Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Newbie
harryma
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-02-2010

transferring Norton 360 to a new computer

[ Edited ]

I bought an automatic renewal via the web in Aug 2010 for Norton 360 version 4.3.0.5 and now have a new Win7 PC. I want to transfer the SW and license from old to new. How do I do this? I don't have a disk because I downloaded the software.

Yaso_Kuuhl
Posts: 5,799
Kudos: 1,438
Solutions: 528
Registered: ‎02-19-2009

Re: transferring Norton 360 to a new computer

[ Edited ]

Hi harryma,

 

Please do the following to transfer Norton 360 to your new machine. Also, please remove any preinstalled antivirus software from your new computer before installing Norton 360. Most antivirus software vendors provide removal tools for a thorough deinstallation; you can get such a tool from the vendor's website. Always read the instructions which go with such tools.

 

First, remove Norton 360 from your old machine in order to keep the licence.

 

Then, depending on which edition of Norton 360 you have got, please download the correct edition of Norton 360 version 4 from the appropriate link below and save it to your desktop:

Norton 360 Standard Edition version 4 (English)
http://buy-download.norton.com/downloads/CLT/N360/US/2010/4.1/ESD/N360-ESD-17-6-0-32-EN.exe

Norton 360 Premier Edition version 4 (English)
http://buy-download.norton.com/downloads/CLT/N360P/US/2010/4.1/ESD/N360-PREMIER-ESD-17-6-0-32-EN.exe

You will also need your Norton product key in order to activate Norton 360; during activation, your subscription days will be picked up automatically by Norton 360. You can fetch your product key from your Norton account:
http://www.mynortonaccount.com/

Install Norton 360, activate it with your product key and run LiveUpdate in order to immediately obtain the latest updates, then reboot your computer.

 

During activation, a notification may pop up saying that you have exceeded the number of allowed activations. If this happens, please contact Symantec Customer Support, and they will reset your activations for you. You can chat with them for free over here:
http://www.symantec.com/norton/support/contact/contact.jsp?pvid=cs

 

floplot
Posts: 10,612
Topics: 218
Kudos: 2,055
Solutions: 367
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: transferring Norton 360 to a new computer

Helly harryma

 

In addition to what Yaso has mentioned, please remember to backup your identity safe file if you use that part of the program. Instructions for that can be found here.

 

Please follow these instructions to save your Identity Safe information by creating NPM file.


http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nco.nsf/0/e5a44e06f97b3f89882572260060120f?OpenDocument&seg=hm&...

Thanks to Yaso for the link.


Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




Newbie
harryma
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-02-2010

Re: transferring Norton 360 to a new computer

Thanks for the info. A couple of more questions.

 

is there a way I can get the activation key from my Aug 2010 purchase of Norton 360 from Norton? Not sure that I have it any longer....

 

How would I get it from my old computer- where do I find it?

floplot
Posts: 10,612
Topics: 218
Kudos: 2,055
Solutions: 367
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: transferring Norton 360 to a new computer

Hello harryma

 

You can go to www.mynortonaccount.com  and sign in there. You should find your purchases and keys in there. Thanks.

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




Visitor
Joebagadonuts
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-08-2010

Re: transferring Norton 360 to a new computer

I am going to install Windows 7 on my computers that currently have XP Pro, which require a "clean install".  Each one now has Norton 360, ver 4 with a two year subscription installed on them. 

 

Do I follow the same procedures as are outlined here for transferring Norton 360 to a new computer? 

 

Are there any pitfalls I may encounter? 

 

Are there specific instructions for this in the Norton knowledge base?

 

Thanks in advance.

floplot
Posts: 10,612
Topics: 218
Kudos: 2,055
Solutions: 367
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: transferring Norton 360 to a new computer

Hello Joebagadonuts

 

Yes, you would have to follow the same procedure as mentioned above. Please make sure you remove your N360 from the xp pro first so that it will free up your activations from each computer. When you go to install it on Win 7, please remember to run the programs as run as admin. You didn't have to do that with xp. If you have any problems with activating, please try Subscription status under help and support on the main page. If that doesn't fix the problem, then you can contact customer servcie via the free chat program.

 

http://us.norton.com/support/contact/contact.jsp?pvid=cs

This is the link for US/Can. If you need a different location, please consult your local Symantec site for the local free chat customer support link.

 

If you have any problems, please come back and start your own thread as this thread may be marked as solved by the O/P by the time you come back. Thanks.

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.