Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
Chalkbrd
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-08-2011

Freezing my computer

My computer is becoming almost unusable after the last upgrade to NIS 2011.  I have a Dell Inspiron 600m using Windows XP SP3, with 2 GB RAM.  While I understand my computer is getting up there in age, it was working fairly well with the last version of Norton.  Ever since Norton upgraded me a few months ago, this computer spends more time telling me the CPU usage is high and freezing my programs than actually working.  It freezes everything: Firefox, Word, any program I use.

 

I've searched online to try to find the solution, but nothing I've found yet has worked.  I tried disabling most of the features that go automatically (which really defeats the whole purpose of the program), but that didn't work anyway.  I tried using the Norton uninstall tool and then reinstalling.  Still no.

 

At first I thought it was a conflict between Firefox and the version 10 of Adobe Flash (that came out about the same time I rewnewed my subscription and Norton gave me this "new" version) because Flash sites kill me, but it's doing the same thing with any program I try to open for any length of time.  I get a high CPU usage message and when I check the Windows Task Manager, ccSvcHst.exe is always right up there using a big part of my CPU.  I can open up MS Word and just have it sit there and I'll get a high CPU usage message.

 

I"ve read enough messages in various places online to make me believe it's Norton causing the problem.  I'm seriously ready to uninstall the stupid program and eat the cost of buying a new antivirus (even though my Norton subscription is paid up until next Feb).  I have really reached the end of my rope trying to figure this one out.  I'm not a tech and I've done everything I can think of.

 

Does anyone have any idea how I can fix this?  I can hardly do anything with this computer these days!!!

 

Chalk

PC_confused
Posts: 838
Topics: 115
Kudos: 120
Solutions: 27
Registered: ‎03-21-2009

Re: Freezing my computer

Hello Chalkbrd and welcome to the Community.  I'm clutching at straws here but maybe some ot these might help you.  First thing, have you tried opening the Norton window, clicking on Support, then click on Get Support, then click on Begin Support Session.  NIS2011 should then begin a self check, to see if there is a problem with the Norton Program.  Second, have you looked at the Performance screen and see if anything is showing up that is using all your memory?  Do you get any error messages, when your PC stalls?  And finally have any of your Norton scans showed any problems?  You could again open the Norton window, click on History, then click on the Show down arrow and click on Unresolved Security Risk.  Are there any problems there?  These suggestions may not find anything but they will help narrow down any problems you might have.

Visitor
Chalkbrd
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-08-2011

Re: Freezing my computer

Thanks for the welcome. I tried the support thing with the virtual helper and the scan it did showed no problems.  The only advice was to use the Norton tool to uninstall and then reinstall it, which I did (to no effect).

 

Whichever program I happen to have open at the time is what it says is hogging the CPU.  Like I said, I've had MS Word open and wasn't even using it (or anything else at the time) and Norton gave me the CPU message and the computer ran like cold molasses.  It doesn't totally freeze it, but it's definitely in some type of time distortion field that moves at an almost imperceptible speed.  If Word is merely sitting there, with a blank document, it should not be putting the CPU at 100%.  Same is true with Firefox.  I can't even watch videos or use sites that have Flash in them because it totally freezes and I have to use the task manager to manually close the application from the processes menu.  It can take 10-15 minutes for my computer to be usable again after that happens.  The major programs I use are Firefox (I currently am using 5.0, but it did it with previous versions as well), Facebook (okay, not a program, but a site, still gives me problems), MS Word, Yahoo Messenger, and PalTalk.  I usually only use one at a time because if I bring up more than one, I know my time is limited before I get the major freeze happening.  Oh, yes, I've also used the current version of IE and it does the same thing.  It's like it does it with whatever program I have open, no matter what.

 

No error messages, just takes 300 years for anything to happen (task manager performance has CPU at 100% for several minutes).  Never had a virus that it had to remove (it's taken out a few from e-mails, but I never opened them).  I full scan once a week and do a quick scan every time after I use PalTalk (because it leaves cookies I don't want on there), which is 3-4 times a week.

 

Like I said, in the task manager processes, ccSvcHst.exe is always extremely active whenever this happens and is always second or third from the top when I sort according to the main CPU usage.

