Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
tiffanyjd
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-30-2012

Error 3048, 3

I am currently subscribed to Norton Internet Security 2012, and I have received a warning message for Error 3048, 3, three times today. This is the first time I've ever seen this message. I've tried the solution offered of downloading Norton Power Erasing and then restarting. The program runs and says everything is fine. Soon the message pops up again.

 

I am currently using Windows 7 on an HP laptop. 

 

Thanks for your help in advance.

huwyngr
Posts: 21,623
Topics: 1,034
Kudos: 2,820
Solutions: 376
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Error 3048, 3

tiffany,

 

I'm glad you were able to run Norton Power Eraser without unpleasant after-effects -- some people have not been so fortunate.

 

Hang on for some advice on this ....



Hugh
dickevans
Posts: 12,350
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Error 3048, 3


huwyngr wrote:

tiffany,

 

I'm glad you were able to run Norton Power Eraser without unpleasant after-effects -- some people have not been so fortunate.

 

Hang on for some advice on this ....


Might be that Malwarebytes free scanner
http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_free

will find the problem.

If that doesn't do the trick then it will be time to ask for some serious help.

Keep us posted

 

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21
Visitor
tiffanyjd
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-30-2012

Re: Error 3048, 3

Well, I ran MBAM both with a quick scan and a full scan in regular mode and it didn't find anything.

Visitor
tiffanyjd
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-30-2012

Re: Error 3048, 3

Also, I have just tried to start my computer in safe mode to see if MBAM might pick something up that way. I got to the boot-up menu but the arrow keys wouldn't work so I could select the safe mode option. I ended up having to restart normally.

dickevans
Posts: 12,350
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Error 3048, 3


tiffanyjd wrote:

Also, I have just tried to start my computer in safe mode to see if MBAM might pick something up that way. I got to the boot-up menu but the arrow keys wouldn't work so I could select the safe mode option. I ended up having to restart normally.


It's beginning to sound like a bigger problem than I have the talent to solve.
Hopefully one of the other volunteers will step in adn help you out of the hole that appears to be getting bigger.

Sorry I can't

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21
Visitor
tiffanyjd
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-30-2012

Re: Error 3048, 3

Thanks for trying. I hope someone can help me with this since my subscription has about six months left in it. :(

Regular Contributor
imbart
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎02-25-2009

Re: Error 3048, 3

I have had this 3048,3 error message in the past and as stated Autofix did nothing but linked  to Norton Web Support which advised to restart the computer which cleared it for me for a considerable time.  However I got this message again today and I notice that the solution now is to run Power Eraser - so that's changed.   I get the impression no one really knows why this happens but some time ago an opinion as to the cause of Norton error 3048,3 was posted here:

 

http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-Internet-Security-Norton/Error-3048-3-message-from-Norton-Auto...

 

I don't know if that helps anybody.

Regular Visitor
trudyg
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-22-2010

Re: Error 3048, 3

I got a notice of Error 3048,3 this morning, ran Power Erase, erased exe files for photoshop and photoshop elements and then realized I could no longer access these programs so ran Power Erase again and restored them. Now I'm getting the Error 3048,3 again. Should I just ignore this error? Sounds like there's a history of problems with the error itself? What should I do?

Thanks.

Visitor
paratsoukli
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-07-2012

Re: Error 3048, 3

I posted about this the other day but haven't had any replies yet. Actually I thought it was error 3084 but no mind.

In my case the download of NPE.exe was accompanied by a Norton warning that NPE.exe was NOT TRUSTED!!!!!

I haven't run it.

I think the best idea is to ignore the warnings, hope that Norton manage to sort the problem, and if not, wait for subscription expiry.