Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Keylogger Crusher
RichD
Posts: 302
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

High Memory usage by Java (TM) Platform SE binary

Hello,

 

From time to time I receive a Norton alert for "High Memory usage by Java (TM) Platform binary", but whenever this happens I don't know exactly what is causing the problem and I can't figure out how I could have avoided this problem.

 

Does anyone have prior experience with this problem and could anyone give any help in trying to resolve the problem?

 

The problem usually occurs when I have several documents open at the same time, and sometimes in different applications, e.g., in Firefox 5.0, IE8, Open Office 3, Adobe Acrobat 9, etc.   Whan it happens, I'm not sure which application(s) are contributing to the problem.  Of course, Norton NIS 2011 is also running at the same time.  I'm using Java 6 update 26

 

Any help would be appreciated.

 

Thanks,

RichD

.

JavaMemoryProblem.JPG

 

Java6.JPG



HP-Mini 110 -1020NR (netbook) 2GB RAM, CPU N270 @1.60GHz, Windows XP Home, SP3, NIS 2011 18.6.0.29 (installed 12h00 GMT 18-JUL-11) , FF5,IE8

Contributor
bolean
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎04-15-2011

Re: High Memory usage by Java (TM) Platform SE binary

It happens me very frequently if Firefox takes say 300 MB of memory.

More less usless info if the computer is still responsive.

Symantec Employee
Ashwini
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎12-09-2008

Re: High Memory usage by Java (TM) Platform SE binary

Hi RichD,

 

Performance Alert is the feature which notifies the user if the system resources consumption is more. You may get alerts if a particular application uses either high cpu, high memory, high handles or high i/o.

Please go to Performance UI(Flip the Main UI). Mouse hover the Alert icon which appears in the upper section of the graph and click the View details. This will list you as which application has consumed most of your system resource in that particular time!

 

If you get that alert often, and if you think you are using it frequently, you can add that particular application in the exclusion list as well. Settings>>General>Performance Monitoring>>Program Exclusions>>Configure. In this window, add your application and click apply.

 

Hope this information helps you!

 

Regards,

Ashwini.

huwyngr
Posts: 21,798
Topics: 1,038
Kudos: 2,858
Solutions: 379
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: High Memory usage by Java (TM) Platform SE binary

Rich,

 

I note you are running an HP Mini netbook with XP .... this model is fairly old (it came with NIS 2009!) and according to the HP Spec sheet for it the MAX memory is the 1GB it comes with so it's not surprising that you get a High Memory Usage report when running several applications!

 

The good news is that according to Crucial, one of the leading memory makers, you can install 2GB in that model although you have to pull the 1GB and replace it with a 2GB strip ....

 

http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=HP%20Mini%20110-1020NR&Cat=RAM 

 

which will cost you all of $25 .... and Crucial give a lifetime warranty on their products and and a refund if it does not work if you select the memory their website shows as correct for your machine.

 

Up to you but that's a nice Netbook ....... I'm glad you upgraded to the current NIS 2011 ....



Hugh
Phishing Phryer
ALF60
Posts: 769
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Re: High Memory usage by Java (TM) Platform SE binary

[ Edited ]

HI RichD   You may have java set to run at startup when windows boots. I have java installed on my computer   but I have it set not to run at startup .you can do this using  ccleaner  open main window  click on tools >startup and look for java and disable the starup entry. do not delete the java entry.  what happins is if you disable java at startup is that if you need java to run it will run.and when you do not need it you can stop it. You can download ccleaner from here http://majorgeeks.com/CCleaner_Slim_d4191.html and look at that the vidieo on the same page for info on how to use the program ALF60

lmacri
Posts: 1,648
Kudos: 713
Registered: ‎05-05-2009

Re: High Memory usage by Java (TM) Platform SE binary

[ Edited ]

Hi RichD:

 

I did the same thing as ALF60 and disabled Java from loading at startup.  The only drawback is that this disables automated updating of Java, but it doesn't affect the normal operation of the Java browser plugins.

 

I can't remember if Windows XP comes with Windows Defender, but if it does you can also disable startup programs in Windows Defender by going to Software Explorer, choosing Startup Programs from the dropdown list, and clicking the Show for All Users button.  This last step is important because it allows you to actually select and disable the Java Platform SE AutoUpdater (jusched.exe).  If XP doesn't include Windows Defender, I also have the free Piriform CCleaner installed on my PC (available here) and find it's a handy program to have regardless.

 

It might even be possible to prevent these High Memory Usage warnings by simply disabling autoupdating in Java (Start | Control Panel | Java | Update,  then disable Check for Updates Automatically).  This way the Java AutoUpdater will still load into memory at startup, but as far as I know this should prevent the scheduler from intermittently running in the background and checking the Oracle servers for updates.  Someone who knows more about Java than I do may be able to confirm or correct this.

 

If it's important for you to have Java perform autoupdates, Ashwini's suggestion to create an exception for the Java AutoUpdater (C:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Java Update\jusched.exe) may be the only alternative.

-----

Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP2 * NIS 2011 v. 18.6.0.29 * IE 9.0 * Firefox 6.0 * Java 7.00 * CCleaner 3.09.1493
HP Pavilion dv6835ca, Intel Core2Duo CPU T5550 @ 1.83 GHz, 3.0 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS

Phishing Phryer
ALF60
Posts: 769
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Re: High Memory usage by Java (TM) Platform SE binary

[ Edited ]

HI Imacri  Windows xp and 2003  does not usually have its a manual download. In windows vista and win7 its installed when you install the o.s. AS for the java updater you can schedule update check  open java control panel go to updates> checkmark  check for updates automatically>advanced  the next window lets you change the day and time  for java to check for updates the defalt is at 4:00 am on the 14th of the mounth.  I do not set java to auto check  I do the check manualy. ALF60

floplot
Posts: 10,613
Topics: 218
Kudos: 2,055
Solutions: 367
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: High Memory usage by Java (TM) Platform SE binary

Hello

 

I'm on XP Pro. I have the automatic checking for Java unchecked. I just go to the Java site to check for updates. By the time the Java updates are put on the update server and it gets around to you, the update has been out for a while. I just go to the Java site when I want to and check. I do the same thing with Adobe Reader, FlashPlayer and Shockwave player. In fact, I do most of my updates by going to the site and checking for myself. Even with Windows Updates, I have it set to notify me of updates and tell me what they are. Then I can see what is being downloaded and see if it's one that I feel I need.

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




Keylogger Crusher
RichD
Posts: 302
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: High Memory usage by Java (TM) Platform SE binary

Thanks to everyone for the input.  All of the replies have been useful to me and are highly appreciated. I will start implementing different solutions over the next few days.

 

After inspecting the Norton Performance Log more closely, I managed to identify the specific application that was causing the " High Memory usage by Java (TM) Platform SE binary" problem.  It was an application that had come preinstalled with my computer and that has always launched at startup. However, it turns out that this application is one that I have absolutely no use for, so I have now disabled it.   It had accounted for over two-thirds of all my high-memory usage alerts.  Hopefully now I will have a lot fewer of these alerts.

 

RichD



HP-Mini 110 -1020NR (netbook) 2GB RAM, CPU N270 @1.60GHz, Windows XP Home, SP3, NIS 2011 18.6.0.29 (installed 12h00 GMT 18-JUL-11) , FF5,IE8

Phishing Phryer
ALF60
Posts: 769
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Re: High Memory usage by Java (TM) Platform SE binary

Glad to help  good thing you found what was causing your problem. ALF60