Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
scotjudy333
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-07-2011

Can't access Norton Internet Security

Hope someone here can help me, as I don't know what to do, short of taking my computer to a shop to be fixed.  Here's the situation -- I have been having computer problems, "blue screens" that are happening more and more.  I don't know if there is a connection, but suddenly, when I click on the Norton icon, no screen comes up.  Plus, now the Norton toolbar isn't coming up on my browser.  What can I do???  I hope there's an answer (that won't cost a lot of money -- as in taking my computer to a shop).

yank
Posts: 9,333
Kudos: 2,048
Solutions: 468
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Can't access Norton Internet Security

Hi scotjudy333,

 

First of all stay away from the shop!  :smileywink:  we'll do our best to help you - for free!

 

We do need some information for starters: such as your operating system and SP#, which Norton product are you using and which version (Main page Support > About to find that info), Since you mention the Norton Toolbar - which browser are you using and which version is it? (can normally be found under Help > About).  Also can you give us an idea of what you are doing when the blue screens occur - general surfing, watching video, checking/ reading sending email, playing games or whaever.


We'll be waiting for the addtional info.

Contributor
scotjudy333
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-07-2011

Re: Can't access Norton Internet Security

Thank you for responding to my post!  I will try to give you whatever information you need.  First of all, my laptop is a Dell Inspiron17R.  It uses Windows 7/64-bit.  The browser I have been using with the Norton Toolbar is Mozilla Firefox version 17.0.1.  What is "SP#"?

 

As for the blue screens, I do nothing, but just let it "dump"? the memory or something, then the computer reboots.  Then I try to go on as normal.  Unfortunately, my computer went blue screen 4 times within a couple of hours today.  Very frustrating!

 

Is there any other info you need?  If so, please be sure to explain what it is (my computer knowledge is somewhat limited :smileyembarrassed:).

 

 

yank
Posts: 9,333
Kudos: 2,048
Solutions: 468
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Can't access Norton Internet Security

Thanks for the fedback,

 

I'll be using the following to try to help you navigate to where the information is: Start (the Windows Icon in the lower left corner of the monitor) > left click on the following. 

 

Left click Start > Control Panel > System > Windows edition > there should be a Service Pack 1 listed.

You really have to be doing something before the blue screen occurs - as I asked, are you just surfing the internet, checking email, using a specific program or playing a game....or is it just sitting there idle and it blue screens?

Left click Start > Control Panel > Programs and Features > scroll down to Norton Internet Security > on the right hand side of that line tell us what the version number is.

 

Please let us know.

Contributor
scotjudy333
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-07-2011

Re: Can't access Norton Internet Security

You said:

I'll be using the following to try to help you navigate to where the information is.  Start > left click on the following:

Left click Start > Control Panel > System > Windows edition > there should be a Service Pack 1 listed.

 

Me:

Once I clicked on Start > Control Panel, I saw System and Security.  I didn't see anything about "Windows edition" there.  What am I supposed to be looking for?  (Told you my computer knowledge is limited . . . . ).

 

The version # for my Norton Internet Security 2013 is # 19.9.0.9.

 

Blue screens -- I don't think I am doing anything in particular when my computer goes blue screen, but a number of times it happens when I am on iTunes listening to podcasts I subscribe to. 

 

What other info do you need to know that would help?

yank
Posts: 9,333
Kudos: 2,048
Solutions: 468
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Can't access Norton Internet Security


scotjudy333 wrote:

You said:

I'll be using the following to try to help you navigate to where the information is.  Start > left click on the following:

Left click Start > Control Panel > System > Windows edition > there should be a Service Pack 1 listed.

 

Me:

Once I clicked on Start > Control Panel, I saw System and Security.  I didn't see anything about "Windows edition" there.  What am I supposed to be looking for?  (Told you my computer knowledge is limited . . . . ).

 

No problem - I thnk I have enough info to help you without that bit of info.

 

The version # for my Norton Internet Security 2013 is # 19.9.0.9.

 

Actually from the version number you provded, we now know your NIS is not totally upgraded.  You are in fact sitll on NIS 2012 and chances are your program has not been upgraded to run Firefox 17.0.1.

 Blue screens -- I don't think I am doing anything in particular when my computer goes blue screen, but a number of times it happens when I am on iTunes listening to podcasts I subscribe to. 

