Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
chris_t462000
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-13-2010

How do i open certain ports

Hi everyone,i am new to these forums.I have a pure sensia internet radio that can also streem from my computer.The problem is the firewall in norton internet security  2011 wont let me streem.

I have already contacted pure and they have suggested that i open certain ports which i don't know how to do.When i turn the firewall off my pure sensia finds my music and can streem it but when i enable the firewall it can't find my media.

If anyone can help i would appriciate it.

Thankyou

PapauZ
Posts: 6,790
Topics: 391
Kudos: 1,023
Solutions: 374
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: How do i open certain ports

Hi,

 

 

Here are the steps to open ports:
1. Open Norton Internet Security.

2. Click on Settings.

3. Go to Network Settings.
4. Under Smart Firewall, click Configure next to Advanced Settings.
5. Click on Configure by General Rules
6. Click Add.
7. In the Add Rule wizard, select the action that the rule should take, and then click Next.

8. Select the type of connection that the rule should monitor, and then click Next.

9. Select the computers that the rule should monitor, and then click Next.

10. Select the protocols that the rule should monitor.

11. Select the ports that the rule should monitor, and then click Next.
12. If you want the logs for this rule to be saved, check Create an event log entry, and then click Next.

13. In the "What do you want to call this rule?" box, type a name for the rule, and then click Next.

14. Review the new rule settings, and if they are correct, click Finish.
15. Click Move Up to move the rule to top, and make it a higher priority
16. Click OK / Apply and close Settings.
Let us know how it goes

 


Windows 8.1 Embedded Industry Pro x64 Hungarian, Norton 360 v21.2.0.38

AllenM
Posts: 10,222
Topics: 221
Kudos: 2,151
Solutions: 377
Registered: ‎12-14-2008

Re: How do i open certain ports

Hi chris_t462000,

 

Welcome to the Norton Community.

 

If you know the program which needs access to the Internet I would recommend checking under Settings > Network, then click the Configure button next to "Program Control".

 

See if your application is listed there and if it is, set to ALLOW. If it is not listed there you can add it manually and set it to ALLOW.

 

If this does not work you can set the ports as indicated in the former post.

 

Best wishes.

Allen

Windows 7 Ultimate SP 1, 32 bit, 4 GB * NIS 2012 (19.8.0.14) * Ghost 15 * IE 9, Firefox, Safari.
Test laptop with W7 Home Premium 64 bit * NIS 2012 (19.8.0.14)
Visitor
chris_t462000
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-13-2010

Re: How do i open certain ports

I have done both ways, but the ports i opened in the  smart firewall program control   settings dissapear when i open settings again.

AllenM
Posts: 10,222
Topics: 221
Kudos: 2,151
Solutions: 377
Registered: ‎12-14-2008

Re: How do i open certain ports


chris_t462000 wrote:

I have done both ways, but the ports i opened in the  smart firewall program control   settings dissapear when i open settings again.


Hi chris_t462000,

 

There are two ways to achieve what you are wanting to do.

 

1. Using Advanced Settings under Smart Firewall which I would only recommend if you cannot get this to work via program control. This method would allow all programs to be "allowed" based on the rule you create.

 

2. Using program control - Within this framework there are two methods:

    a) Configuring a Custom rule (which is the default) where you allow the program access to certain ports but unlike the Advanced Settings, this allows "only" that program you specify to have that access through the firewall. You still need to know the ports to open for that program.

 

    b) Select the executable file and set to ALLOW (see image below). I would recommend this one. This has the advantage of giving that program access through the firewall regardless of which port it needs. This is particularly useful if you are not sure what ports it needs.

 

Either of these methods should save provided you click Apply/OK. After you configured the rule for the program, are you then checking in Program Control again or in advanced settings?

 

pc1.jpg

 

Make sure you click Apply then OK and don't cancel out of the settings.

 

Hope this helps and please let us know how it goes.

 

Best wishes.

Allen

Windows 7 Ultimate SP 1, 32 bit, 4 GB * NIS 2012 (19.8.0.14) * Ghost 15 * IE 9, Firefox, Safari.
Test laptop with W7 Home Premium 64 bit * NIS 2012 (19.8.0.14)
Visitor
chris_t462000
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-13-2010

Re: How do i open certain ports

I still can't get it to work

AllenM
Posts: 10,222
Topics: 221
Kudos: 2,151
Solutions: 377
Registered: ‎12-14-2008

Re: How do i open certain ports


chris_t462000 wrote:

I still can't get it to work


Hi chris_t462000,

 

Which method did you try? Custom program control or ALLOW?

 

If ALLOW did not work, did you try the more general method PapauZ outlined earlier?

 

To be clear, you implied earlier that this works with NIS firewall disabled, is this correct? Also, which OS and SP do you have and is it 32 or 64 bit?

 

Have you double checked that the Windows firewall is OFF?

 

There is another method of firewall configuration we can use but I need to get the additional details before we go into that.

 

Best wishes.

Allen

Windows 7 Ultimate SP 1, 32 bit, 4 GB * NIS 2012 (19.8.0.14) * Ghost 15 * IE 9, Firefox, Safari.
Test laptop with W7 Home Premium 64 bit * NIS 2012 (19.8.0.14)
Visitor
chris_t462000
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-13-2010

Re: How do i open certain ports

I have tried both ways.I have windows 7 home premium 32 bit,what do you mean by sp

AllenM
Posts: 10,222
Topics: 221
Kudos: 2,151
Solutions: 377
Registered: ‎12-14-2008

Re: How do i open certain ports

[ Edited ]

chris_t462000 wrote:

I have tried both ways.I have windows 7 home premium 32 bit,what do you mean by sp


Hi chris_t462000,

 

SP stands for Service Pack and will be indicated if you right click on Computer from desktop or Windows Explorer and select Properties.

 

Since you have Windows 7 this should not apply since the first SP has not been released (except the Beta version).

 

You said you tried both ways. By this I assume you mean Custom and ALLOW, correct? Did you try the method PapauZ outlined here?

 

Again, please clarify if this works with NIS firewall OFF.

 

And also again please clarify that Windows firewall is OFF.

 

More information on Windows 7 firewall.

 

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/522-windows-firewall-turn-off.html

 

Best wishes.

Allen

 

P.S. Note that NIS by default turns Windows 7 firewall OFF but it is possible to override this so I want to make sure it truly is OFF.

 

Windows 7 Ultimate SP 1, 32 bit, 4 GB * NIS 2012 (19.8.0.14) * Ghost 15 * IE 9, Firefox, Safari.
Test laptop with W7 Home Premium 64 bit * NIS 2012 (19.8.0.14)
SendOfJive
Posts: 10,600
Kudos: 4,666
Solutions: 760
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: How do i open certain ports

[ Edited ]

Does the device appear in the Norton Network Security Map?  If so, change the trust level for the device to "Full Trust."  Could you also tell us how everything on your network is connected, especially how the Pure Sensia connects to the internet?