Reply
Spyware Scolder
EDYTHE
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎06-15-2009
Accepted Solution

IS THIS A VIRUS ??? HELP - THANKS

Hello - as of yesterday, i can no longer go to I.E/Tools/Update, wait while the 'active x' did a search, then offer ''express or custom'' for any updates currently available.

       Yestday ..i saw the below pop-up (see px) ....unless i took 'some' action with this, i could procede no further in the Update area.

      I did not 'accept'' or even 'reject' this update - i just closed it out & exited  I.E. and here i am. 

          Is this 'Microsoft Windows Component Published' update legit ?   If this were a virus, would NISS have found it?  i did a full=scan and all is 'fine' .

          thanks in advance - Edythe

 

WINDOWS.JPG

 

 

dickevans
Posts: 9,196
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: IS THIS A VIRUS ??? HELP - THANKS

Hi,

Based on a quick search of the MS site it appears to be a valid MS program and may be necessary for continued correct operation of the update utility.

Hope this helps

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V20
Spyware Scolder
EDYTHE
Posts: 213
Registered: ‎06-15-2009

Re: IS THIS A VIRUS ??? HELP - THANKS

thank you for your help - i'd love to see that Microsoft area also - i  tried to search the variouis of Microsoft but couldn't find anything about this 'update' ... there were so many places within 'microsoft' i gave up !!    

Super Spam Squasher
Bombastus
Posts: 1,686
Registered: ‎11-16-2009

Re: IS THIS A VIRUS ??? HELP - THANKS

Hello!

 

That is the new version of the Windows Update Engine which was released a couple of weeks back, and released in an incremental manner (not everyone got it right away).

 

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/949104

 

It is needed to continue to get Microsoft updates, and it is indeed legit.

Edjr60
Posts: 1,584
Registered: ‎02-21-2011

Re: IS THIS A VIRUS ??? HELP - THANKS


Bombastus wrote:

Hello!

 

That is the new version of the Windows Update Engine which was released a couple of weeks back, and released in an incremental manner (not everyone got it right away).

 

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/949104

 

It is needed to continue to get Microsoft updates, and it is indeed legit.


Thanks for the link. On my way to Windows Update to see if it's ready for me.