 

It seems odd to me that after getting this new upgrade from Norton, ALL of my programs would start to have such a high CPU usage when they never did this before.  If I disable Norton, I don't get that freezing effect.  That's why I'm not blaming the other programs anymore.  But then, who wants to pay for a subscription to Norton and then turn it off all the time when you're surfing?  Makes no sense.  I got the program so I could use it, not so I could shut it off when I wanted to do anything worthwhile.

 

I've been investigating this for several months now, trying to see exactly where the problem was and that's how I've discovered it has to be the Norton doing it. 

SendOfJive
Posts: 10,594
Kudos: 4,687
Solutions: 760
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: Freezing my computer

Hi Chalkbrd,

 

When you right-click My Computer and click properties, how much RAM does it say you have?

PC_confused
Posts: 838
Topics: 115
Kudos: 120
Solutions: 27
Registered: ‎03-21-2009

Re: Freezing my computer

Chalkbrd thank you for replying to those suggestions, they were a starting point.  It just seems that with as many copies of NIS2011 there is out there, I don't remember reading about a lot of people having problems with stalling.   If I can ask, how do you disable Nortons?  I didn't think you could shutdown the main program, without uninstalling it.

Visitor
Chalkbrd
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-08-2011

Re: Freezing my computer

I have uninstalled it using the Norton uninstall tool.  I also read somewhere that if I reinstalled it, it would clear up my problem.  Still have the problem.

 

I also read one message somewhere that said if I would disable it using the until system restart, it would clear up my problem after I rebooted.  Again, didn't work.

 

The messages I've found concerning this issue have been for older versions of this product, but the symptoms the people have listed match what I've been going through.

Visitor
Chalkbrd
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-08-2011

Re: Freezing my computer

As I said in my original post, I have 2 GB RAM, the max for this model of computer.

PC_confused
Posts: 838
Topics: 115
Kudos: 120
Solutions: 27
Registered: ‎03-21-2009

Re: Freezing my computer

Well Chalkbrd, I'm at a loss..  If you were having the problem before NIS2011, it may be an overheating problem or maybe a driver problem, but the problem only happens when NIS2011 is installed, I'm like you... It must have something to do with NIS.  I hope you keep getting help from SendOfJive. 

Super Spam Squasher
hvgsel
Posts: 618
Registered: ‎10-30-2008

Re: Freezing my computer

[ Edited ]

I've been dealing with this problem on a girlfriend's laptop for a while. Somewhere along the way the installation must be cluttered, maybe because of installing over version 2010.

Finally, cleaning up manually solved the problem, after uninstall and Norton Removal Tool.

 

Did you run Norton Removal Tool (NRT)  between uninstall and reinstall?

If not, please download it here :

http://www.norton.com/symnrt

Also, already download the latest version of NIS here :

www.norton.com/nis11

This link is for the English version; if you need another language, plse let us know.

 

Then :

- uninstall via Add/Remove Programs and then run NRT twice with reboot in between.

 

- Go to My documents directory and save the key text file in the Symantec directory somewhere else

- Go to Program Files and delete the Norton and Symantec directories.

- Go to Documents and Settings\Application data, and delete Symantec and Norton directories there

- Go to Device manager; tick display hidden devices under View (at the top), and go to Non Plug and Play devices tag and uninstall all devices starting with SYM or with a Symantec name.

(tip : to check if drivers belong to Norton or  Symantec, first do a Google search)

 

- Reboot your computer

 

- then re-install from the file you downlaoded before and untick Community Watch in the first installation screen.

  This may cause some problems on older computers.

 

- after install, enter your key when asked with your current Norton account and password

- afterwards run Liveupdate, untill nomore updates are found.

 

This worked for me (or better her:smileyhappy:).

 

 Success!

 

 

Hugo



W8.1 / W7-SP1 with IE11 / XP3-SP3 with IE8 and FF 28, TB 24.4, NIS2013 21.1.1.7 and N360 21.1.1.7
SendOfJive
Posts: 10,594
Kudos: 4,687
Solutions: 760
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: Freezing my computer

Hi Chalkbrd,

 

I'm not sure you answered my question.  I wasn't asking how much memory you have installed.  I was asking how much memory Windows is reporting that it sees.