 

This may well be another problem - totally unassociated with NIS - but let's try to get your NIS upgraded and working properly and see what happens with the blue screens

 

What other info do you need to know that would help?


 Please follow the instructions in the following link:

 

https://www-secure.symantec.com/norton-support/jsp/help-solutions.jsp?docid=v60392881_EndUserProfile...

 

When complete, run LiveUpdate (rebooting as requested) until such time that it responds "no updates found".

 

Let us now how this goes.

Contributor
scotjudy333
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-07-2011

Re: Can't access Norton Internet Security

First of all, there are a couple of things that I neglected to mention before that I think could be significant in diagnosing this problem.  One, when my computer re-boots, most of the time it goes to CHKDSK.  And regarding the blue screens, there have been mainly at least two different ones.  Unfortunately, I didn't write down the exact wording of them, but I will do my best to give you what they are.  The first blue screen I remember says something like "DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_THAN_EQUAL".  The other one has been happening a lot lately -- "KERNEL" & "DATA" are among the words.  The next time this blue screen happens, I will try to write all the words down and put this in a post here as soon as I can.  There is one other thing that has happened, but I am afraid to mention it here -- lets just say that it involves torrents.

 

Norton Internet Security 2013 -- my account hasn't been upgraded?!?  I got an email from Norton dated Wednesday 28 November 2012 whose subject line said "Your Norton Internet Security subscription has been renewed -- renewal price enclosed".  Would it help to post this email here, or is there somewhere I can forward it to so you can see it?  Oh, and I remember checking on the window that comes up when I click on the desktop thing that has the green stripe on top with "Secure" on it, at the bottom of the window that says something about Subscription Status soon after that email, and it said I had 36(0+) days left on my subscription.  Are you sure your information says that our renewal hasn't gone through?

 

One I post this, I will follow the instructions you put at the bottom of your last post.

 

 

 

Contributor
scotjudy333
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-07-2011

Re: Can't access Norton Internet Security -- the link you gave me

I used the link and followed the instructions there.  As a result, one of two things has been happening -- one, my computer freezes up and I have to re-boot; or two, after I click on "Run" and then the window that gives permission to make changes, I get an "error message" that says:

 

Norton Remove & Reinstall

Could not gather details about the installed layout or license.  Click here for information on how to uninstall and reinstall your Norton Product manually.

 

The "here" link sends me to the same instructions your link sent me to.  What do I do now??

Contributor
scotjudy333
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-07-2011

Re: Can't access Norton Internet Security

Haven't heard anything from you since just after midnight last night -- is something wrong??  Have I said something wrong??  What's going on??

 

I should mention that my husband uses my 2013 Norton Internet Security on his laptop and it is behaving normally.  So, I think the problem on my laptop must be connected with the blue screen problem.  So, is my situation hopeless??  Soumds like I will have to take my laptop to the shop, after all.

yank
Posts: 9,333
Kudos: 2,048
Solutions: 468
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Can't access Norton Internet Security


scotjudy333 wrote:

Haven't heard anything from you since just after midnight last night -- is something wrong??  Have I said something wrong??  What's going on??

 

I should mention that my husband uses my 2013 Norton Internet Security on his laptop and it is behaving normally.  So, I think the problem on my laptop must be connected with the blue screen problem.  So, is my situation hopeless??  Soumds like I will have to take my laptop to the shop, after all.


Hiscotjusy333,

 

First of all you have not said anything wrong, nor done anything wrong.  I was out of town most of yesterday and was taking care of "real-life" things the rest of the day.  Please remember if our user names are not in RED we are volunteers and we help as time permits.

 

That said - it would have been nice to know all of the circumstances surrounding this situation when you first posted asking for assistance.


For starters, going on what info you provided now, please go to the following link and try what Umesh P suggests in their reply part way down the page.


http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-windows_install/driverirqlnotlessorequal-...

 

 

If you use System Restore, you will need to turn off Tamper Protection in NIS. From main Page of NIS > Settings > General > Product Security > Norton Tamper Portection > Off > Apply > OK.

 

The System Restore will mess up your NIS install anyway, so if it throws errors - it is to be expected.

 

Try the above and let us know where you are at in regards to the BSOD's.