Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
8cats
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2011
Accepted Solution

Computer at risk, Quick scan does not fix

Hi, 

 

I am using Norton™ Internet Security 2011 on a desktop running Vista.  I have been using this version for months with no problems.

 

Out of the blue I noticed that Norton had a security risk so I clicked on fix.  The quick scan ran and it was finished with no threats found.  When I clicked finished, the pop up window showed that the Quick scan was not fixed.

 

I have looked at similar threads on this board, but did not see any solutions.  I could try uninstalling and reinstalling, but I have a feeling that I will have to call Norton for help since they will think I am installing the software on a third machine.  I assume I will need to go on the Norton site to download the software, since I do not have an up-to-date physical disk.

 

I would appreciate any help. 

 

Thank you.

Super Spam Squasher
cgoldman
Posts: 2,929
Registered: ‎06-25-2008

Re: Computer at risk, Quick scan does not fix

Re-installing on the same machine should not be an issue and should not result in the use of a another license. Should you have problems then you could call customer services to sort it out and they can see which machines the license has been used against.

 

You could try uninstalling, and in that case, you should use Norton Removal Tool and reboot. This tool will not affect the license information,

 

You can download NIS 2011 from norton.com/nis11 and then apply liveupdate and reboot until no further liveupdates are available.

 

Equally you could try Support, Get Support which runs a check before connection with a technician.

 

Visitor
benMorro
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-25-2010

Re: Computer at risk, Quick scan does not fix

Try using Norton Power Eraser. It's like heavy duty detergent for those tough-to-remove threats. 
http://security.symantec.com/nbrt/overview.asp?lcid=1033

Super Contributor
Viscon
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎08-17-2009

Re: Computer at risk, Quick scan does not fix

Even if reinstalling gives you an issue of missing licence Symantec support will fix it for you.

I was upgrading from NIS2010 to NIS2011 on the same machine and had that kind of problem - no licence left.

When I called support a very kind woman from Symantec fixed it in no time.

And this is what I call a real support - they won't leave you with unprotected system for too long.

Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64bit
Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe -- Intel Core i5-3570K
Corsair Vengeance DDR3 8Gb
AMD Radeon HD6850 (Asus EAH6850)
Visitor
8cats
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2011

Re: Computer at risk, Quick scan does not fix

Thank you for all the suggestions.  I went on the Norton site and I used the Norton Removal Tool, then it prompted me all the way through to reinstalling my 2011 Norton product.  I didn't even need to input my product key.  Very easy and pretty fast.  Norton looks okay for now.  I hope it doesn't happen again.

 

 

Newbie
brindisi_bob
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-20-2010

Re: Computer at risk, Quick scan does not fix

This morning I started noting that Norton was listing my computer at risk.  I clicked Fix and it went through the process of attempting to download updates and then stated that it was not required.

I did install Power Eraser and restarted my computer and still have the problem. I still get an indication my computer is at risk and it appears there is no way to fix it. 

On another note, at the same time my computer all of a sudden says that Windows Genuine Validation needs to be installed (was installed many years ago) and it also does not install.

 

Visitor
8cats
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2011

Re: Computer at risk, Quick scan does not fix

Hi, if you are having the same problem that I was having, you don't need to use Power Eraser because it is the Norton Program that is messing up.  I had no threats on my computer even though Norton "thought" I did.  Reinstalling Norton is a lot easier than running all those crazy programs to clean up your machine.  Follow what I did on my previous post.  It was easier and faster than I thought it would be.  It's been running with no problem since the reinstall.

 

I don't know what you should do regarding Windows Validation.  That might be for a different forum.

SendOfJive
Posts: 10,575
Kudos: 4,675
Solutions: 759
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: Computer at risk, Quick scan does not fix

[ Edited ]

Hi brindisi_bob,

 

Is your system time and date correct?

Newbie
DrBodhi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-13-2011

Re: Computer at risk, Quick scan does not fix

I still don't see where to go on the Norton Site to Uninstall and Reinstall. 

 

Can anyone guide me on this?

 

Thanks

Visitor
8cats
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2011

Re: Computer at risk, Quick scan does not fix

 

Use the Norton Removal Tool to remove a failed installation or a damaged Norton product.

 

http://us.norton.com/support/kb/web_view.jsp?wv_type=public_web&docurl=20080710133834EN

 

Read all instructions carefully!

 

If you are not sure how to use it, call their help line.   I'm sure they will walk you through it.