Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
markg2
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎07-12-2009
Accepted Solution

Windows 7 Action Center

N360: Version: 3.5.2.11 + Windows7

 

The Action Center insists that Norton's firewall, virus protection and spyware are all off. N360 shows all are on and operating just fine?

 

Mark

Volunteer
Vineeth
Posts: 1,658
Registered: ‎07-31-2008

Re: Windows 7 Action Center

Hi Mark,

 

We had a discussion about this problem in the NAV/NIS board, and a clear explanation from one of the Symantec employees, ChesterK. Please read:

 

http://community.norton.com/norton/board/message?board.id=nis_feedback&message.id=85936#M85936

 

Vineeth--

dbrisendine
Posts: 5,584
Kudos: 1,294
Solutions: 263
Registered: ‎10-06-2008

Re: Windows 7 Action Center

Is this a upgrade installation of Win7?  What build of Win7 is this?  Did you install N360 v3.5 onto Win7 or was it on the system during the upgrade to Win7 (if this was a upgrade installation of the OS; say from Vista to Win7)?  Is this 32bit or 64bit Win7?
Win7 x32 SP1
Volunteer
yogesh_mohan
Posts: 5,302
Registered: ‎07-29-2008

Re: Windows 7 Action Center

Sometimes, unregistering and re-registering WMIUTILS.DLL file will fix this issue.

1. Click the Start button, and then click All Programs > Accessories > Run.

2. In the Run dialog box, type the following text:

regsvr32 /u WMIUTILS.DLL

3. Click OK.

4. Restart the computer.

5. Click the Start button, and then click All Programs > Accessories > Run.

6. In the Run dialog box, type the following text:

regsvr32 WMIUTILS.DLL

7. Click OK.

8. Restart the computer.

Contributor
markg2
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎07-12-2009

Re: Windows 7 Action Center

Regarding the Symantec explanatory thread--it's not really on my precise topic.

 

Regarding the install dates of W7 and N360--this was an upgrade from Vista to W7. However, I downloaded and installed a clean new version of the most recent N360 application. Further, this problem wasn't a problem until a few days ago which was ~ a month post installs.

 

I attempted to do the RUN and received a sys error,  Module lu failed to load. I may have entered an incorrect command since the italics in your message was not particularly clear. I entered 'regsvr32 lu WMIUTILS.DLL'?

 

Mark

Volunteer
yogesh_mohan
Posts: 5,302
Registered: ‎07-29-2008

Re: Windows 7 Action Center

It is not "lu", it is "/u"- that is Slash and letter 'u'.
Contributor
markg2
Posts: 135
Registered: ‎07-12-2009

Re: Windows 7 Action Center

That may have resolved the problem. I turned the message center back on after reboot regarding spyware, virus and the firewall and all show N360 and okay.

 

Mark

Visitor
Dabhar
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-21-2009

Re: Windows 7 Action Center

This worked for me, thanks. Running Win 7 Pro Retail version with 360 latest.

 

Thanks!

Dab