Reply
Visitor
EdwardForbes
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-12-2012

Can someone explain this???

Hello all.  I was wondering if anyone could tell me what this means. . .

 

 

[IMG]http://i1066.photobucket.com/albums/u413/Edward_Forbes/norton2.gif[/IMG]

 

I get it all the time when I go to this forum.  I can't get an answer from the company that runs the forums and one other person not related to the company replied and said my problem is Norton(that it is a terrible program, which I do not believe).  Should I be worried about this considering that it is marked as "high" severity?  Thanks for any info.

 

 

---Doug F

huwyngr
Posts: 19,000
Topics: 906
Kudos: 2,331
Solutions: 337
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Can someone explain this???

Could you let us know what version of Windows you are using including Service Packs and whether 32 bit or 64 bit. You can get this by pressing the WINKEY & Pause key at the same time ..... if it does not say 64 bit then it is 32 bit ....

 

What browser are you using?

 

And also what Norton Product are you using?

 

Do you have any other security product installed or product to protect you from nasties on the internet?



Hugh
SendOfJive
Posts: 9,907
Kudos: 4,195
Solutions: 706
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: Can someone explain this???

[ Edited ]

Hi EdwardForbes,

 

Someone has inserted malicious JavaScript into the forum you are visiting.  The script attempts to exploit a vulnerability in older, unpatched versions of Internet Explorer.  If you are running a current version of IE, or have kept your Microsoft patches up-to-date, you would not be vulnerable to this attack, even if Norton were not blocking it.  You should report this to the Forums Administrator so that they can clean it up.  Providing the "Attacker URL" shown in the alert should be enough information for the admins to locate and remove the malicious JavaScript.

 

http://www.symantec.com/security_response/attacksignatures/detail.jsp?asid=21580

 

PS:  Your link points to Photobucket's version of a 404 page-not-found error.  I had to clean it up in order to see your screenshot of the Norton alert.

Visitor
EdwardForbes
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-12-2012

Re: Can someone explain this???

Hello and thanks for the quick reply.  I am using Windows 7 SP1 64bit, as for browsers I use IE9 and Firefox 12.  I get that alert with either browser.  I am using Norton Internet Security Suite 5.2.1.3.  As for other programs, just scanners like Malwarebytes Anti-malware and spybot s&d.  Thanks again for the reply.  Hope this was good enough on the info.  If you need any other info just let me know!

 

---Doug F

dickevans
Posts: 9,268
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Can someone explain this???

Just a quick question:  Are the other products the free versions so that they are not trying to run any active security measures?

Thanks

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V20
Visitor
EdwardForbes
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-12-2012

Re: Can someone explain this???

Hello and thanks for the reply.  Yes they are the free versions.  I have to manually scan with them.

 

---Doug F

Visitor
EdwardForbes
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-12-2012

Re: Can someone explain this???

Ok so I have reported this to the forum admins.  Hopefully it gets taken care of.  Thanks for your info and time.  I will report back if it continues.  Some people are saying that the company themselves have done this in order to gain info on their players, could that be something they could do and trigger this??  Thanks again.

 

 

---Doug F

SendOfJive
Posts: 9,907
Kudos: 4,195
Solutions: 706
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: Can someone explain this???


EdwardForbes wrote:

Some people are saying that the company themselves have done this in order to gain info on their players, could that be something they could do and trigger this??


Forum sites are always on guard against attempts by outsiders to insert malicious code.  This is true on any websites that allow visitors to post comments.  It is a common problem.  It is highly unlikely that the site itself is attacking its users.