Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Contributor
cyberwasp

IE64 and NIS

I'm new to 64 bit and just found out there were two Internet Explorers. However orton Internet security Identity safe doesn't seem to install in IE64. Did I do something wrong or is norton still only 32bit. If not what do I have to do to get it to instll in the 64b IE. TIA

floplot
Topics: 210
Kudos: 2,024
Solutions: 361

Re: IE64 and NIS

Hello cyberwasp

Welcome to Norton Community Forum

Norton Identity Safe only works in 32 bit.. Some things work in 64 bit I believe. Microsoft still recommends that you use IE in 32 bits. To find the solution to your problem with Identity Safe, please check out this link.

http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-Internet-Security-Norton/Internet-Explorer-64-bit-problems/m-p...

Thanks.

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.

SendOfJive
Kudos: 4,687
Solutions: 760

Hi cyberwasp,

There are few reasons to use the 64-bit browser and many reasons not to:

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ieinternals/archive/2009/05/29/q-a-64-bit-internet-explorer.aspx

xxJackxx
Topics: 18
Kudos: 36
Solutions: 5

SendOfJive wrote:

Hi cyberwasp,

There are few reasons to use the 64-bit browser and many reasons not to:

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ieinternals/archive/2009/05/29/q-a-64-bit-internet-explorer.aspx

That article is 2 1/2 years old. At this point there is a final version of 64 bit flash and other AV companies are supporting 64 bit IE which is now 5 years old. Norton is out of excuses for not keeping up.

lmacri
Kudos: 537

[ Edited ]

Hi cyberswap:

You may be interested in an article here on the Java support site which reads in part:

SUMMARY