Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
VictorM
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎07-28-2011

Norton Ghost 2003 Internal Error 36000 on Boot Up

[ Edited ]

Hello

 

As the ttle states I'm getting the above error when I boot up using the Ghost 2003 bootable CD. The motherboard is an Asus P4S8X with an onboard Promise Raid Controller 376. I never had any trouble using Norton Ghost with this motherboard before when having a SATA drive connected to the PDC. But now when I have a drive connected to this controller I get the above error. Booting without the SATA drive and just the IDE drives work.

 

The error message says exactly "An internal inconsistency has been detected" If this problem persists contact Symantec Technical Support at http://service.symantec.com" and the ttle of the message is "Internal Error 36000".

 

Can anyone tell me how to save the error file to a usb flash drive or onto one of the IDE drives that are also connected to the motherboard ? I cannot save it to the A: floppy drive for some reason.

 

Thanks

 

Victor

Symantec Employee
andreash_utah
Posts: 432
Registered: ‎07-27-2009

Re: Norton Ghost 2003 Internal Error 36000 on Boot Up

Does it work with any other SATA drives attached? At what point during the boot does the error occur?

-Andy

Symantec Employee
andreash_utah
Posts: 432
Registered: ‎07-27-2009

Re: Norton Ghost 2003 Internal Error 36000 on Boot Up

Hi there,

 

Any luck? Please fill us in with some additional details if this is still an issue.

-Andy

Contributor
VictorM
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎07-28-2011

Re: Norton Ghost 2003 Internal Error 36000 on Boot Up

Thank you for the reply. I apologize for the late reply. The error happens right after you hit a key to boot from the Ghost CD and as the Ghost blue window or interface appears. The blue window is in the background and the error is in the foreground. They both appear at the same time.

 

The motherboard supports IDE and has a Promise Raid Controller onboard chip. Even if you disconnect the IDE drives and have the one only SATA drive the error still happens. It never used to do this while connecting IDE and SATA drives together.

 

Victor