Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Regular Contributor
bigrick18
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎09-10-2009

how can i detect if i have a virus on my computer but norton wont pick it up

how can i detect if i have a virus on my computer but norton wont pick it up. My computer screen became all blurry and wouldnt let me do anything so i ran it in safe mode and Norton wouldn't scan. It said some functions wont work because i am in safe mode. Norton started but it wouldn't scan anything. Also i notice in my event viewer that there are alot of Error and Warning about things going on with my computer. What should I do

Regular Contributor
bigrick18
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎09-10-2009

Re: how can i detect if i have a virus on my computer but norton wont pick it up

Also, in the event viewer i think this is what I saw happening.   " Launching trusted applications in hidden mode through command-line parameters" and this   "Bypassing firewall inspections by penetrating the Windows TCP/IP layer to send and receive data."    So thats why i think Norton is not picking them up

floplot
Posts: 10,613
Topics: 218
Kudos: 2,055
Solutions: 367
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: how can i detect if i have a virus on my computer but norton wont pick it up

Hello bigrick18

 

Please tell us what Norton Product you have and what version. Also, we need to know what operating system and sp level. Thanks

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




SendOfJive
Posts: 10,804
Kudos: 4,846
Solutions: 779
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: how can i detect if i have a virus on my computer but norton wont pick it up

 


bigrick18 wrote:

Also, in the event viewer i think this is what I saw happening.   " Launching trusted applications in hidden mode through command-line parameters" and this   "Bypassing firewall inspections by penetrating the Windows TCP/IP layer to send and receive data."    So thats why i think Norton is not picking them up


 

 

Hi bigrick18,

 

I believe in the above post you are actually quoting passages from the section in the Norton Help file that explains the use of the Norton Firewall's Advanced Events Monitoring function.  If you are referring to the Windows Event Viewer it is normal to see errors and warnings, and most of these are non-serious events that are logged for the record.  Are you saying that events in the Windows Event Viewer are leading you to infer the actions that are mentioned in the Norton Help file article?   If you could post a screenshot or transcript of exactly what alerts you are seeing, that would be enormously helpful.

 

 

 

SendOfJive
Posts: 10,804
Kudos: 4,846
Solutions: 779
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: how can i detect if i have a virus on my computer but norton wont pick it up

Hi bigrick18,

 

Were you able to restart the computer in normal mode?  Will Norton scan?  Or are things still not right?

Regular Contributor
bigrick18
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎09-10-2009

Re: how can i detect if i have a virus on my computer but norton wont pick it up

Yea i can start my computer in normal mode and it will scan and is says no detection.     The error code that is notice said these things....

 

An attempt was made to register a security event source.

 

Subject :

                Security ID:                         SYSTEM

                Account Name:                 RICK-PC$

                Account Domain:                             WORKGROUP

              

Process Name:  C:\Windows\System32\VSSVC.exe

 

And then it says

An attempt was made to unregister a security event source.

Subject

                Security ID:                         SYSTEM

                Account Name:                 RICK-PC$

                Account Domain:                             WORKGROUP

Process Name:  C:\Windows\System32\VSSVC.exe

 

And then it say

Auditing settings on object were changed.

 

Subject:

                Security ID:                         SYSTEM

                Account Name:                 RICK-PC$

                Account Domain:                             WORKGROUP

               

Auditing settings on object were changed.

Subject:

                Security ID:                         SYSTEM

                Account Name:                 RICK-PC$

            Account Domain:                             WORKGROUP

       Process Name:  C:\Windows\servicing\TrustedInstaller.exe      

Regular Contributor
bigrick18
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎09-10-2009

Re: how can i detect if i have a virus on my computer but norton wont pick it up

Also, this doesn't make since because i can run norton in safe mode and regular mode but it wont scan anything in safe mode with networking. In addition Microsoft 2007 wont safe anything in safe mode. Does any of this make since to anyone. I would appreciate any advice thanks.

Regular Contributor
bigrick18
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎09-10-2009

Re: how can i detect if i have a virus on my computer but norton wont pick it up

I don't' mean to be posting so much but while i was in safe mode networking i click on norton help to connect to my norton and it said that i need to unistall and install norton again because things needed attention. i don't understand

Regular Contributor
bigrick18
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎09-10-2009

Re: how can i detect if i have a virus on my computer but norton wont pick it up

I guess this means that i don't have a virus?

SendOfJive
Posts: 10,804
Kudos: 4,846
Solutions: 779
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: how can i detect if i have a virus on my computer but norton wont pick it up

Hi bigrick18,

 

A lot of stuff will not work in Safe mode so the events you see happening (or not happening) while in Safe mode are probably not the result of malware, which is itself also often disabled in Safe mode.  That is sort of the whole point of Safe mode - to only load the minimum number of things for Windows to run, and nothing else (even antivirus auto-protect).  It is strictly for troubleshooting, so it is not surprising that non-essential things like Help files and document saving are not available.  Norton  however, should scan in Safe mode, so that is unusual.  Is it offering the option to scan but failing to run, or are you not even being asked if you would like to run a scan?

 

You might want to download, update and run the FREE version (NOT the full paid version) of Malwarebytes' for a second opinion to see if it turns up any specific files that show signs of infection.  This should be done in Normal mode as well, as the scan engine in the product runs in a more limited capacity in Safe mode.