Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
sallaroke1
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011

high cpu usage for internet exlore

I have been looking at the form and can't find and answer to my problem. I get the pop up from Norton about the high CPU usage and my computer slows way down and sometimes freezes. I am running Norton the new version 5.1.0.29. Now what I am doing, when this happens is I am on Farmville or one of Zanya games on Facebook. And the only way to resume play is to close all browsers and put my computer to sleep, then wake it up. Sometimes I have to do this 2 or 3 times to be able to even open my homepage at a normal speed. I have windows 7 and I am running explore 7  my lap top is only 3 years old. I have

Processor Intel(R) core TM 2 Duo CPU p7350 @ 2.00GHz  2.00 GHz

Installed Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB (3.87 usable

System 64 bit

When I look ant my control panel it says for the hard disk drive 178 GB free of 286 GB and the blue bar is showing less than have way full

Norton 360 is the only security on my computer.

Contributor
sallaroke1
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011

Re: high cpu usage for internet explore

i have found that it is not just on games that this problem is happening, today I was looking a pictures in slideshows and the laptop became unresponsive. And also watching videos after a while it slows down so much the sound is even garbled.

SUBASH_PRABU
Posts: 2,076
Kudos: 257
Solutions: 90
Registered: ‎05-31-2011

Re: high cpu usage for internet explore

Hi,

    Welcome to Norton Community. The High CPU usage alert from Norton is to inform the user that the concern program is using the most amount of your Computers Memory (Not HarDisk Memory) at that instant. If you have a lot of Toolbars and ad-ons installed in your Internet Explorer, they will make your Computer and Internet Browsing very slow.

     A lot of Tabs opened at the same time in Internet Explorer can also cause the Sluggish Performance while using Internet Explorer. Also Utilize the File Cleanup Option(Under PcTuneup) in the N360 to clean the Internet Explorer Temporary files out, Which can make some Proress in the Performance

dickevans
Posts: 11,781
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: high cpu usage for internet explore


sallaroke1 wrote:

i have found that it is not just on games that this problem is happening, today I was looking a pictures in slideshows and the laptop became unresponsive. And also watching videos after a while it slows down so much the sound is even garbled.


Welcome,

Please confirm that Microsoft Security Essentials has been removed from the laptop. Also, how much RAM is installed on your computer?

Thanks

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21
Contributor
sallaroke1
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011

Re: high CPU usage for internet explore

Installed Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB (3.87 usable) I have tried to ready boost a 4 GB Thumb Drive. to see if it would help and it did not. 

SUBASH_PRABU
Posts: 2,076
Kudos: 257
Solutions: 90
Registered: ‎05-31-2011

Re: high CPU usage for internet explore

Hi

   Did you followed my steps?

Regular Contributor
KMoore
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎10-13-2009

Re: high CPU usage for internet explore

[ Edited ]

Hi, regarding the high cpu usage and lagging. I would add to be sure the computer is also de fragmented and to run the start up manager to find what is running on start up.

 Edit-start ruling out some things-here is a tool from Microsoft. http://support.microsoft.com/mats/slow_windows_performance/

Contributor
sallaroke1
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011

Re: high CPU usage for internet explore

Yes i have tuned up, defraged, Don' have any extra toolbars even installed. i use goolge to search,  I only have one thing clicked for startup and that is because i dont know what it is. but i will try to figuer out what it is. Igfxtray.exe

Contributor
sallaroke1
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-08-2011

Re: high cpu usage for internet explore

Yes i have done all that and i do it regularly. I can have only one window open and with in 10min i am having to close the browser and put the computer to sleep.  

Regular Contributor
KMoore
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎10-13-2009

Re: high CPU usage for internet explore

Confirm the name. igfxtray.exe appears to be a system tray application for launching intel graphics. However,

lgfxtray.exec might be malware.  this one begins with the letter L-or small l.

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/startups/lgfxTray.exe-17076.html

 

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/startups/igfxtray.exe-2147.html

Can someone confirm this information?