Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
plofre
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-12-2011
Accepted Solution

How to add a 2nd computer to my account?

Hello!

I installed a NIS 2010 with an account for 3 computers. Meanwhile I upgraded it to 2011.

Now I want to add a 2nd computer to this account. This should be able, but I failed.

I downloaded a 2011 version from the Internet, but this resulted in the creation of e test version and a new account, what I definitely do not want.

 

How can I fix this problem?

 

Thanks

plofre

Phil_D
Posts: 7,661
Topics: 208
Kudos: 2,559
Solutions: 391
Registered: ‎06-10-2008

Re: How to add a 2nd computer to my account?

Hello plofre and welcome!

 

Before going too far, where did you download NIS 2011 from?

 

Thanks!

Norton Internet Security • Comcast NSS • Norton Security Beta | XP SP3 • Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64
• PLEASE, BACKUP or EXPORT your Identity Safe Data on a regular basis •
"Anyone who isn't confused really doesn't understand the situation."  Edward R. Murrow

Visitor
plofre
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-12-2011

Re: How to add a 2nd computer to my account?

Hi, Phil, thanks for responding!

 

I downloaded it from a german Norton site. That's all I know.

Sorry.

 

plofre

Phil_D
Posts: 7,661
Topics: 208
Kudos: 2,559
Solutions: 391
Registered: ‎06-10-2008

Re: How to add a 2nd computer to my account?

Until the product key is entered, the NIS 2011 download will be identified as a Trial Version.

 

You should see a prompt to "Activate" the product when you open the main interface. 

 

At that point, you can enter your current product activation key and register it to your original account.

 

Does that help?

 

Norton Internet Security • Comcast NSS • Norton Security Beta | XP SP3 • Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64
• PLEASE, BACKUP or EXPORT your Identity Safe Data on a regular basis •
"Anyone who isn't confused really doesn't understand the situation."  Edward R. Murrow

floplot
Posts: 10,608
Topics: 218
Kudos: 2,054
Solutions: 367
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: How to add a 2nd computer to my account?

Hello plofre

 

Go to https://www.mynortonaccount.com/amsweb/default.do and get your key for NIS

 

If you have downloaded the trial version of NIS 2011, just enter in the key where it says renew. That should pick up your account and should show the same number of days as on your first computer.

 

If you need to contact customer support in Germany, here is the link for that.

 

http://www.symantec.com/de/de/support/index.jsp

 

Hope this helps and please come back and let us know. Thanks.

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




Visitor
plofre
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-12-2011

Re: How to add a 2nd computer to my account?

Thanks a lot!

 

I hope I understand that correctly.

In order to activate at my 2nd computer I need to enter the same product key as I entered at my 1st computer, is that right?

 

plofre

 

 

Phil_D
Posts: 7,661
Topics: 208
Kudos: 2,559
Solutions: 391
Registered: ‎06-10-2008

Re: How to add a 2nd computer to my account?

[ Edited ]

That is correct.

 

And you can also associate it with your primary Norton Online Account.  You should be given that option after activation.  If not, once activated open the main Norton Interface and click Account at the top of the window.

 

Let us know how you do.

Norton Internet Security • Comcast NSS • Norton Security Beta | XP SP3 • Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64
• PLEASE, BACKUP or EXPORT your Identity Safe Data on a regular basis •
"Anyone who isn't confused really doesn't understand the situation."  Edward R. Murrow

Visitor
plofre
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-12-2011

Re: How to add a 2nd computer to my account?

OK. I used the activation link and entered my product key. That worked.

 

Thank you very much!