Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
motzaeli
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎06-30-2008

windows security center does not recognize Norton 360 !!!!

[ Edited ]
Hello, After windows vista Ultimate and Basic (Desktop+ Laptop) automatic updates – windows defender update KB915597 (definition 1.171.29.0) – windows security center does not recognize Norton 360 Ver. 1.0 firewall and antivirus Ver. 1.0 – regard the antivirus it indicates "Not compatible". I did apply both to MS and Symantec – obvious they blame each other. As I must use Ver. 1.0 and since day one until today I had zero problems I will ask for your help. Using of other ver. Is out of the question. Thx.
Message Edited by motzaeli on 11-24-2009 05:04 PM
delphinium
Posts: 9,862
Kudos: 2,965
Solutions: 293
Registered: ‎11-21-2008

Re: windows security center does not recognize Norton 360 !!!!

Hi Motzaeli:

 

Does your Norton still show a green check mark indicating that you are secure?

 

It is difficult to tell if this is a recent change by Microsoft that Symantec hasn't caught up to yet, or an older update of Microsoft where they changed some things that may have been changed in later versions of Norton.

 

I understand that you are unable to change versions for some reason, but I don't know if obsolete versions of Norton can be changed to accommodate Microsoft's requirements.

 

It may be necessary to change the settings in the Windows Security Centre to not report, and go by Norton's green indication that all is well.

 

Hopefully someone else can add further suggestions.

Under certain circumstances profanity provides relief denied even to prayer.
Mark Twain
Contributor
motzaeli
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎06-30-2008

Re: windows security center does not recognize Norton 360 !!!!

hi,
thx for your answer,
all mark green = i did try this as well - http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/195736-security-center-not-reporting-correct-information.html
and i found out that - WMI repository is consistent - no problems detected.
for now i did disabled win swcurity center notice but its not the solution/fix just "band aid".
i will wait for a solution.
thx,
happy TG to all.
Regular Contributor
KrisL
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎10-05-2009

Re: windows security center does not recognize Norton 360 !!!!

Hi motzaeli,

 

Try out the suggestions outlined by yogesh in the below thread.

 

 http://community.norton.com/norton/board/message?board.id=Norton_360&message.id=23400#M23400

 

 

- KrisL

Contributor
motzaeli
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎06-30-2008

Re: windows security center does not recognize Norton 360 !!!!

hi KrisL,

did try it even that i am using Vista and not Win7.

anyhow - it did not solve it!

any other ideas - it drives me crazy!!!!

thx.

Symantec Employee
erik_carlstrom
Posts: 4,409
Registered: ‎04-10-2008

Re: windows security center does not recognize Norton 360 !!!!

Out of curiosity, what is the reason why you need to stay with version 1? 
Erik
Product Manager
Symantec Corporation
Contributor
motzaeli
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎06-30-2008

Re: windows security center does not recognize Norton 360 !!!!

hi,

i am using ver 1.0 only because the ability of Ad blocking and pop up blocking.

as i have it from day 1 and i keep extending it and i have tried ver 2.0 and 3.0 i will keep on with ver 1.0.

thx,

any fix to the prob?

Symantec Employee
erik_carlstrom
Posts: 4,409
Registered: ‎04-10-2008

Re: windows security center does not recognize Norton 360 !!!!

Ad blocking is available for V3, and you should have pop up blocking within the browser.  The protection technology in V3 is much better and robust than in V1.  Best solution for you would be to upgrade.  What browser and version are you using? 
Erik
Product Manager
Symantec Corporation
Contributor
motzaeli
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎06-30-2008

Re: windows security center does not recognize Norton 360 !!!!

hi,

using IE7 - pop up blocker at the browser is not as good as 360 ver 1.0.

thx

Symantec Employee
erik_carlstrom
Posts: 4,409
Registered: ‎04-10-2008

Re: windows security center does not recognize Norton 360 !!!!

Have you tried using IE 8?

 

 

Erik
Product Manager
Symantec Corporation