAccount. Is this not just in Norton Management?

 


I may be wrong about the dustbin icon itself but there should be some way to remove or cancel when you log onto MyAccount but there seems to be a problem in getting there at the moment so I can't check


I'll have to come back to you on this since I do have Norton Management installed but the information I gave came from a Norton Staffer.

 

You do have a 2012 product installed? This is a new feature but whether it is dependent on the generation of product I don't know but I doubt it. Norton Management is but not the change in MyNortonAccount as I understand it.


Yes I am running NIS 2012 19.7.0.9. Still no sign of a way to delete a computer in Norton Account.

 

Norton account.JPG

 

If you find how to do this in My Account, please let me know.


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.
huwyngr
Posts: 21,736
Topics: 1,038
Kudos: 2,842
Solutions: 378
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Restore to a new computer

Peter,

 

Thanks for the screen shot. I have asked Norton to look at the thread so I'll mention that specific image.



Hugh