Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Newbie
mutemaster
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-04-2011

Error message whenever I try to start Norton

I have recently gotten a new laptop (sony vaio) with windows 7. It also came with Norton antivirus/ internet security. Upon the 3rd day (My norton was working fine at this time) of playing around with the laptop settings and looking at the features I noticed one of the desktop gadgets weren't working properly. I decided to run a system restore on the computer and afterwards, I noticed my norton wouldn't work.Instead an error message comes up: C:\Program Files (x86)\Norton Internet Security\Engine\18.5.0.125\uistub.exe Unspecified error. This message comes up everytime I try to open Norton.

SendOfJive
Posts: 10,595
Kudos: 4,687
Solutions: 760
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: Error message whenever I try to start Norton

Hi mutemaster,

 

System Restore typically breaks Norton because not all files are reverted to an earlier state.  Consequently, the program may continue to expect to find files that are no longer there.  I would suggest undoing the restore operation.  If that does not resolve the issue you may have to uninstall and reinstall Norton.  System Restore can be a bit tricky, and should usually be reserved as a measure of last resort, especially for problems that are of limited scope or pertain only to one application.  The system wide changes that are entailed can affect other programs in ways that are not anticipated.

 

I need to reinstall my Norton product that was pre-installed on my computer

Symantec Employee
pwang02
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-10-2008

Re: Error message whenever I try to start Norton

, you are right, if you encounter an issue during system restore where NIS files are missing, in particular, the main executables, you will need to re-install NIS.

 

if that doesn't fix the problem, please shoot me a PM!  thanks

Regular Contributor
imbart
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎02-25-2009

Re: Error message whenever I try to start Norton

Some time ago I did a System Restore on my Win XP SP3 and NIS 2011 corrupted showing a red cross and "Fix Now". However it wouldn't fix and I had to reinstall it.  Since then I avoided System Restore.  However today I had a problem  and used System Restore fully expecting to have to reinstall NIS again as before but to my surprise NIS came through unscathed with the green tick and all working fine.  So it seems to be a bit "hit and miss". 

AllenM
Posts: 10,222
Topics: 221
Kudos: 2,151
Solutions: 377
Registered: ‎12-14-2008

Re: Error message whenever I try to start Norton

[ Edited ]

imbart wrote:

Some time ago I did a System Restore on my Win XP SP3 and NIS 2011 corrupted showing a red cross and "Fix Now". However it wouldn't fix and I had to reinstall it.  Since then I avoided System Restore.  However today I had a problem  and used System Restore fully expecting to have to reinstall NIS again as before but to my surprise NIS came through unscathed with the green tick and all working fine.  So it seems to be a bit "hit and miss". 


Hi imbart,

 

System restore is typically most useful when you have done something such as updating a driver which causes instability of Windows or some other really critical problem such as crashes, etc. In cases like this the problem is typically noticed pretty quickly and system restore can then be quite useful in restoring your system which will revert the driver or whatever back to its previous version or the system registry back to its former state without the problem software installed.

 

The further back in time that the system restore point goes to the more likely it is to cause problems with Norton or other applications. This is because as time goes on, it is more likely that Norton or other applications will have had updates to the program in which system restore would break some linkage between restored files and files (or versions of files) that Norton or your other product now relies upon.

 

So if system restore is performed shortly after a failed driver update for example, it "probably" won't result in problems with Norton. But even if it does, in cases like that reinstalling your Norton software is probably going to be far less painful than trying to "fix" a "broken" driver. :smileywink:

 

In cases where system restore is determined to be necessary, one should always disable Norton Tamper Protection in Misc. Settings.

 

Best wishes.

Allen

Windows 7 Ultimate SP 1, 32 bit, 4 GB * NIS 2012 (19.8.0.14) * Ghost 15 * IE 9, Firefox, Safari.
Test laptop with W7 Home Premium 64 bit * NIS 2012 (19.8.0.14)
Regular Contributor
imbart
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎02-25-2009

Re: Error message whenever I try to start Norton

Thanks Allen.  You're right - I only rolled back a few days.