Reply
Visitor
lukebuxton
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-03-2012

Am I on a phishing site?

When I go on to my hotmail i click the norton safe tool bar and this page appears:

http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=https:%2F%2Fbay147.mail.live.com%2Fdefault.aspx%3Fid=64855...

 

but then when i enter hotmail.com into the norton safe web seach this appears:

http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=hotmail.com 

 

Which has much more norton user activity, can anyone explain this please?

thanks

SendOfJive
Posts: 9,903
Kudos: 4,190
Solutions: 706
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: Am I on a phishing site?

[ Edited ]

Hi lukebuxton,

 

What address shows in your address bar?  Hotmail.com redirects to live.com.  It is not a phishing site - it is just the way Microsoft has things set up.  Please see the following article:

 

http://www.ghacks.net/2010/10/09/hotmail-sign-in-troubleshooting/

Visitor
lukebuxton
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-03-2012

Re: Am I on a phishing site?

Hi thanks for the reply Im getting a tad parranoid about security at the moment

The address is below except I removed the number's:

https://bay147.mail.live.com/mail/home.mvc?n(10 numbers here)&livecom=1

 

SendOfJive
Posts: 9,903
Kudos: 4,190
Solutions: 706
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: Am I on a phishing site?

OK.  You are at live.com, so that is legitimate.

Visitor
lukebuxton
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-03-2012

Re: Am I on a phishing site?

Ok thanks for your help mate, put my mind at the rest.