Reply
Newbie
smith772
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

www.playboy.com an allowed site??????

[ Edited ]

I am running Online Family and FF 11 and everything is setup properly. Today I decided to check it to make sure that sites are being blocked.  I typed in playboy.com and to my surprise, it allowed me on the site.  I clicked a couple of links (saw lots of pictures) and was only blocked after the 3rd or 4th click on a subpage on the site.  I can view [removed] Ironically, the little box shows in the lower right hand corner to tell me that [removed] is not an allowed site, but it displays anyway.

 

I tried the same thing in IE and was blocked at the top level of the site.  Wouldn't even let me see anything.

 

What gives?

 

 

[edit: Please do not direct link to inappropriate websites per the Participation Guidelines and Terms of Service.]

 

 

Symantec Employee
KatieQ
Posts: 4,225
Registered: ‎04-09-2009

Re: www.playboy.com an allowed site??????

Hi smith772,

 

Please let us know what version of Norton Safety Minder you have on the PC.   Click on the Norton Safety Minder icon in the system tray and select “About Norton Safety Minder”. You should find the version number.

 

 

Thanks,

Katie

Newbie
smith772
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: www.playboy.com an allowed site??????

2.3.0.18

Symantec Employee
KatieQ
Posts: 4,225
Registered: ‎04-09-2009

Re: www.playboy.com an allowed site??????

Hi smith772,

 

Norton Safety Minder 2.3.0.18 is the latest version, so you should be fine with Firefox 11.

 

I tested it myself using Firefox 11 and playboy.com was blocked correctly.    Besides blocking is not working, do any other functions in the program work, like the activity gets logged?

 

If you add playboy.com to the black list, does it get blocked (just for testing purpose)?

 

 

 

Thanks,

Katie